We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
15
77
44
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
77
44
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafront promenade bacon free car park bread great location short stay bit dated star hotel pineapple yogurt each morning good size tv airport kinds toiletries jams
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 154 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2017

It's in a quiet narrow street. Little parking, need to drive further up the street, The room was good and clean. The TV was kind of small. The sheets were clean and changed after 2 nights. The towels were changed daily. The wc was clean and complete with toiletries. Breakfast was poor: only white bread, wholemeal bread, "levedo" bread, toast, sponge cake, biscuits, coffee, milk, tea(s), chocolate, cereal (choco and normal), pineapple, orange and passion fruit juice, yoghurt (simple, pineapple, passion fruit and strawberry), butter, jam (4 kinds), ham, cheese, bacon, eggs, sausages, and some fruit (orange, apple and bananas). I mean, no lobster, no caviar, how can one survive? Did i mentioned it's a all-you-can-eat buffet? You can even take an apple with you to eat later.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. Maybe you should stay away from the lift.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

This is a good choice for an average three star hotel or so. The location is excellent, and pretty much in the middle of the old town. Takes about 5 minutes to walk down to the seafront promenade which is nice. There is a free car park if you have a rental car with a few lots. If it's full there is a big, free one, just five minutes walk away.

The room itself is nothing special, but of good size and very clean. It has a fridge. Wifi was super! And free. The only thing to complain about might be the beds which are not very comfy.

Breakfast was ok with several kinds of bread, cheese and ham. The scambled eggs are very good. I missed some tomatoes maybe, and I had expected some more exciting fruits.

The staff was friendly and very service minded. When we were to go home, our flight left early so we asked them to book a taxi for us in the morning, which they did. They also said that they would open up the breakfast for us an hour earlier, which we really appreciated! Such service! We got pretty much the full breakfast. A very unusual but super appreciated gesture, which made us happy and made that little extra difference.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to visit the city. It is not far from the port area. Of course a fair bit of walking is non avoidable as streets are too narrow to allow city buses.
Tour vans and jeeps will pick you up at hotel. Bus to airport will pick up at the end of the street.
Hotel front desk staff are very helpful. This hotel is dated and could use some TLC. It is a standard Comfort Inn though and price is right. Breakfast is provided each morning which is nice, same thing everyday though. And good if you get there early, by 9:00, eggs are barely warm. I suggested to front desk a recommendation to have two servings of eggs, bacon, one at opening up of breakfast room, and another later. It didn't happen. Otherwise lots of juice, coffee, yogourt, bread, and local bananas!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017

We were in Ponta Delgada for the big festival event five weeks after Easter (Santa Cristo do Milagros). We were lucky to get any hotel rooms at all!

FIrst and foremost, this location is really good. Pretty close (a few blocks) from central part of the old town. Second, it was inexpensive by our standards (65Euros/night), even during this festival.

Other than that, we considered it a "budget-type" hotel. Very bland and unimaginative. However, the wifi was very good and we were so grateful for that.

We thought the mattress and pillows need to be replaced.

The breakfast was OK--nothing stellar, but we all found enough to eat.

We found the reception staff to be good--arranged for a tour at the last minute; made dinner reservations; called us taxis, etc. So we were grateful for this support during a very busy time.

The big Sunday procession route was only a block from the Comfort Inn, so this was convenient for us.

A couple hot tips: there's a great, real Italian gelato shop just a few shops up from the hotel (toward the Bibliothek; not toward the center of town). We found superb food at "A Tasca". We ate there 3 days in a row. They are open all through the afternoon, whereas most restaurants close at 3:00 and reopen around 7pm.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2016

A comfortable, clean and quiet hotel with a friendly staff that reflects the hospitality of the Azorean people. Spacy room and good wifi signal (the router happened to be very close to the rooms).
Since we are a family of four, we had two connecting rooms, which is excellent to move freely between rooms without having to go out on the hallway and knock doors every time.
A less positive aspect was the parking space (albeit free) which only has seven spots, so if I arrived later at the hotel, I had to look around for another place to park the car (this time, a paid parking, but not much of an issue).
Another point to improve is that the TV sets are the old CRT types and with a small 14" monitor (for golf enthusiasts, you won't know when the game is finished because you won't see the ball).
The hotel is located in a quiet street, about 1 km away from the historic center, so everything is a walking distance away and you don’t have to drive to have dinner (which is great if you get carried away drinking “Especial”, a traditional brand of beer in the Azores, with over 120 years of existence).
I stayed in the beginning of December 2016.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BestInPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews