We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-30
Booking.com
US$131
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$131
US$98
View deal
SAVE US$33
Free cancellation until 21-04-29
Expedia.comUS$118
PricelineUS$115
eDreamsUS$131
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
76
99
52
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
99
52
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apartment was clean the location is perfect ocean view supermarket marina balcony unit portas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 247 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2020

The hotel is central located. Walking distance to restaurants, attraction. Price include breakfast buffet which is not bad. Unit is clean, large and some units come with a balcony and harbour view. Staff is friendly. The hotel does not have its own parking but there is a public parking just across the road. You can booked one of the parking card from the hotel at a discounted rate and park your car in the underground public parking. There is a convenience store located next to the hotel, so you can get your fruits, beer, wine from there. I will come back to this hotel again.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank bluesky668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José T, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and kindness. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Ponta Delgada. I'ts always very comforting to know that our guests enjoy our accommodations and services. It will be our pleasure to have you staying here with us again in future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Medeiros
Front Desk Hotel Gaivota Azores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2019

Our third floor apartment was clean, comfortable and offered a good ocean view.It was well equipped for eating in. The hotel breakfast buffet was varied and offered good value for money. Staff was helpful on all shifts.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank bscheire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info H, Gestor de Front Office at Hotel Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and review. We sincerely hope you enjoyed our accomodations and services. Please don't hesite to contact us, if you have any further comments regarding your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Victoria Medeiros
Front Desk
Hotel Gaivota Azores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2019

Very nice hotel with a pleasant and helpful staff. If you are on foot, the location is perfect, if you have a car, check with the hotel as parking downtown can be an issue.

The area is easy to walk and loaded with great places to eat, shop, or enjoy a coffee from a sidewalk table.

Located along the harbor it is a short walk to the public swimming area (Piscina Portas Do Mar) which was a unique experience. Lifeguards are stationed at this free swimming venue in the harbor. Ocean temperatures are a refreshing 70 degrees. There are lockers and changing rooms are available for a fee.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank GeoAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno P, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your kindness and comments regarding our unit, and your stay in Ponta Delgada. We are glad to know that our accomodations and services satisfied you. You will be more than welcome to stay with us again in the future.



Kind regards,
Victoria Medeiros
Front Desk Hotel Gaivota Azores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2019

This hotel is in an ideal location right along the waterfront in the center of town giving you plenty of dining options close by. Hotel must have recently undergone a renovation because everything looked new, modern. The room we had was small by American standards but was perfectly comfortable with a big closet, nice bathroom, comfortable bed. (The photo shown is exactly how our room looked.) We were at the back of the hotel so the view was not scenic like rooms at the front of the hotel but frankly, if you are staying in your room and looking out the window at the sights, what's the point of visiting a beautiful, scenic island like Sao Miguel! Breakfast was included and was more than satisfactory with a different selection daily that included eggs, meat, home baked goods, etc. Something there for even the pickiest eaters! But the biggest reason we would stay here again is the staff. From front desk to breakfast servers to maids, they were very helpful, friendly, accomodating and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank helmsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info H, Gestor de Front Office at Hotel Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time on writing this review. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed so many things during your stay with us. It's always a pleasure to have guests like you at our unit. We can see that your trip to São Miguel exceeded your expectations. If you wish to come back, you will be more than welcome to stay with us again.


Kind regards,
Victoria Medeiros - Front Desk (Hotel Gaivota Azores)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2019

The location is great, the breakfast buffet is very good, the view is excellent, if you pay the extra.
The amenities kit in the bathroom is a bit short for a 4* hotel, it just has soap, shower gel and hair cover.
The quality of the mattress and the pillows cloud be better. Double beds are really two single beds. The 3 single beds indicated on the reservation, one was on a sofa.
The sound isolation of the rooms is poor, you can easily ear everything from other rooms and from the floor hall.
The restaurant room for the breakfast is a bit small and can be very crowded at rush hours.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info H, Gestor de Front Office at Hotel Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear Guest,
First, let me thank you for the preference and review. Please allow us to clarify some points mentioned in your comment. We'll ttake into consideration your comment in order to improve our facilities/ service.
Hope you had a wonderful time on our island.
Kind regards,
José Duarte
Hotel Gaivota Azores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews