We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
16
13
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
13
9
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We stumbled upon this place quite unexpectedly. I asked for restaurant recommendations at the airport tourist info and they gave us a few names on the map. The first one was closed, so this was 2nd on the list - had to ask a local for directions since it was not in any of the towns. What we found was more like an old fashioned village experience, not just lunch but a whole visit ending with a great meal of slow food, lots of it and lovingly prepared, locally sourced, free-range meats, well worth the wait. The young waitress was friendly, helpful and nice to chat with.

Room Tip: We just ate at the restaurant, didn't stay overnight.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chaunier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2016

This is not your typical experience...and that is the beauty of staying here ! First of all the owner truly loves what he has built/restored...and rightly so. It isn't easy to fully explain Quinta do Martelo. It is part B&B, part Museum (you must tour the grounds), part historical village but 100% an exceptional experience. But be warned...if you are looking for a 5 star Hilton experience this isn't it...but there are 1000s of Hiltons and only one Quinta do Martelo. Thus, I will always remember my stay at Martelo.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

This place is marvelous. We were received as if they knew us our entire life.
They even offered us local licor and it tasted like heaven. Amazing. We will, certainly, repeat. The garçom was super nice. :)

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Dreamer325325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2016

This was a charming way of starting our travel to Azores. The Quinta endeavors to provide its guest a little taste of Azorean hospitality in the countryside in old times. Guests will find the reception at the “Mercearia” (grocery shop), decorated in old style. We received extensive information about the history and how to get around the Quinta upon our arrival. The staff in general was very friendly and welcoming. They even helped us booking a car in Faial, which was proving to be a tough task before we arrived in the Azores. Our room was charmingly decorated with the simplicity of old-style furniture in the Azorean way. Breakfast was varied and absolutely delicious, with freshly backed bread, homemade cookies and marmalades, fresh fruits, all of this served in a warmly farm-style decorated room. I recommend you try the fresh “Cidreira” tea. We however missed some ventilation in the room, as temperatures were high. The window was kept open, and bugs were a little disturbing, so some nights were a bit long. I also missed access to Internet, which was only available at the Mercearia during its opening hours. Therefore, it was not possible to work much on our trip planning in the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bacuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2015

Ok so this is a heritage village which has been restored by the pleasant owner who opens it all for free. Some of the buildings are s/c accommodation and include a room or two which are set up in the traditional fashion but still have modern rooms attached. Breakfast we were told would appear in the fridge in the kitchen and sure enough it was there in the morning (via a secret door) into the kitchen area (which is a bit odd). Its rural, its quiet, its different. There is a restaurant on site- we were the only people there. The food was good but the most expensive of our whole trip (we had better elsewhere) but worth trying if you're there. Probably wouldn't stay again but don't let that put you off trying it.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bikingbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews