We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
35
55
15
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
55
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busfront deskstar hotelacross the streetone nightveracontrastgroupstationsanctuaryshrine
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 110 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

It's a nice, not so big old-school hotel, maybe even better than it categorization of 3 stars would suggest. Had a room on the first floor overlooking entrance. Room was partially refurbished recently, including bathroom. Very clean and nicely situated just few steps from the sanctuary. There is also a souvenir shop in the lobby.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank nick_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2015

This hotel is situated in a quiet area of Fatima, in the shade of trees. His charm, staff and style, give a pleasant stay. I liked the rich breakfast buffet, as well as the friendly staff. Nearby there are nice restaurants and shops. The shrine is a 10-minute walk. I'd love to be back again.

Stayed: September 2014
1  Thank Teo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SM, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

Thank you for your kind review. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

Walking distance from bus station so you doing have to deal with your bag for long.
Walking distance to everything, sanctuary, shops, restaurants.
Clean, safe, comfortable rooms.
Friendly staff that was more informative than the visitors office at sanctuary. Very pleased with the option.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
3  Thank ClaudiaFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SM, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2015

Thank you for your kind review.
Regards from Fátima!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2015

I stayed at the Sao Jose the week of May 3 to May 9. I have no complaints about this hotel. It is just minutes from the Sanctuary. I purposely picked this week because there were going to be thousands of people there for the May 13th anniversary and I wanted to avoid that. The Hotel itself is in good condition, the rooms are clean and the bathrooms spacious. The breakfast was decent and included in the room rate. When flying into Lisbon, pick up your baggage and go out to the taxi stand. Tell the driver you want to go to SETE RIOS bus station and it`s only 5-10 minutes from airport by cab. Once arriving at the bus station, a ticket one way is $12.00 to Fatima and the buses go every hour. It is a little difficult to know which bus, but don`t be afraid to ASK. The ride to Fatima is about an hour and 15 minutes and the bus station in right across the street from Sao Jose.
Since I flew Iberia Airlines connecting through Madrid, the flight back was too early and the buses don`t run 24 hours. So I booked a ticket on the train on the website RAIL EUROPE, and it`s $16.00 one way. However, the "Fatima Train station" is about 35 kilometeres from Fatima. There is a train that leaves there at 3:59 AM to Lisbon and get off at STATION ORIENTE, which is a 5 minute taxi ride to the airport. The cab fare to train station from Fatima was $35.00, and the cab fare from train to airport was $7.00. The train arrives in Lisbon at 5:35 AM, and my flight left Lisbon at 7:45 AM, so I had plenty of time ( remember this applies to people who`s flight is very early ) it was not a hassle at all. I know it sounds like alot, but it isn`t. I saved $100.00 by doing this because if you go by cab alone, the fare is $150.00. Look at it as an adventure. Rail Europe will only mail your ticket and it arrives in 2-3 days.
Sorry, but I want to inform people with as much information as I can. The Sao Jose staff are very friendly and helpful and the room rates are cheap. I especially like the front desk gal by the name of Andrea. She was terrific.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Azaria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SM, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2015

Thank you for your kind review.
Best regards from the Hotel Santa Maria staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Lovely Hotel, very near to the shrine and bus terminal. Rooms very clean and spacious, beds very comfortable. Food excellent and plentiful, (caters for people with diet restrictions eg: gluten free - but do let them know before your stay)

Staff very helpful and friendly. There is a Patio area to the front of the Hotel and the area is very peaceful and quiet. This Hotel is charming and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have a diet restriction have the good manner to inform your travel agent or the Hotel direct.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gwraig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SM, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
Best regards from Hotel São José staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews