We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alfama Patio Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alfama Patio Hostel
Ranked #16 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“My favorite hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Jaoa is possibly the best landlord in the world. This place is a home away from home, for travelers, students, and anybody looking for a bed. Marissa, the cook, is perhaps my favorite person on Earth. She makes 3 course meals from fresh, local ingredients for 8 Euros. Jaoa is very environmentally conscious, as shown by the compost heap and garden. The place is a little quiet, so if you're looking for a party, get ahold of the staff and stay at Jaoa's other pad in downtown Lisbon. The decor is solidly retro-cozy, with rooms to match, in that inimitable Portuguese style. Only complaint is the (completely clean) bathroom is a bit far for my room after a few bottles of Port, and that the hotel is up a steep hill. This affords a great view, but with all you'll be eating and drinking, be sure to keep a business card handy for the taxi.

Room Tip: Multi-bed dorms are very often empty in winter, and they won't charge you extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
55
177
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My two stays at this hostel in Lisbon, Portugal was incredible. The staff is friendly, sociable, knowledgeable, & very helpful. They have theme nights every night of the week, so you will never be bored or lacking for something to do if you want. They were happy to accommodate my extra luggage when I wanted to take a side trip to the Algarve region, of which they literally took a load off my back. And when I realized that I left my passport in the hostel, as I was traveling in southern Portugal, they replied back ASAP and told me that it is safe with them. The hostel is clean with a neat funky feel. And out of my 6 bed dorm room the terrace has a view of the port of Lisbon!- Incredible! I would recommend this hostel to everyone, especially people that want to experience the character of Alfama the older part of Lisbon. Thanks Alfama Patio Hostel for giving me an excellent & fun introduction to Lisbon!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hostel was the first and the last place where I spent time for rest and sleep in my first visit of Lisbon, Portugal. I literally knew nothing about this place before I got here because I came here with a team and one of us booked this place for the team. However, the surroundings, location, rooms, and facilities were met above my expectation. If there is anyone trying to find a hostel with reasonable price, comfortable room, and perfect location for tourism, I strongly recommend this hostel for you.

P.S. - Although I did not sleep in a room with King size bed where only allows two persons for sleep, I would love to try it out whenever I get a chance to come back to Lisbon. Because the couple bed room is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toughromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisboa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

beautiful interior and spotless cleanliness, the maintenance here is constant at your convenience and for your comfort. Obviously whoever designed the furniture had an artistic eye as well as a lively spirit. the building itself is efficient and uses eco friendly products. The atmosphere here is always fresh and "home-y." Breakfast is included at 8 and the espresso machine is the bomb. Love and enjoy your stay because this is by far the best hostel i have lived in!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are have a beautiful view and nice arrangements
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Its a quaint hostel in the old part of Lisboa. The staff really go out of the way to make you feel at home. There is a great free breakfast in the morning with crepe-like pancakes. The morning view of the sea and sunrise with a fresh cup of coffee is perfect to start the day. The private room is cozy and warm and the bed was comfy. I'll be returning again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

i have stayd in many hostels in europe,and i have to say alfama is definately the best
its in a great part of lisbon,every thing is close by,the staff will do anything for you and make you feel so welcome,i recommend this place to every one,i guarrantee,once you have been there you will go back time and time again.
k griffiths

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynchy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hostel is so nice and familiar! I was sleeping here only for 2 nights of my 10 day travel to Lisbon, but after moving to another place, I passed by every day just to meet the people again. If you like to use their offers for tours through the city, you should ask for Sarah, she is very kind and knows a lot about Lisbon/Portugal history! I also recommend the "Pub Crawl"! They take you on a nice bar-tour to Bairro Alto and you can enjoy some cheap drinks and have loooots of fun!! They also have a very kind dog, unfortunately I forgot his name... And a guitar!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeimn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#128 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 407 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 407 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 407 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Lisbon Destination Hostel
#10 of 407 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfama Patio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfama Patio Hostel

Property: Alfama Patio Hostel
Address: Escolas Gerais 3, Lisbon 1100-213, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alfama Patio Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hostels in the world. Lots of character and atmosphere, where you will feel immediately as at your home. A private patio and a terrace with stunning view over the river and Alfama. In the oldest district of Lisbon, a cheap accommodation where everything started. Free wi-fi, delicious breakfast included, and a fully equipped kitchen for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Alfama Patio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing