We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$87
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$87
View deal
Expedia.com
PricelineUS$87
eDreamsUS$87
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
157
22
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
157
22
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 181 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2019

Our hosts were wonderful, kind, and very accommodating. They went out of their way to help us plan a great time on Saõ Miguel, with travel advice and booking reservations for us. The room was great; the historic building was very special; and the breakfasts were phenomenal (with different treats every day). The best day of our entire trip was the cooking class and dinner hosted here. The class was fun, the food and wine was amazing, and the connection and camaraderie we had with our hosts and the other guests made the trip unforgettable. We're so glad we stayed here!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rballard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José S, Proprietário at Solar da Gloria ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Thank you so much for your nice review - you will remain in our hearts and we hope you will come back to share another cooking class and dinner with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2019 via mobile

Jose was the perfect host. Of course he knows all the best restaurants to dine at. He was able to arrange a full day tour the day before. Also he arranged a taxi for early departure to the airport.

I did arrive early and was giving a room on the first floor. It had a sitting area and a small outdoor patio with two chairs and a table. The room was spacious.

Breakfast was very good and I had pancakes, tea and fruit. Unfortunately I wasn't able to take advantage of dinner at the hotel due to catering events outside of the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José S, Gerente at Solar da Gloria ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2019

Thank you for your review.
We have done our best to help you during your short visit to S. Miguel and we are glad you have really enjoyed your stay and visiting our wonderful island. Is there any better reason to come back? All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2019

Our hosts were warmly welcoming and helpful beyond what might be considered usual. They offered us faultless advice on places to visit and local restaurants so we were never disappointed.

The Manor House has an interesting collection of paintings and sculpture which adds greatly to the sense of being in an historic home.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenofSlaithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José S, Proprietário at Solar da Gloria ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the "home" atmosphere that we want you to feel involved with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2019

Owner was very helpful and staff was courteous. We stayed one week and enjoyed the variety and presentation of the changing breakfast. Would stay here again and recommend to friends & family. Location was convenient for us.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank waynecD4098KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José S, Gerente at Solar da Gloria ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

Believe everything already said in the 5* reviews previous to this one.

The hosts and staff are all very friendly and do as much as you might need to make your stay extra special - non regimented breakfast times, tea, coffee and cookies available 24/7 in the lobby, booking trips and hire car for us (that were competitively priced) to name just a few. Spotlessly clean and beautiful linen and furniture. Lots of extra finishing touches too.

I suggest you make use of their local knowledge and trust their judgment of sites to visit, restaurants, the weather impact on any given day etc., we did and it certainly enhanced our stay.

There was unlimited local free space to park our hire car & taxis into Ponta Delgada were less than €10 each way, regardless of the hour.

Breakfast was delicious and varied daily, always enough to carry us through into the early evening.

We just did not want to leave and hope we are lucky enough to return again. Thank you Jose and team. xx.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lucieinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José S, Proprietário at Solar da Gloria ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a full week that we had the pleasure to host you but we would really love that you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews