We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place with charm”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Logo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Logo
Sight to exterior
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Asillc
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place with charm”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our first experience with booking a private residence versus the normal hotel travel stay on vacation. Maria was very accommodating right from the start. She welcomed us and provided us with baked goods, jam and tour area information including places to eat. Her place is walking distance from the supermarket, farmers market and close by to the city central. The studio apartment was very clean, cozy, and had everything we needed to feel at home. We would highly recommend this studio apartment to others traveling to Ponta Delgada that want to get away from the typical hotel stay life.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djf52
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Close to Everything”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Casa dos Agapantos for 10 days in September. and had a wonderful time. Our owner, Maria, greeted us on our arrival with maps, tour books and information on restaurants and things to see and do as well as stocking our kitchen with milk, bread, homemade jams, and fresh fruit, which was perfect for us after an overnight flight. She then took us on a tour of her beautiful grounds and gardens and our studio for the next 10 days. You can see immediately the love and care that Maria and her family have put into this property. I still can't get over the size of the property, ie the gardens and grounds, for a property in the city. The apartment is very clean, a good size for an extended stay, has its own private entrance, and within walking distance to the downtown area of Ponta Delgada. We had no problem parking our vehicle on the street each night. We simply had a wonderful stay and strongly suggest that you don't book anything in Ponta Delgada until you call Maria. Its that good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility of the surrounding gardens,
Liked least: The occasional barking dog
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie J
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little paradise!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything in the city was walking distance. The property is lovely and clean. The pool was great! Also close to the highway for our road trips around the island. Perfect for our 2 week stay.
Best of all, our hosts were lovely! We felt very welcome and comfortable. Maria Antonia was like our own personal concierge, with many tips and information. Places to see, places to eat, etc. We felt very welcome and comfortable. When Armando realized it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary, He and Maria shared a bottle of sparkling wine with us by the pool.

Maria, thanks so much for the orange cake recipe. I haven't made it for my mom yet, but I will let you know how she enjoys it.

With great affection and appreciation. Thanks so much for opening up your home to travellers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable, amazing stay in a clean, fully equipped nice house, walking distance from downtown”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an experience! We came from Sweden to spend two weeks on this legendary island of Sao Miguel, and to see the town of Ponta Delgada. We actually only needed a place to sleep and eat, since we would be exploring the place and the surroundings. But we got much more, far more than we would expect.
We were received by Maria, one of our hosts, with a warm smile, local bread and some local specialty she makes.
The kitchen was well equipped, we had our privacy. The swimming pool and Maria's garden were quite an experience, too. And the weather was perfect - you don't have to be lucky. The Sun shines every day. There may be a short shower, but don't worry. Those make this beautiful island so intensly green. The Sun will be back shortly, anyway.
What a pleasant surprise when we experienced the kindness, the hospitality and service mindedness of our hosts. They really offered far more than they needed to. Maria, a truly charming and sympathetic lady who is in charge of the two houses, demonstrated how wonderful one's stay can be when the hosts express genuine caring, warmth and friendliness. We don't take these qualities for granted. We could sense the love our hosts feel for their work.
We had a fully modern shower, modern kitchen with a new infrared stove, refrigerator with a small freezer inside, all necessary kitchen utensils, a micro, etc. Everything worked just fine.
Now that our time here is up, we actually don't feel like going back home :-( This place is a magnet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This place being like an oasis, offering quiet, beautiful garden making it a retreat-like place.
Liked least: We had no problems with anything.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emweee99
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

An absolutely fantastic place just outside the city centre of Ponta Delgada, only 10 minutes to walk to the promenade and about 5 minutes from the supermarket. On arrival we were warmly welcomed with delicious cold beers and welcome tips about the city and the rest of the stunning island of São Miguel by our lovely hosts. Inside the studio freshly picked bananas and home-made fig and red guava jam were awaiting us. The beautiful, flowery garden is well maintained and looks simply beautiful and stunning. Guests are welcome to use the barbecue as well as the lovely swimming pool.

And yes, we did hear the dog barking, and we did hear the rooster singing from the neighbour's garden (and it did not keep us awake one moment), but they are simply part of the environs and both me and my girlfriend loved having the rooster around in its natural habit , it simply added to the dreamy atmosphere of this memorable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the home-made jam
Liked least: would have liked some more home-made jam :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid K
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best place to stay at Ponta Delgada! Great location, amazing place.”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I was travelling to the Azores with my boyfriend in the beginning of June, and after a long flight from Amsterdam with a layover in Lisbon, we got dropped of at Casa dos Agapantos. Maria, our host, and her husband Armando, gave us a warm welcome and offered us a cold beer to relax after the flight, while they gave us advice and information for our stay, before giving us a tour of the premises. The house itself is very charming, very clean, equipped with everything you’ll need during your holiday - and much more! We even got a basket with fruit, including freshly picked bananas from the garden, delicious home made jams, and breads. The garden is amazing - apart from the beautiful big swimming pool (also the cleanest one I’ve ever seen), we could use the barbecue and the herb garden, or just relax and watch the cat playing around between the tropical fruit trees (there are bananas, pineapples, avocados and much more growing in the garden) and beautiful flowers. Its the perfect location also if you don’t choose to rent a car, as you can just walk down to the city centre with all the restaurants, and the harbour with the whale watching and tour operators. After busy days exploring the island, we couldn’t have had a better place to come back to than Casa dos Agapantos. On hot days, you could cool down in the pool, and the house itself also stayed nice and cool thoughout the day. I really can’t praise this place enough, the same goes for Maria who is an amazing host - she went out of her place to make sure we had everything we needed. On our last day, she even whipped up some great fresh mojitos with mint from her garden. This place is great for couples and small families! And they have one more guest house in the garden if you are travelling with more people. If we go back to the Azores, we won’t even consider staying anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The house, the garden, the host, the service, the location!
Liked least: No complaints whatsoever!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara E
Cirencester
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent but a few niggles”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Hosts were wonderful. We were greeted with a basket of fruit, bread and some of Maria's delicious home made jams. We would reiterate the positive reviews of early contributors. Some nuisance from the barking of a local dog was quickly dealt with by Maria, the host. There was a problem with hot water. There appeared not to be any available in the evening. Using the kitchenette tap shut off the water to the shower. The tap in the shower would be difficult to use for some people being very stiff. You do have to park a car in the road and not on the drive.
Apartment was very well equipped and Maria even supplied dark coloured towels for bathing in the iron rich hot spring water. The house pool was warm enough to swim in. Maria is from the Azores and has a lot of local knowledge which she is happy to share.
On balance a good experience and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scale, comfort of apartment and standard of equipment.
Liked least: Size of shower tray. It was small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing