We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
287
489
125
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
489
125
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view public pool shower curtain sister hotel excellent location tour group whale watching beds were very comfortable front desk staff modern hotel restaurants and shops breakfast buffet bread water front our honeymoon bacon small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 926 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2016

We spent 10 wonderful nights at this establishment in October 2016. We were on the top floor, sixth and had a great room with a wonderful view of the harbour and Atlantic Ocean. The bed was very comfortable and the amenities were perfect. All of the staff was friendly and extremely helpful especially Marie the Guest Relations person. The daily breakfast that is included with the room was incredible, it even had mimosas! We spent a few nights at the lounge were we had dinner and listened to either a fantastic pianist or singer/guitarist. The location is perfect; right at the ocean to see beautiful sunrises and sunsets each day and around the corner from all the shops and restaurants. We will defiantly stay here again.

Room tip: Ask for sea view, also top floor if possible.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria P, Guest Relations at Hotel Marina Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your brilliant experience with us! It was truly our pleasure to host you for a seamless stay, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed excellent, friendly service from our entire team, also that you liked our Hotel as for the location and our service. We appreciate your kind recommendation and we look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back at Bensaude Hotels.

Best Regards,

João Luís Cogumbreiro
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

I spent one night here due to fight being cancelled. For a 4 star hotel the service is poor. The conditions are ok but the food is nothing much. I was a lil disappointed and I expected way more. The view however is great.

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank André A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria P, Guest Relations at Hotel Marina Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear Andre,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that the Hotel didn’t meet your expectations. Your opinion is important to us . A great deal of effort is a put into establishing effective action steps for constant improvement.
We hope you decide to stay with us when you next return to S.Miguel.

Best Regards,
Joao Luis Cogumbreiro
Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2016

We stayed at the hotel from Oct 18-24 in a harbour-front room. We did not have any issue with noice from traffic or the bars across the harbour during our stay at all. Yes our room had double beds but we were not bothered, the beds and pillows were comfy enough. The weather wasn't great by the end of our stay so we were able to utilize our balcony to enjoy the sun (when it was out) and be protected from the wind. Breakfast was average, being a vegetarian I didn't have trouble finding anything to eat - the pineapple in Ponta Delgada was amazing! We used the indoor pool and hot tub and the area was clean and quiet. Also enjoyed live entertainment in the hotel bar on our last night, the service was not great as there was only one server working so you just had to go to the bartender yourself. Great selection of drinks. The room in itself was comfy and what we needed for a week away from home. My only complaint was that our room was not ready until after 2pm when we landed at 7am after flying in on the red eye. There is a secure room where you can store your luggage but perhaps a different scheduling or planning approach could have rooms ready in a more timely manner for those flying in early. Overall we enjoyed our stay and everything the area had to offer. Would recommend and return. Check out my other reviews for restaurants we ate at in the area :)

Room tip: Harbour front rooms offer a great view and balcony
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_Lynn_Holo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria P, Guest Relations at Hotel Marina Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear Andrea,

First of all thanks a lot for the kind words and sharing a positive comment with us.
We are Delight to know that our hotel pleased you, and your stay went well.
Sorry about the service in the Bar , we try to do our best for a best service and we will resolve this issue, as for the check in sometimes our Hotel is fully booked and ,we don’t have the rooms ready in time, we apologize for the inconvenient.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending our hotel.
We wish to welcome you back again for your next stay at our Hotels.
Best Regards,
Joao Luis Cogumbreiro,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2016

This hotel was great! It was located within walking distance to pretty much everything in Ponta Delgada. The concierge, Maria, was helpful with recommendations for restaurants and directions to places of interest all over the island. If you want a king size bed reserve a room with 2 twins then once you arrive ask them to set them up as 1 bed. They put them together and add a piece of foam on top. The breakfast had fried eggs, bacon, fruit, pastries, bread and cereal. Lots to choose from. We ate at the restaurant for dinner 1 night and it was great and reasonably priced. The only negative was the shower curtain. It smelled musty and it stuck to you while you were showering. Make sure your balcony door is closed while your in the shower. It helped a little.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BestBargainShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria P, Guest Relations at Hotel Marina Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear BestBargainShopper,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us! Nothing delights us more than knowing that you enjoyed our convenient, centralized location in the heart of the city of Ponta Delgada . We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed our Hotel as for the services of our concierge , breakfast, food. Regarding the curtains we will change this option in the future , and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to host you again in our Hotels.

Best Regards,
João Luis Cogumbreiro
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

good service and great location on the boulevard, The breakfast was okay with lots of things to choose from. The outside balcony is a great plus and although I didn't use it this time , next time I certainly will .
The only negative experience was the time I had to wait for a taxi.
I would certainly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank idaevolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria P, Guest Relations at Hotel Marina Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all thanks a lot for the kind words and sharing a positive comment with us.
We are Delight to know that our hotel pleased you, as for our location, breakfast and the outside balcony. Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending our hotel.
We wish to welcome you back again for your next stay at our Hotels.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews