We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
67
169
104
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
169
104
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business room swimming pool breakfast room except sunday sauna and steam room bread hotel is located the cleaning lady tv set flight path star hotel good size flight was delayed nice hotel small gym west side small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 367 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Spent the last night of our trip here as the hotel is closely located to the airport. The hotel is mediocre and a bit dated. The room we stayed in had a nice view over the city and sea. The balcony furniture is cheap plastic but ok for one night's stay. My biggest issue with the room was the shower which was low standard and the water alternated from hot to cold during a quick shower! Definitely not three stars. The swimming pool is nice and warm. You have to leave a deposit for towels for the pool which is 10€ per towel. I mentioned to the man behind the desk that as it was our last day on the island, I was running out of euros and he still would only let me have one towel! Not a premium experience. I am pleased we only booked Hotel Ponta Delgada for one night as the other hotels we stayed in on the island was far better quality and value for money!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mr-MrsTravellerToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Hotel Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Ponta Delgada and thank you for your review.
We are sorry to hear our that our service did not meet your expectations.
We’ll check with our staff in order to ensure our quality service is present at all times.
Thank you,
The Team from Hotel Ponta Delgada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The staff was pleasant, professional and helpful; I had only one concern, and management quickly addressed and corrected the situation; the food offerings and duration of offering were excellent; the property location is convenient for walking to sights of interest. Note however three things. (1) the property is not facing the ocean, although the rooms have balconies, all face the city meaning 2nd floor (but 1st floor of rooms) to the 3rd floor the view is of buildings and/or building roofs; 4th floor (has an obstructed ocean view (look to the right); the 5th floor has a better but still obstructed ocean view (again look to the right) and (2) the property is located on a safe but side street a bit pass the tourist district (just past the Fort); (3) I had a business room that did have a refrigerator.

The room (other than the absence of a refrigerator), was 4 star class which is why I entitled my review as underrated. The property is rated 3 star (maybe due to the none ocean view), but the room, service, food and bar were definitely 4 star! The website picture is accurate. I will not hesitate to book Hotel Ponta Delgada again.

Taxi tidbit: the cost of taxis is posted outside the airport next to the taxi stand and also in the city on the corner from the City Gates (also a taxi stand). Taxis are fast and efficient and will offer tours of the island (tour cost is also noted on the signage). The cost for airport to city hotels without luggage is 7E; with luggage is 9E … BUT the same service between 2100 and 0600 is 8E and 10E. The travel time from the city to the airport is 10 minutes. The time from calling a taxi to the taxi’s arrival, also about 10 minutes.

Public buses are also available, run often are safe and clean. Cost is very low and is a great way to see the city for almost no cost.

Shopping tip: Purchase food items (not fresh meat or eggs or fruit) "to bring home" from the grocery stores on the back streets ... where the locals shop. The food is the exact same but the cost is much less than the tourist traps.

Also items can be purchased from the "Market" as they sell fruit, veggies, cheeses (lots of cheeses and wines) and souvenirs. I purchased two nice polo style shirts for 8,50E each from the Market (go all the way to the back).

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cperibanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Hotel Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to have the privilege of your choice on your next visit to São Miguel, Azores.

All the best,
The Team from Hotel Ponta Delgada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

The breakfast was really exquisite with a huge variation of so many different foods for everybody´s taste! The room was so comfortable, clean and perfectly furnitured with a gigantic bed and a large shower. The view from the balcony was really amazing and the location is really good.

Room Tip: At the fifth floor, you have the best view
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michad986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Hotel Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion about your stay at Hotel Ponta Delgada.
It is quite gratifying for all the staff to know that you had a great stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again.
All the best,
The team from Hotel Ponta Delgada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Very clean, the people that worked and the hotel were nice and courteous. They had a very good breakfast with lots of choices of breads, cereals, fruits and beverages. There was a nice pool but had a little to much chlorine in it. the beds were hard but comfortable after the first nights stay.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Hotel Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel and thank you for your suggestions that certainly will help us improve our service. We love to know you enjoyed our breakfast and hope to receive you again on your next visit to our island.

Cordially,
The team form Hotel Ponta Delgada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

There were room available as I had check but when we got to the hotel they said check is at 2 pm. and we had to wait until then if you want your room before that you should have booked for the day before. This wasn't my first trip but it is the first I had been told that all other times we pretty much got our room when or soon after. So we locked up our thing and went off to see the city until noon the hotel still wouldn't let us in a room. There was still some breakfast left as they were cleaning up which they charged us for witch is I guess was ok but on our last day we had to check out and leave for the airport before breakfast was served but still we had to pay that did get to me.
Once we did get to our room at 1:45 ew found it to be very nice. there was a balcony with a great view of pretty much all the city. The breakfast which comes with room was very good.
Location is very good just on the west side of the city kinda near the airport. Easy to walk to any part of the city too.
I'd gave the hotel a better rating if it wasn't for the needless wait for the room.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KeithAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Hotel Ponta Delgada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Keith,
Thank you for your preference. We’re sorry not to have exceeded your expectations and thank you for helping our services achieve the necessary and required quality level. We will use your comment to guide our efforts in further improving our services and hope to receive again in the near future.

All the best,
The team from Hotel Ponta Delgada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews