We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“historic area fabulous ambiance steep walks but a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom details
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom details
The Master Bedroom The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Bedroom details
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bedroom details
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
View
Living Room
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
L1100400.JPG
L1100410.JPG
L1100404.JPG
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Surrounding Area
Street
Surrounding Area
View
Surrounding Area
View
Surrounding Area
Street
Castelo
Street
details1
Surroundings
Street
Street
Grocery nearby
Castle Tower View
Picturesque neighbourhood
Living room
Street window view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
nod160
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“historic area fabulous ambiance steep walks but a lovely atomospheric apartment with so many little touches of kindness”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

this was a lovely place to stay.The owner has decorated it beautifully. It is in one of the most fabulous places you could ever stay, be ready for the uphill walks. The area is one of friendliness and connection with everyone helping each other out in this small community. the owner of the apartment is a delight, a wonderful sincere lady with a fabulous attitude . Her many small acts of kindness will not be foregotten by us from a welcoming imbibment and food to eat to a visit with us when we needed help about a matter. Her love of her city and area is infectious. I dare you not to like Lisboa and the Castle of St Jorge. The city has many wonderful places to visit and fabulour places to eat. Find a local eatery and join in with the locals for an authentic taste of lisboa, we did and loved it. Enjoy this city full of history and wonderful calm relaxed people. It has many interesting historical sites and monuments and an oceanarium and Zoo also. Its castel belies a city which was once at the heart of circumnavigation as can be found at the monument in their honour and in the nearby monastry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The feeling of being part of the community and place
Liked least: not a least but it is difficult to climb up the hill at times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duesseldorf, Germany
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
QveenB
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peacocks, and budgies, and cats. Oh, my!”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the beginning, our stay here was a wonderful experience. We arrived in Lisbon late, due to a TAP pilots' strike. Ana tracked our new flight so she would be ready to meet us at the apartment. The taxi driver did not take us all the way to the apartment, but dropped us at the nearby castle gates, so Ana walked there to meet us and show us the way. She gave us a warm welcome and told us lots of information about the area. We were also pleased and surprised to learn that she had left us some bread and some other food in the fridge, so that we were able to have refreshments after our long trip, as well as breakfast in the morning. That was wonderful!

The apartment is charming and comfortable. It is fairly small, but bigger than a hotel room, and it had everything we needed for our 5-night stay. There was good closet and storage space. The kitchen was well-supplied. The bed was very comfortable. The only thing that was not to my taste was that the bathroom was not as private as I'd like. A different window covering, or maybe a frosting spray on the window, would solve that. (This window is on the inside of the apartment, so it is viewed only by the other resident(s) of the suite, and it does have a curtain, but the curtain is a bit sheer when the light is on in the bathroom at night.) This is a very minor complaint, though.

The wifi was very good and fast, which is important to us.

We loved the location of the apartment. It is a very short distance to the castle gate and an easy walk to other sights (e.g. the Pantheon and Sé de Lisboa (church with Roman Ruins inside) and to transportation. We had the choice of trolley, bus, elevator, or walking to get up and down the hill.

We loved the peacocks, especially the one that regularly visited outside our kitchen window, the cats on the neighbouring windowsill, and the nearby lane filled with budgies in cages hung outside so the birds could have fresh air and twitter and visit with one another. We loved the sounds of the neighbourhood in the late afternoon, with everyone on the street or in their doorways or windows, visiting with one another as the children came home from school. Yet, at night, the neighbourhood was very quiet, and we slept well. The peacocks do call throughout the night. It did not disturb me, but my husband noticed it when he was awake with jet leg. If this would bother you, then bring earplugs. I loved hearing the peacocks and became used to it very quickly.

I highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The window in the bathroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S
Kleines Wiesental, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet, cosy and tastefully furnished place in an especially beautiful part of Lisbon”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were received very friendly, so we felt immediately fine and welcome. Our host gave us much information about Lisbon and she had already bought food for the first few days. Moreover she helped us to organize the taxi to the airport. We were very grateful that the beds were very comfortable which is not always usual.
The neighbourhood was quiet and we could sleep well.
The apartment is located near to all interesting parts of Lisbon: e.g.the Alfama with many restaurants or clubs where we could listen to Fado -and also the famous tram 28.
Thank you Ana

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trommelba...
Jena, Germany
1 review
“Charming and beautiful”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

The charming and beautiful apartment was located in one of the oldest parts of the city, inside the walls of the Castello St. Jorge. The apartment was one of the important things, which made our stay in Lisbon one of the most exciting trips done. Muito obrigado Ana!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad H
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Old World Lisbon”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed are short stay in Ana and Pierre's beautiful little apartment. It met our needs perfectly. Located just steps from the Castle walls and nestled within a quiet residential area with cobbled streets, it has lot's of restaurants within walking distance and exudes old world charm. It was amazing to wake up in the morning to the squeaking of the beautiful peacocks walking along the top of the castle wallsPierre was unbelievably helpful when we found out that the airline had lost some of our luggage. He made numerous calls for us and was invaluable in locating and arranging the logistics to get our bag delivered. As he said "you two go and enjoy your day and the sights of Lisbon, I'll look after your lost bag" ... and he did! I would highly recommend this little gem for a couple looking for an extremely week priced romantic getaway and a "home base" to venture from to experience the amazing sights, sounds and food of Lisbon.

Make sure you get directions from Ana or Pierre to the apartment. Our taxi dropped us off at the entrance to the castle (which a seemed customary) and although the apartment is only 100M from there, it was a bit confusing to find the first time. Thankfully, Pierre was looking for 2 travel weary Canadians, and found us!

PS. the little cafe right beside the street level door to the apartment offered amazing salads and sandwiches and very yummy Sangria...sitting under the tree along the castle wall and taking in everyday life in old Lisbon was very memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: amazing location, old world charm, short (downhill one way haha) walk to the Blaxa, cable cars, restaurants, Fado Bars. Amazing vies from St Jorge Castle
Liked least: nothing...it was a great experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing