We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky B&B with warm-hearted owners and good breakfast choice”
Review of Casa Pombal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Pombal
Ranked #3 of 30 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK Eurocrat in Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quirky B&B with warm-hearted owners and good breakfast choice”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Be prepared for a STEEP climb to this B&B, which is in the town (most others are on the outskirts of Coimbra). But it's a lovely place: everything is clean, and (unusually for Portugal) there was a hairdryer in our bathroom, which was useful.

The highlight here is the breakfast buffet. We had a choice of eggs, Dutch cheeses, chocolate sprinkles, different breads, jams and jellies, fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice. The owners are extremely helpful and happy to recommend restaurants and places to go in Coimbra - they are clearly passionate and knowledgeable about their town.

Being picky, the rooms and hallways could do with a lick of fresh paint - they are spotless but because the stairs are very narrow, the walls must take a battering with suitcases etc. Our bathroom (room 8 I think) also could have done with new soap/toothbrush holder accessories (chipped, and these should be quite inexpensive to replace). The bath towels were also a bit stiff but that may be personal preference! However, everything is lovely and clean, and we did not have any problems during our stay here. We'd definitely rebook if we came back to Coimbra.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tango_tastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    79
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
131
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in Coimbra for 2 nights and I booked Casa Pombal by looking at Tripadvisor. I think previous reviews are pretty accurate in that you may or may not like the place depending on your personality.
It IS the only guest house in the old part and is quaint and quirky - lots of narrow internal staircases and fun decor. The rooms are basic but adequate. Bathrooms are clean but remember to ask for an en suite if you dont want to share one with another guest. There is clearly a drains problem in this part of Coimbra in the hot month of August as there was a bit of a smell in the bathroom unless windows were wide open. Nothing to do with internal cleaniiness which was good. As my husband says "If you like the smell of eau de toilette - llterally - this is the place for you"
The staff were extremely friendly - very chatty and warm which was lovely. Coimbra was an interesting town but we caught it on an exceptionally quiet 2 days - a sunday/monday also national bank holiday. I think when the students are not around in August the town is also rather quiet and not like its normal self.
If you come by car, make sure you park somewhere not too far away that is free - lots of cobbly hills to hike up wiht bags otherwise.
On reflection and compared with some of the other places we stayed in Portugal i think it is qutie overpriced as casa pombal knows it is unusual in its location,

Room Tip: ask for an ensuite and a room with a view maybe the floor before the top floor ie 3rd i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjumSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

After having traveled all across Spain and Portugal I can honestly say the lovely dutch ladies who run Casa Pombal were the most helpful wonderful patrons we encountered. They helped us make reservations at our next destination, gave us travel advice, and were very well informed on the local goings-on.

The location is perfect for a walking tour of the city, but be warned, it is a very steep hill on which the old city sits. Be prepared for a hike! And heed their advice and take a taxi from the train station, its just much simpler than trying to make it there with luggage.

The traditional dutch breakfast is wonderful, and a refreshing difference from the breakfast most places serve. There was even vegimite for my australian girlfriend....
We stayed in a double room, and it was quaint, clean, and perfectly suited to our needs.

Thanks so much ladies, hopefully I'll come by again some day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

A pleasant place, quaint and atmospheric. Very friendly owners with lots of helpful tips. Our room was not big, but spotlessly clean and the view from the top floor was great. The pillows could be more comfortable, but this is very subjective, of course. The breakfast was quite good and the Dutch people who miss their favourite pindakaas and hagelslag will be happy to find them so far away from home. I would not stay there for more than a day or two, though, and would perhaps look for something a bit more comfortable. However, for a short trip to Coimbra this is a good option.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soleilrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The place is in the middle of the old town, which is a 15 minute walk to the pedestrian street and most restaurants. It is a pleasant walk though. The room is small but functional. They cleaned my room everyday and even folded my own cloths! The decoration is corny, but it is funny! You have the feeling of sleeping at grand ma's place! When you arrive, they provide you load of information. They also recommended me some nice places where to eat. The breakfast is excellent and there is a little patio outside. There is a computer you can use and they also have a wi-fi access, all for free.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliekodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed one night in the center of Coimbra, what is enough to visit the city. You get a lot of information when you arrive. Double room was not very big but clean and OK. Washtable on the room, shared bathroom on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at Casa Pombal for two nights and loved our stay there. We were given friendly advice on what to see and where to go which helped us get the most of our stay in Coimbra. Casa Pombal is in the historic part of Coimbra and close to the university which has some great things to see. The breakfasts were fabulous and the rooms bright and cheerful. Would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolejs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,073 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,237 reviews
0.9 km away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
703 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
0.7 km away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pombal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pombal

Property: Casa Pombal
Address: Rua das Flores 18, Coimbra 3000-442, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pombal is a small bed & breakfast on the top of a hill in the historical heart of Coimbra. This old townhouse is utterly unpretentious and will stir feelings of nostalgia for those student years. The rooms are basic, but stylish decorated, each with its own Portuguese atmosphere. All rooms have heating and most rooms have private bathrooms. Some rooms have a beautiful view over the city and the river Mondego. Breakfast is Included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Pombal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pombal Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing