We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
82
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chimney room shared kitchen kitchen area spent ages location is great spacious room street noise stayed here for nights places to visit on arrival centre of town would stay here again rita miguel drawers island cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 91 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Great place, location, facilities, room, garden, kitchen, everything!! Miguel, thanks for being a wonderful host. Booking this lodge should be a no-brainer, make your booking before someone else does!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Corjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2016

If you ever happen to be abroad when some serious problem arise at home, then you would like to have at your side Miguel and Rita. We were to them complete strangers but they helped us like we were their family... so this starts not as the "usual" review about beautiful rooms and neatness of the place (which there IS, mind you), rather a due and friendly tribute to true human warmth.
About the place (and here we go back to "normal" gear) it is a renovated classical Azorean house, with a graceful touch of good taste and some humor, splashed here in there in the colors, mural paintings inside the rooms and minimalist but effective forniture. Nice, clean, quite, located at a few minutes walk of anywhere in the Azorean Capitol city, it is a friendly place you would be sorry to miss in this magnificent island. See you soon Miguel And Rita :-)

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Miguel and Rita couldn't have been more helpful! Very handy for the airport. Cool decor and spotlessly clean. There's a good kitchen and PC for Internet access. Only 10-15 minutes walk into the centre of town.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Azorean Urban Lodge, its much more than a hostel! The location, the acommodation, the staff (Miguel&Rita), the cumom places are awesome and the rooms are very friendly and clean. This hostel will make your trip fantastic! We will come back....

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank RuiMCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2016

Miguel and his wife Rita run a boutique hotel on the edge of town in Ponta Delgada. He converted an upscale home with interesting features (like a wine cellar-looking kitchen area and a quiet pool area in back) into a fine hotel.

What really impressed my wife and me is how Miguel made an effort from the moment we arrived to feel welcomed and at home. He had even prepared a map of the city, highlighting places to go and restaurants to visit.

The room was comfortable and spacious, with interesting murals on the wall. The view out to the street was of the typical narrow streets of the area, giving it a more residential feel. The bathroom looked like it had been recently modeled and was very attractive.

My only caution is that there are seven rooms at this hotel - two of which I believe are on the street side. Were we to stay here in the future, I would opt for a room away from the street because of some street noise during the day. Also, the rooms are not air conditioned, which could make it a bit uncomfortable at certain times of the year (though Miguel did provide fans, which definitely helped).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews