We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !”
Review of Home Lisbon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Lisbon Hostel
Ranked #2 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Besancon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I spent a few day at home lisbon over christmas and really enjoyed it !
The ++++
- The staff is absolutely adorable from the giorls at the reception to the manager and the cleaning ladies, everybody is really nice and understanding rying to make your stay the bext.
- They offer a laundry service !!! That in itself is a HUGE bonus ! You give your clothes before midnight and they are washed and dry by 8:00 am the next day ! When you travel long term that is really a wonderful bonus.
- The whole place is really cosy and there is details that make the difference to make you feel confy and at home, ex: bed lights, tv with movies, really cosy living room, 2pc s available, tea and coffee during the day and good breakfast included in the price...
- They offer a dinner service, you pay an extra 6 or 8 euros and have a typical portuguese dinner cooked by the hostal mama :)
- there is a tiny/cosy outside area for smoker and/or nice days.
- It s really central

I strongly recomend this place, after trying several hostals in lisbon this one really is one of the best :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    51
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
44
239
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Literally feel like home here. The place is set up perfectly for every one at the hostel to bond. And the staff is absolutely incredible. Andre runs an amazing hostel and Luis, Diana, and Adrienne are all the absolute best. Every one is just down to kick it and hang out and really get to know each other. Not to mention, all the amenities are great (beds, bathrooms, showers, kitchen, lounge area)! I would recommend this to any family member or friend and plan to stay again here when I get back :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shain_jordan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I am a seasoned traveller! In my 30's and it is hard to get rave reviews from me, because I have been to a lot of places and travelled extensively. For me to even bother taking time to write a good report for a hostel means it must be excellent.

A massive heads up to the this hostel..it is the fantastic staff that make it that you notice first.

I arrived from Madeira,flew to Lisbon and was meant to be going on to Faro. There was a train strike. My plans were all changed in a few minutes and I ended up at Home hostel days early.

I walked in off the street, tired, frustrated, and obviously not in the best of moods at having my travel plans ripped apart by strike action on the railways.

I wont mention any particular names(in case any of the other staff think they were not as good) because all of the staff were brilliant in their own way.

But the lady at the desk was fantastic. Totally welcoming. Understanding. Helpful. The Portuguese are like this anyway as a national trait (from what I have experienced), but this girl and the hostel were particularly outstanding.
The staff even took time to help me with some Portuguese words I was trying to get my head around. They must find it boring with lots of people doing that (but it didn't show, they took time to help me).

Then you notice the *brilliant* front room. Writing desk, coffee tables, sofas, bean bags. Just the right feel. I even managed to spent hours channel hopping on the tv, watching whatever I wanted (many language channels available).

How the staff kept positive and welcoming chat up for the four days running that I was in the Home hostel, and to the other customers...I do not know. I would have found it very hard to do. The friendly check in desk wasn't just a ploy to get me in and take my cash!

So the staff are one of the biggest assets to this hostel. The bed was comfortable. The hostel provides (for free) a lockable locker with a padlock (some hostels charge or don't have this).

The *free* laundary service was amazing. Put your clothes in the basket by midnight, and by 8am (ready way before I think)...there was all your washing, washed and dried. The perfect feature in a hostel for real travellers with few clothes because of budget airlines "carry on" luggage only travelling. I flew in after a motorbiking trip around Madeira, and had run out of clean clothes. Just what I needed.

Free breakfast was brilliant. Set me up for the day, well and good to do my walking tours and museum visits. (incidentally Lisbon has some of the best art museums in the world).

The hostel also booked in me to my next hostel in Porto when I left, for free, and also giving me a discount on the next hostel.

So the plus points......nearly everything. The staff, the front room, the laundary, the lockers, the beds with individual reading lights.

The bad points? Cant really think of any. I do naturally wake early and sleep lightly, so I was awoken early by whomever cleaned the hostel early in the morning. But then the hostel was kept spotless, and he or she was probably doing all of my washing to get it ready for me first thing.


It was so good I even persuaded a group of other travellers I met afterwards to change their plans and go there.

And to hear a real band playing some "Mumford and Sons" tracks in the front room one night was fantastic.

Summary....*fantastic* hostel and staff. One of the best in the world.
Mike
(unconnected in anyway with this or any other hostel. This is a completely independent write up)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Great hostel! Friendly staff, great location in downtown baixa, lisbon. I was fortunate to go on a free walking tour with Jose which was quite epic to say the least. He talked about the nuances of Lisbon and presented the typical montonous historical perspectives of the city in a fun and interactive manner. The free laundry service, included breakfast, spacious rooms, free wifi internet, and great all around service makes me say this has been one of the best hostels I have stayed at yet!

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The staff are friendly, calm and helpful.
They give a tangible 'at home' feel to the place.
They work hard to make sure it is clean and tidy.
The room was light, clean and airy. it was not too noisy.
It was easy to relax here.
There's alot of extra things that you can get free, like tours, socialising, internet.
There are many nice touches that you just would not expect to see at that price.
I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I've been to several hostels in Lisbon since I need to visit it regularly and Home is definitely the best hostel I've stayed at so far! Its just very cosy and friendly, one definitely feels like being home with friends.

Its also very centrally located so what more can you ask?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manolopinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Do:
Definitely go out with the staff.
Go for the staff recommendations on bars and restaurants.

Don't:
Make sure not to make any noise when you get in late as some maybe a sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThilinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodmorning Hostel
Goodmorning Hostel
#6 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Lisbon Hostel

Property: Home Lisbon Hostel
Address: Rua de Sao Nicolau 13 2 Esq., Lisbon 1100-547, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Easy Hostel)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located in Lisbons historic center with the main attractions within walking distance. We provide a great atmosphere and many activities, like walking tours, pub crawls and the very famous Mammas Dinners where you can easily meet many people and socialize even if travelling alone. In a 200 year old building we have a lovely comfortable living room, a dinning room with a bar, a great kitchen, a patio and most importantly, great beds in spacious rooms, all with balconies or big windows. We provide big lockers to keep your valuables. Come experience our unique atmosphere and discover Lisbon with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Home Lisbon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing