We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Baia(Cascais)
US$174
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$236
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$313
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$324
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$372
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farol Hotel(Cascais)
US$500
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$451
US$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
403
212
100
32
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
212
100
32
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courserooms are hugemodern hotelpremium loftgolf hotelsushi baroitavos dunesindoor poolgreat golfamazing hotelhotel staffbreakfast buffet iscommon areasfive star hotelquinta da marinhahot foodsea view
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 780 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2016

Having stayed at this hotel 18 months ago, we returned with our children and grandchildren. We took the 3 day spa package but the spa was now closed on a Sunday so nothing working. 2 days before our arrival I received a call saying that due to a computer error our reservation for the chef's table is cancelled. Our reservation was confirmed in April and after questioning the inexperienced staff member who called, I discovered the chef told him to lie to us as he wanted the table for his own family that night!
The service at the pool is so slow and with bad attitude and each day we had a card dropped saying our room was not finished being made up as they did not want to disturb us - we were out anyway! They gave a housekeeping number which is never answered so each day some item is missing in the bathroom. Perhaps this saves them costs?
We knew the hotel has no activities for children but overheard talk that the owner does not like children there and during our stay he instructed reception to tell children who were playing with a ball in the pool that this was not permitted. In 18 months the spa has deteriorated, sauna floorboards coming up and the spa is not cleaned throughout the day and the jacuzzi temperature set at 41 deg so could not be used one of the days.
All round a disappointing waste of money to stay there. All other hotels in the area were fully booked - perhaps people are realising there is no 5 star value at The Oitavos.

Room Tip: Book at another hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Visited the Spa it was excellent very good facilities the sauna and steam rooms overlook the dunes which is lovely. Good treatments I had a number of different ones the staff were warm friendly and professional and the treatments were of good quality the therapist was brilliant I had massage, a wrap and a facial. Staff were unobtrusive and everything seemed to run like clockwork. Very nice setting and the pool changing rooms and spa area was clean and well looked after. Sometimes staff at this level of spa can be rude not here, they were absolutely excellent! I will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sara_Mitchell159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Great location, high standards, this is a really beautyfull structure,
if you are looking for a nice golf-club - yea!
if you are looking for a nice location for conferences and meeting - yea!
if you are looking for a nice lunch-food - well not yea...

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

This is amazing hotel... all the rooms are suite, with ample living area,and huge varanda... and all rooms have panoramic windows all around... there is no bad view... you either face the gardens and golf or the sea... many face both. Great food and service, all at reasonable prices. Loved the breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fionaaraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Stayed for 2 days in April after an amazing 4 days in Lisbon. The hotel is big, glassy, large open spaces as all the reviews state. That's not what my issues were though. We checked in and they took a pre authorisation of 140euros without informing me. That was an issue as it made me miss a payment back home. I was totally unaware of this preauthorisation. They should really have more trust in their guests. We had a large, in fact masive loft room with balcony and great views of the dunes and the Atlantic. We looked forward to using the spa but could not as our room did not qulaify for free usage of the facility despite it being a 'superior' loft. I thought that any room with the wrod 'superior' in it would allow complimentary access to the spa. We refused to pay 25 euros each per day to access it. It's poor that when you book into a '5 star' hotel, you do not get access to things like a spa. They should charge guests from outside the hotel to use it, not already paying guests staying in the hotel. The most frustratin aspect though was the inadequate levels of happiness displayed by the front of house staff on reception. I do not know where they think they are working or who tells them that they cannot smile or be warm and welcoming, but I can confirm that the these guys and girls are so straight faced and solemn that it dampens any excitement you may have when you come in though the front doors.Plus side - breakfast is amazing, views are amazing, golf course looks nice, close to Cascais and near some amazing beaches down the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAROLLIE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews