We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for only two nights and we wish it had been more.
The Toca Dos Grilos is an exceptional find with the owner, Maria, being at the heart of all it represents.
The property is immaculate in all respects with a lovely small pool and areas to sit in the sun. Our room was very clean and well furnished in a traditional style.
The star, however, was the breakfast. Just by way of a sample: a large bowl of fresh strawberries, a plate of quality ham, cheese and salami (not mass produced!), fresh, home made bread rolls, eggs(farm free range) on ham and toast, and, finally, home made jams.
The house is on a fairly non descript housing area around 3km from the beach on the hillside at the northern edge of Estoril although our room overlooked the garden and the golf course. We walked down to the seafront each day (20-25 mins) but tended to take a taxi back (around €5). Thus does not detract and helped walk off the breakfast!
Nothing was too much trouble for Maria and her staff. When in Estoril /Cascais again, We will certainly stay here.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed at this Guesthouse for almost 2 weeks and felt like I was being taken care of by family. Maria, the hostess, is very accommodating, even to my vegetarian diet. The breakfasts are wonderful! They included homemade jelly's, local bread, fruit from Maria's garden (in October!), and freshly made eggs. Special care was taken with my room each day and the neighborhood was peaceful. One day when I had spent the day in bed with a headache, Maria called up to make sure I was ok and to see if I wanted anything to eat. You're not going to get that kind of care in a hotel. I would recommend this Guesthouse to any and all of my friends and family. The pictures on this site and their website are very accurate.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The owner of Toca dos Grilos, Maria, is a wonderfull person. From the moment I arrived, she immediatly made me feel at home. The room was clean and had all the comfort I needed (Wifi, television, airconditioning, ...). The breakfast was very nice as well (fresh fruit, different types of eggs, homemade jam, cheese, ham). Maria is a very caring person who wants to make sure you're alright.
Toca dos Grilos arranged my transport from and to the airport (€100) which was very comfortable.
It takes about 30 minutes to walk to the center / beach of Estoril. It is also possible to take a taxi, which is quite cheap in the area.
In short, I would definetly recommend a stay in Toca dos Grilos!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent only four nights at the guesthouse and it was like living at our own home. Mrs. Maria (the owner) is a very nice, careful and well organized person. The accommodation (we were given the 2-bed room with bath + living room apartment - ideal for 2 couples) is perfectly clean and fully equipped. Breakfast in the morning is top quality (home made marmelade, fresh fruits and eggs from their own farming). On arrival by car it is not so easy to find the address (much easier if your car is equipped with a GPS). The property is located in the outskirts of Estoril however by car one can reach the center in a few minutes. Also other important locations (Lisbon, Sintra, Cascais, etc.) can be reached fairly easily. In a few words " Toca dos Grilos " is value for money and we hope to visit them again in the near future (Mrs, Maria and her son speak also English, French, Italian).

Room tip: The guesthouse is in a very quiet suburb, therefore whatever accommodation you are given is a good accommodation.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slrovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews