We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
140
320
89
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
320
89
23
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 585 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2019

Hotel Canadiano is close to downtown Ponta Delgada and to the airport.
Rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are also big. Although it's an old building and starts to show it's age, it's very clean.
Beds are very good and comforting. Breakfast is also very good.
Free parking is allowed inside the hotel.
The only negative things are that there is no fridge in the room and no elevator to the the second floor.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Canadiano, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear Mr. Nick H,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted to see your positive review on Hotel Canadiano.

We really hope to welcome you back again in a near future, and at this time we alreay will have an elevator!

Best Regards,
Hotel Canadiano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the hotel in July & spent one more night before leaving the Azores.

Excellent stay
Clean comfortable rooms with terrace
Staff is very friendly & helpfull
Perfect breakfast with enough variation

The hotel is situated in the middle of the city, but the concept makes that you feel as being in a quiet area.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank GVHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Canadiano, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear GVHT,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your detailed review with very useful information for our guidance.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and we are glad to see that achieved it.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our hotel once more.

Best regards,
Hotel Canadiano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2019

We ended up here on short notice. Room was just OK with no comfortable furniture and a hard bed. Public space was limited. Pictures show garden space, but its only a parking area and there’s a bad sewer smell near the entrance. Our room was significantly more expensive than other hotels we’ve used here. Bar food portions were small and overpriced.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoDoShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Canadiano, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Dear Mr. JoDoShep,

We thank you for cooperating and sharing your opinion. However, we’re sorry for the aspects that were less than perfect, such as our furniture. We're already working on upgrading our facilities so we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our hotel.


Best regards,
Hotel Canadiano
PLATANO HOTELS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2019 via mobile

Had a nice three nights here. Rooms are large and well appointed. Service is excellent, they can arrange tours of the isla d. The breakfast was very good with eggs,.fruit and the local pineapple. A nice 12 minute walk to the port and restaurants.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Canadiano, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2019

Dear SiriusSkier23,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Canadiano for your stay here in Ponta Delgada and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
It's truly rewarding to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will share with the staff your kind words.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Canadiano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2019

It is true that the location is convenient. It is true that the staff is pleasant. It is also true that this is a very old hotel. As such, there is a constant smell of cleaning odor. It is a very dated hotel and does not deserve a 3 star rating. We were on a family vacation and although we booked 4 months in advance, they didn't have enough room for all of us at the hotel. For us, this experience almost ruined our vacation. Fortunately, our stay at other islands was great.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgreene480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Canadiano, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2019

Dear Mr. bgreene480,

We thank you for your review, were glad to know that our staff and location pleased you and, especially, that you enjoy the rest of your vacations on our beautiful islands!

Overbooking, although not desirable is a possibility that every hotel, and even airlines and other business, is exposed to. When facing these situations, we are supposed to redirect our guests to hotel units of the same category, or higher, and with a similar location in order to minimize any inconvenience.
We take this chance to inform that in a few months we will renovate the hotel, including the rooms, and to apologize for all the inconvenient caused.

Best regards,
Hotel Canadiano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews