We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This!”

Jeronimos Monastery
Ranked #3 of 501 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: No expense was spared when they built this masterpiece of Manueline and Gothic architecture in 1502, which was inspired by Vasco da Gama who is buried here with other great navigators of the past.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

If you only have time for a couple of things in Lisbon, don't miss this one. Easy to get to independently on Tram 15E, and try to get there early before the bus tours arrive.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"vasco da gama"
in 381 reviews
"manueline architecture"
in 112 reviews
"belem tower"
in 305 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 206 reviews
"combined ticket"
in 87 reviews
"maritime museum"
in 89 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 110 reviews
"free entry"
in 90 reviews
"great architecture"
in 75 reviews
"long queue"
in 114 reviews
"lisbon card"
in 116 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 241 reviews
"pasteis de belem"
in 76 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 81 reviews
"portuguese history"
in 88 reviews
"visiting lisbon"
in 72 reviews
"timeline"
in 132 reviews
Filter

1,041 - 1,045 of 25,837 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We started off early to be in front if the ticket counter and were not the first. The ticket counter opens at 10. The church visit is free and the monastery costs entrance fee. The waiting was more then worthwile. The scene is breathtaking. If you come to Lisbon this is a must.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Susimaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The exterior is huge and very impressive. The monastery itself from inside is not very impressive. We were very interested in seeing Vasco de Gama's Burial place and that was our main reason to visit this place

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank LetsTravel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This place has super high ratings.
All tourists go here.
Why?
Crazy lines to ho in.
Takes 15 mins to finish looking.
10 euro is entry fee...
Completely a waste of time..
Please avoid.
The Church is free and beautiful indeed..
Portugal survives on tourist and museum money... Sad indeed...
Bhagwan

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Bhagwan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We wanted in line for 20 mins, then police officer said line is closed just in front of us. It was only 1415. We stayed around the area to find out it was closing for 2 hours for some ambassador. We got back in line around 1630 and got tics at 1650; they threaten to stop selling tics at 1700. Went thru quickly and then to church . They kicked us out of church starting at 1715, so they can close by 1730. The customer service was awful. When we were buying tickets they questioned my daughter student discount. She is 17 and was in line. So I didn’t have her if with me. Customer service was poor all around for us

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jeronimos Monastery also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Jeronimos Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing