We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
310
388
89
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
388
89
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terceira mar monte brasil indoor pool bacon coffee machine sea view amazing views open to the public rooms face the sea fitness room hotel service bit dated beautiful location yogurt comfortable hotel beans first floor
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 810 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2015

My husband and I spent 8 days at this hotel and felt we made the best choice on the island. Location is terrific - right on the ocean, with a beautiful view of Monte de Brazil. Quick walk into the town and plenty of things to do within driving distance. That said, everything on this island is within driving distance - nothing more than 30 min away, it seemed! Staff was very helpful and made great recommendations for places to eat and things to do. Rooms were clean and safe with good space and great views. Other reviewers have commented on the hotel being dated - and I would agree that some of the lounge furniture, carpets and other bits that set the tone of a hotel needed some refreshing. Also, our room was on the bottom floor, and the hallway has motion sensing lighting that sometimes did not work very promptly - felt like arriving in the basement at times. Good choice for saving electricity, but not for ambiance. For the price, the location and the quality of service, this was the best choice for us!

Room tip: Higher floors have more natural light and better views
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira_Mar_Hotel, Assistant Manager at Terceira Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our Hotel.

Guest feedback is very important for us.

We thank you for your kind words. Every day we try our best in meeting your needs and making your stay the best possible while you visit Terceira Island.

It was wonderful to know that you found our hotel with a terrific location, excellent staff, spacious and clean rooms.

We were however very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some furniture and also with the hallway sensing lighting . We have pleasure to inform that our hotel was the first hotel in Portugal who got the EMAS Certification, so we have proud to have some environmental care.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again at Bensaude Hotels Collection.

Best Regards,
Dário Toste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed for 4 nights. Phenomenal stay, with free wifi, great continental breakfast with better variety than many hotels in Canada. Huge gorgeous resort like hotel - a bit dated in style of decor but incredible staff that go out of their way to assist you, and whole site was incredibly clean and well maintained. You MUST wear a swimming cap to use the indoor pool, can purchase on site for $6 EU. Ate dinner here one of the nights and also a very nice experience. Great English, no communication issues at all.

Car rental (AutAtlantis) is on the same street but will pick up / drop off at this hotel for you. BEST dinner we had was Cais de Angra in the town of Angra. Walked there (about 10 mins) and it was phenomenal. Everywhere you can mainly only get fish or steaks (and a pasta option) but this restaurants was very upscale, and delicious.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank courtmclaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira_Mar_Hotel, Assistant Manager at Terceira Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay at Terceira Mar Hotel and for taking time in sharing your experience.

It is always so rewarding to read about our guests having fantastics experiences in our hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you soon,

Yours Sincerely,
Dário Toste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2015

In an over-exciting day this is the place you want to finally end up. We have been through several hours of challenging travel including a fog induced aborted landing, several hours on busses and in airports. Somehow we lucked into the right bus and ended up in paradise. The hotel had made last minute arrangements for us and even at the late hour they had booked us in, fed us a very nice meal, and we ended up in a beautiful suite. Too bad there was so little time until they called us for breakfast, again a delicious affair, and sent us off on our 5:30 AM bus back to the airport for another try at crossing the Atlantic.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira_Mar_Hotel, Assistant Manager at Terceira Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2015

Dear Mr Larry B,

We were delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Terceira Mar Hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic classification and review about us on TripAdvisor.

It is always so rewarding to read about our guests having fantastics experiences in our hotel!

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again at Bensaude Hotels Collection.

Yours Sincerely,
Dário Toste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2015

Terceira Mar Hotel is about a 20 minute drive from the airport on the outskirts of the town of Angra de Herosimo, the capital. All rooms have a view toward the ocean bay and the old fort. The people who work here are very friendly and accommodating and generally have a good command of English. Amenities include underground, 2 level parking (very sharp curved narrow entries - perfect if you ride a motorcycle, but otherwise use the outside parking to be safe), indoor & outdoor pool, Wi-Fi, fitness centre, hot tub and sauna. Laundry service is available but no self-service. A full breakfast in the dining area is included with your stay. Of all the Bensaude Turismo Hotels in the Azores where we have stayed, this one has the best scenic views - all rooms face the ocean and coastline. Saturday nights from 10 pm - 12 midnight, it gets quite loud as locals party to live entertainment here. Sound asleep after a flight in and a busy day we were jolted awake by the VERY LOUD noise emanating from the centre of the hotel. At the time we were unaware of the source until a late call to the front desk clued us in. Thankfully this only happens on Saturday nights. Restaurant service during the off-peak season is very limited but local establishments, many family run, fill the void. There is even a Burger King five minutes from the hotel but be prepared for a long line up of cars trying to get in on weekends - it’s very popular.

Room tip: All rooms face the sea and shoreline (nice) but those closer to the fitness centre and pool (which has public access) can be noisy.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisersRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira_Mar_Hotel, Assistant Manager at Terceira Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2015

Dear CruisersR,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay at Terceira Mar Hotel and for taking time in sharing your experience.

We were particularly happy to read that you have enjoyed so much our views, our staff and our facilities.

Meanwhile, we were very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with our live entertainment of the hotel. In fact, our bar has live entertainment all saturdays to our guests between 10h00 untill 00h00. We will ask at the musician to put lower sound in order to minimize this inconvenience.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again at Bensaude Hotels Collection.
Best Regards,
Dário Toste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2015

We stayed in this hotel on an Azores island hopping tour with SAGA. This hotel is part of a chain and was the third hotel we stayed in on tour.
I have to say that it is the best in the Azores, every room has a sea view, the rooms are spacious, and the dining experience is superb.
Out door there are plenty of facilities to relax, take a walk, enjoy the excellent pool. The town is a short walk and well worth a stroll around.
The staff are so helpful, the rooms are spotless, in fact the staff make the hotel which is exceptionally well managed.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merseyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira_Mar_Hotel, Assistant Manager at Terceira Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Dear Mr merseyal,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay at Terceira Mar Hotel and for taking time in sharing your experience.

It is always so rewarding to read about our guests having happy experiences!

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again at Bensaude Hotels Collection.

Yours Sincerely,
Dário Toste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews