We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$186
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$186
US$149
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
US$107
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$89
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel(Lisbon)
US$185
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$278
US$228
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,131)
Filter reviews
3,131 results
Traveller rating
2,515
499
90
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,515
499
90
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand old hoteltrain stationbeautiful hoteljunior suitepublic roomsclassic hotelthe location is perfectthe hotel websiteconcierge staffbreakfast buffetsitting roomfive star hotelbeautiful roomthree nightsrossio squarefresh fruitwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,858 - 1,863 of 3,131 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel was fabulous and the staff excellent. Especially the bar tender and evening concierge.The concierge led us to some truly great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel was clean, breakfast was varied and done well. The grand staircases made me want put on a ball gown and walk down them. Definitely will stay again, next time I am in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RENATA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will share your kind remarks with our team.
We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the fabulous Hotel Avenida Palace. Beautiful interiors, wonderful service, and the best possible location for walking everywhere. The avenue was alive at nearly all hours, and it felt like a safe place. The Rossio train station, also a beautiful old complex, is directly next door to the hotel.

Our double room included breakfast, which was served in elegant style, featuring an extensive hot and cold buffet, replenished frequently in the most gorgeous dining room: proscuitto, scrambled eggs, fresh crepes put out every few minutes, plus fruit salads, juices, yoghurt, sliced beef and cheese-- you name it. It was heaven, to start out days with such a great breakfast which basically kept us full till evening. (Our rate at the Avenida Palace was just 143EU, including breakfast. I had reserved several weeks in advance, with no-penalty cancellation and payment upon departure.)

We arrived from the States at 10:00am at the Avenida Palace, expecting to store luggage and wait the painful several hours before getting our room. But-- wonderful surprise-- the hotel had prepared our room for an early arrival and let us in immediately. Our first introduction to the amazing hospitality of this hotel and Lisbon!

The first afternoon, we were delighted to find an international bike race was taking place directly under our hotel window. We walked down front of the hotel at the Avenue and watched the bikers fly by on the cobble-stone streets.

Another thing we liked about the Avenida Palace-- on the third floor landing, there is a pretty sitting area with a free 'lending library'. The hotel staff must collect lost books and put them in this nice area for people to take. There were a few Fodor's and other brands of Portugal and Lisbon tour books. Great idea. We did not pack our thick Portugal book, so we borrowed theirs.

We highly recommend this hotel to our friends, and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mebrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. You recognition is very much appreciated and a true source of motivation.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2012

In the 1970's I stayed at Avenida Palace. At the time it was the best hotel in Lisbon. Elegant, great service, clean and very special due to the fact that there weren't many good hotels in Lisbon. I go to Portugal every year and had decided to try different hotels in different areas of Lisbon over the years. In July I returned to Avenida Palace after 40 years not knowing what to expect. To my surprise it is even better. One feels very special upon arriving. Are they extremely gushy and phony when you arrive? No. They are plain and simply professional and intend to make their guests happy in any way they can. The Room I stayed in was on the first floor and even though I was over the subway, it was not noisy and I was able to sleep. The room itself was beautifully decorated and reminded me of days gone by. I cannot emphasize how clean the room was. The bathroom has nice amenities, a lot of towels and it is sparkling clean! I am very fussy about that in a hotel and believe me it was immaculate. The bar offers a small lunch menu and it was surprisingly delicious. The evening I stayed there they had a young man playing the piano in the gorgeous lobby . Piano and a Port wine and I was in heaven! The included breakfast was out of this world. Other hotels also offer this included breakfast but not as good as the Avenida. Theirs was fresh, plentiful, and in a room like you have never seen. I felt like I was in a movie and the Queen was about to enter the room. Service at breakfast was attentive and quick. Seriously, I can't say enough about this gorgeous gem. Even the location was fantastic. Near shopping and restaurants. In the center of Lisboa. If you go to Lisbon and have a little extra money to spend on a wonderful experience then you must stay at this hotel. You won't be disappointed. Keep one thing in mind, they don't have a restaurant but there are so many around the hotel that it is not a problem. I will not be staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: A higher floor would be better if the slightest noise bothers you.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for returning to the Avenida Palace after all this years and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.
It was also a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. It would be a great honor if you would consider the Avenida Palace your home in Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The old style architecture and atmosphere is very well preserved. The location is excellent in the centre of Lisbon. The rooms are quiet and clean and the service personnel is very friendly. The breakfast is very good as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chriskoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace. We also would like to thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations. We pledge to provide refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.
The fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters is also very much appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit to the Avenida Palace.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Perfect location for walking Lisbon. The very positive reviews I read before my stay were completely justified. I highly recommend and would return. Comfortable room with nice amenities. Friendly staff. More pluses include the free internet wi fi and free business center including free printing.
Very good breakfast.Convenient Starbucks in front if you want to feel home.

Room Tip: Room with nice view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews