We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cascais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guesthouse Toca dos Grilos
Reviewed 6 September 2015

This guesthouse is absolutely wonderful. If you are looking for peace and quiet, for a friendly and familiar atmosphere, then you will love it here. There are 10 or 12 rooms and they are lovely and clean. They have double beds (2 matrasses and seperate blankets). The garden is lovely with a lot of flowers and a nice pool with sunbeds. Breakfast is made fresh for you every morning and served at your table. The owner Maria will try to fulfill your every wish. They also have a fabulous bungalow (standing free of the guesthouse, but attatched to the garden) with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a big living and a kitchen, which can be rented weekwise. We were there with 2 teenage children, who also loved the place and the pool (and the little dog!). You can park your car directly in front of the guesthouse. It was a very welcome change to the fancy hotels with masses of tourists!
Pls note: the shower in room nr 3 has very little waterpressure. The one in the childrens room worked fine.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms are probable the ones facing the back garden/pool. The frontrooms facing the (quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tulpje07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for only two nights and we wish it had been more.
The Toca Dos Grilos is an exceptional find with the owner, Maria, being at the heart of all it represents.
The property is immaculate in all respects with a lovely small pool and areas to sit in the sun. Our room was very clean and well furnished in a traditional style.
The star, however, was the breakfast. Just by way of a sample: a large bowl of fresh strawberries, a plate of quality ham, cheese and salami (not mass produced!), fresh, home made bread rolls, eggs(farm free range) on ham and toast, and, finally, home made jams.
The house is on a fairly non descript housing area around 3km from the beach on the hillside at the northern edge of Estoril although our room overlooked the garden and the golf course. We walked down to the seafront each day (20-25 mins) but tended to take a taxi back (around €5). Thus does not detract and helped walk off the breakfast!
Nothing was too much trouble for Maria and her staff. When in Estoril /Cascais again, We will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at this Guesthouse for almost 2 weeks and felt like I was being taken care of by family. Maria, the hostess, is very accommodating, even to my vegetarian diet. The breakfasts are wonderful! They included homemade jelly's, local bread, fruit from Maria's garden (in October!), and freshly made eggs. Special care was taken with my room each day and the neighborhood was peaceful. One day when I had spent the day in bed with a headache, Maria called up to make sure I was ok and to see if I wanted anything to eat. You're not going to get that kind of care in a hotel. I would recommend this Guesthouse to any and all of my friends and family. The pictures on this site and their website are very accurate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The owner of Toca dos Grilos, Maria, is a wonderfull person. From the moment I arrived, she immediatly made me feel at home. The room was clean and had all the comfort I needed (Wifi, television, airconditioning, ...). The breakfast was very nice as well (fresh fruit, different types of eggs, homemade jam, cheese, ham). Maria is a very caring person who wants to make sure you're alright.
Toca dos Grilos arranged my transport from and to the airport (€100) which was very comfortable.
It takes about 30 minutes to walk to the center / beach of Estoril. It is also possible to take a taxi, which is quite cheap in the area.
In short, I would definetly recommend a stay in Toca dos Grilos!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent only four nights at the guesthouse and it was like living at our own home. Mrs. Maria (the owner) is a very nice, careful and well organized person. The accommodation (we were given the 2-bed room with bath + living room apartment - ideal for 2 couples) is perfectly clean and fully equipped. Breakfast in the morning is top quality (home made marmelade, fresh fruits and eggs from their own farming). On arrival by car it is not so easy to find the address (much easier if your car is equipped with a GPS). The property is located in the outskirts of Estoril however by car one can reach the center in a few minutes. Also other important locations (Lisbon, Sintra, Cascais, etc.) can be reached fairly easily. In a few words " Toca dos Grilos " is value for money and we hope to visit them again in the near future (Mrs, Maria and her son speak also English, French, Italian).

Room Tip: The guesthouse is in a very quiet suburb, therefore whatever accommodation you are given is a good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slrovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La mejor elección
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anolna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Marek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
5 km away
InterContinental Estoril
5.7 km away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.7 km away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 18 in Estoril
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
4.4 km away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
4.6 km away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#6 of 40 in Cascais
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Toca dos Grilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Toca dos Grilos

Address: Rua de Sao Pedro | Estoril, Cascais 2750-081, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Cascais
Price Range: C$62 - C$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Toca dos Grilo This small hotel offers an extremely personalized and dedicated service to provide a calm and quiet ambience, a home away from home. Situated in Estoril within reach of the ocean the casino, it is only minutes from Cascais, the former fishing village gained fame as a resort for Portugal's [1]royal family in the late 19th century and early 20th century, and 5 km from Sintra with its hills and palaces that inspired writers and poets all over the world. Twin rooms with view to the garden with mini bar, air conditioning, cable TV, bath room with hair dryer and heated towel rail. Twin rooms with view onto quiet street, with mini bar, air conditioning, cable TV, bath room with hair dryer and heated towel rail. Double rooms with view onto quiet street, with mini bar, air conditioning, cable TV, bath room with hair dryer and heated towel rail. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing