We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
265
397
160
33
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
397
160
33
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar sea view blue bar perfect location star hotel overlooking the beach three star small beach view room sea front rooms are small train station first floor top floor underground parking bars and restaurants a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 894 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2015

Location - Location - Location and Location

Rest was the cheepest they were able to buy. Breakfast was so bad - the croissants was terrible, only Saturday and Sunday they were eateble (mayby the Chef was off in the Weekend?) Eggs were so hard boild that they were all green inside. Drinks at the pool bar was priced as on the nearby bars - but so small and .. (bought one and went outside the Hotel for the next) List is much much longer - but this is enough for me, don't got all day

The Maids knocked on your door by 7:30 in the morning if you did not place the 'do not disturbe' just to see if they could clean your room. 7:30 ... Never seen anything like that OMG

Room Tip: Take another Hotel if the Location is NOT what you come for
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Very suspicious review from an anonimous person who has only one review?!?!?!? Why stay 10 days if it was so bad?
Breakfast bread and pastries are prepared in-house daily by qualified pastry chefs as is all the hot food food prepared daily by qualified chefs including fried, scambled and boiled eggs, bacon, beans, saussages, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc.
Given the Blue Bar's priviledged location and stunning view, I don't think €2.20 for a beer is too expensive but you are free to diagree...
Cleaning service starts at 8am in the rooms. If you do not wish to be disturbed, please put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2015

Feels like a dorm with a great view - if you have a room facing the ocean. The only pus for this hotel is the location and the roof terrace. WiFi only works in reception, reception takes your passport (and they really need to work on security when it comes to that). Rooms are poorly soundproofed and this hotel still uses old facioned magnetic strip keycards. Using the safetybox required paying for a regular lock.

Stayed in a hotel of the same price range in Lisbon and when you compare the hotels they do not even exist on the same scale.

If I go back I would opt to stay in Lisbon and make a day trip to Cascais.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Thank you for your review. I was surprised to read that you think our hotel does not have a good value for money ratio as we generally score very highly on this. In fact, since our average ocupancy in July was well over 90%, any hotelier would tell you that the rate should be increased...
Wifi is being installed in all the rooms at the hotel at the moment and will be available within one month. In the meantime, it is available free of charge all along the ground floor from the lobby to the bar area and sea front terrace. We are required by law to check your passport details (or other form of photo ID) when you check in and we have never lost one - did you have any security issues???
All rooms have double glazed windows to reduce the noise from outside. Of course, as we are right in the centre of town there can be some exterior noise at times.
Did you have any problems with our key cards? Or the safety box? I am sorry we do not have the latest technology in our 3 star hotel that has been here for 54 years but we are constantly investing to maintain and keep our property up to date and it is question of priorities. This year apart from completely renovating all sea view rooms on the second floor we have also invested in a completely new electrical framework, as well distributing wifi throughout our 113 room hotel (on-going) and eco-initiatives (such as LED lighting and many others) to reduce our carbon footprint - we are, after all a certified eco-hotel. Perhaps next year our budget will allow us to invest in some cool keys and new digital wall safes but there are still some rooms we want to renovate first.
You also seem to give a low score for service, however
In any case, we thank you for your comments as we are always trying to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2015

Excellent hotel,great location,good breakfast.sea view rooms with balcony excellent.room v clean,good shower,comfy bed.
Roof bar wonderful.
Easy to get to Sintra
Close to station.
Reception staff always helpful

Room Tip: Sea view high room
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank richardfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Thank you very much for your review. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner have been going to the baia twice a year for the last 8 years and cascais for about 12 years,having stayed at supposed better hotels,I can honestly say baia is the best,firstly people have to remember it's 3 star and very good 3 star at that,if it had more stars and considering the location I and many other people couldn't afford to stay there,so thank the corouche family for sticking to there principles and giving us this wonderful hotel to stay,I would quite happily live at the baia for the rest of my days,room 301,bliss do sample Sidney's cocktails every night,be back in September,can't wait,

Stayed: July 2015
3  Thank Muirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Thank you very much for your review. We can´t wait to welcome you back again and I'm sure Sidney will have a new cocktail up his sleeve for you to taste! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2015

The hotel is very nice, very clean, courteous staff. Maids in every day to make beds, clean towels. Breakfast, lots to choose from.
Lots of eating & drinking places all around within easy walking distance. Shops, nice walks, couldn't fault the area. Beautiful.
Only down side with hotel was there was no coffee & tea making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you very much for review. We hope you will visit us again soon. Please check out our website for special offers and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews