We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Our stay in the Avenida Palace hotel in Lisbon was nothing short of magical. This is the place to go to experience first class old world elegance. Their renovation is very well done preserving the 19th century look and feeling. High ceilings, marble floors in the hallways inlaid with custom carpets. While we were there they had a series of free concerts in a large and stunning room. Our favorite was the fado night. We experienced the best of the singers without having to leave our cozy home in the hotel. Everyone we dealt with is both proud to be associated with this hotel and kind and helpful. Breakfast is served in a beautiful room, and is a large assortment of everything you could want. They bake their own delicious rolls, which were still warm from the oven. You will have a wonderful and relaxing stay at an excellent price for such luxury..

Room Tip: We were a family of three traveling together and we had a junior suite. This worked very well for us...
Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank belinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace. We were truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

We were also very pleased to know that you had the opportunity to attend our Christmas Program.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you and your family again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,770)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 2,770 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

We knew our stay here would be perfect as soon as we arrived and a very friendly staff opened glass doors to the most opulent and beautiful lobby we have seen in our travels.

We spent a few very relaxing days here and the ambience of the hotel added to the magic of Lisbon.

This hotel is so beautiful, we loved looking around at the elegant furnishings. The rooms are so beautifully decorated.

The location is perfect, central and within walking distance of transport and some great sights.

We traveled throughout Europe staying in many hotels but the Avenida Palace was outstanding and a hotel we will remember for a very very long time.

I really hope we get to stay again, we recommend it to anyone we know traveling to the amazing country of Portugal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these wonderful words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have valued our décor, ambience and location.
It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

Your kind words will be a great source of motivation to the entire staff.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Palace hotel is a classy, clean and luxurious hotel staffed by great people. Everyone was extremely helpful and kind. Loved breakfast too. One particular doorman was extremely amazing and very helpful! Of note, is located near lots of attractions and public transportation.
Highly recommend you stay there.

7  Thank Aura L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.
I was extremely pleased to read your kind comments on our facilities and staff.

Personalized service is very important to us and your comments will be a great source of motivation to the entire staff.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 January 2013

First class service, the hotel is traditional in style and the communal areas are lovely. Breakfast was super with a wide variety of choice. The room are well appointed and comfortable but the bathrooms do need modernising to match a hotel of this star rating. Good location to walk to most sights and access to trams and buses for those wanting to go further afield.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2012Peggy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to leave your kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our location and services. We will share your kind remarks with them.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed for several days & found it delightful. Great location, near Alto Barrio (sp?) next door to train station with train to Sintra (a must see), metro right there, and a really beautiful hotel. Old world elegant, lovely room, not large, but view of street, hills, castle, lovely furnishings, high ceilings, all the amenities. Breakfast included and a sumptuous international buffet for all tastes. The meal lasted us until dinner. Health facilities small, but adequate. Great ambience, location and breakfast...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank qstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our facilities and services and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

With a prime location in the very centre of Lisbon, this Hotel, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, as one can see on our prize-winning website, is a symbol of our great city.

We hope to have the great honor of welcoming you in a near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Well decorated, plush hotel with great service. Furniture in the rooms is antique like which looks great. Breakfast was included and good variety on offer. Location is central and not loud. Car parking available.

Room Tip: Remember a free bottle of wine by using the voucher on this site, although I was given a mini bottle...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KDavies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once more at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent three nights in total at the Avenida Palace. Two nights initially and then one night a week later at the end of our tour of southern Spain and Portugal. With three large teenage children we reserved two rooms, one junior suite and one regular room. On arrival in the morning (Christmas day) we were pleased to find the rooms were ready as we were all tired from flying overnight from New York. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel had an old world but smart and well maintained feel. Unfortunately our suite's bathroom had a musty smell of drains that would not go away and for the second night we were moved to another room, although it only had two single beds. On checking out the management gave us a modest discount and promised we would have a room without any odor problems on our return.
They certainly lived up to that promise. When we checked in again a week later, the receptionist told us both rooms had been upgraded so the children got a junior suite and my wife and I had the amazing experience of staying in the presidential suite, with 20ft ceilings and lavish decor. It was a great way to end our vacation and while we spent a good deal of money overall on our stay at Avenida, the hotel made us feel special. If you are looking for a classy, old school hotel with good service the Avenida Palace is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnMcC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Personalized service is also very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. The fact that you found our staff pleasant and helpful will be a great source of motivation to them.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once more at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
603 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 253 in Lisbon
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,558 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $212 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing