We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel and its staff are near perfection.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The service was impeccable. The rooms beautifully appointed, spacious and clean. The double glazing on the windows keeps the rooms absolutely quiet, which is remarkable because of the traffic outside, in this central location. Walking into the hotel off the busy street is like finding a beautiful cool oasis. The breakfast was excellent and the staff cordial and helpful. This is one of the best values I have experienced and I travel frequently. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants luxury in a perfectly central city setting.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnemarieMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,773)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2009

Visited Lisbon for the first time to celebrate a significant anniversary. Saw this hotel on Trip Advisor and decided it was just the ticket for our 5 day city break.

Arrived at 11:00 am three hours early due to an early morning flight, intending to drop our bags off and get some sight seeing done. But, room was already ready and we were checked in immediately. Room was great, a double aspect view, large bedroom, internal lobby and bathroom. Manager sent up a free bottle of champagne to kick the celebrations off - so we did, at 11:10 on a Sunday morning.

Location is ideal. Right next door is the Rossio main railway line (€3.40 return to fairy tale Sintra with its fantastic Palaces and Morrish Castle, trains leave every 20 mins), in front of the hotel is the Restauradores Metro stop (€1.30 takes you to nearly every stop on the Metro). Two stops on the Metro is the Cais do Sodré railway line(A 40 min train journey from here is the beautiful resort of Cascais - go if you have time).

From the hotel, across the Praca Dom Pedro square is the matrix of shops called the Baxia. Excellent for tailoring and leather goods. Also, in the evening to get to the restaurants, bars and experience Fado music in the exciting Bairro Alto area (on a hill behind the hotel), walk a hundred metres up the Avenue da Liberdade and jump on the Glória Elevator - an electric tram which deposits you at bar level ready to hit the town.

Meanwhile, the Avenida Palace Hotel is a quiet oasis in the centre of all the main Lisbon attractions. There are plently of pictures on other reviews - the hotel is as glorious as shown and we could not see any wear and tear.

Breakfast is excellent, and all the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly.

Only two small moans - Firstly, there was no complementary coffee/tea/water in the room. To off set this room service was quick and reasonable (€12 for tea and cakes for two) and the mini bar was well stocked, but at the usual mini bar prices.

Secondly, the bar was a little quiet and I would have liked to seen a pianist one evening in the lobby/bar, just to help the pre/post dinner drinks go down smoothly.

We really liked Lisbon, try dinner in San Pedro Alcántara restaurant (Bairro Alto), ask for a window seat looking out over Lisbon rooftops towards the Castle of Sáo Jorge. Enjoy a good Argentinian steak whist watching the sun set over this great little city.

P.S. - Street beggars and hawkers are everywhere - but be polite, say no and don't get engaged in conversation, they quickly move on.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airfix61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Beautiful! The location could not be better. You can walk to any of the "turist" sites of Lisbon. If you enjoy history this hotel has it! Very elegant, the hotel still has the charm and elegance of a bygone era without looking dated. It is old but definately not "worn out". The rooms are huge and very comfortable with small detail like piped in classical music (you can turn it off) which make a difference. Very good breaksfast and very attentive staff. Talk to the concierge and they will give you some excellent options and inside knowledge of restaurants, Fado houses, and tours to ear by places.
The hotel, the rooms, the staff, the location, and the decor definately rate a 5 star!
I had a view of the main street but the room was perfectly silent when the windows were closed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Have been to Lisbon a number of times. Had passed this hotel and thought that it would be a good location. Was going anyway so thought the low price offered might not be repeated!

Unknowingly we arrived on a festival night. By chance I asked for some information at the Airport. The information lady told me "that I would not be able to get to the hotel" as all the roads would be closed for parades. On discussion she advised taxi to a metro station and then the underground. The trains were busy with revellers but we made it.

On arrival The receptionist wondered if I had difficulty getting in. I suggested that as they had emailed me in advance welcoming me the email could have usefully mentioned the transport problems. Taxis and Airport bus not being a able to access. Didn't get much of a comment although he did tell me that the restaurants and bars would be open all night and this was the only day of the year this happened!

Our room was a small suite with a separate lounge area. The furniture was old fashioned but fine. We had a view of the parades.

Breakfast, included, was much better on the second day. A bit erratic on day 1 possibly due to less guests.

The service and the staff in general were a credit.

The location is great. I have been to Lisbon a number of times and whilst there is an amount of begging etc it is no worse than Barcelona where I have been mugged. Admittedly a friend was mugged on a previous trip to Lisbon but he wasn't very sensible and it was very late. Neither of these incidents would stop me going back to either place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

The Avenida Palace is magical. The public areas are from another grand era. It is as if you are royalty as you wander around the hotel. The decor and furnishings are to be absorbed as you read the paper in the magnificent lobby, have breakfast in the elegant 2nd floor reception room or descend the winding stairwell. The staff are helpful and friendly. Our room faced the street between two lovely squares. Best of all, the location is ideal. In the very heart of Lisbon yet next door to the restored train station to Sintra, it is perfect for sightseeing, shopping and dining. I am already plotting our next stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Everything in this hotle suit the needs of a traveller who wants to be in a beautiful environement ! Furniture, paintings, walls : veruthing is perfectly fitting what you culd expect of such a Palace.

Above all, its personnel is very attentive.
And no comment about the perfect location !
We ll be back !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accbParis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We could not fault the hotel, it is fantastic, a beautiful hotel with excellent service. Clean and well kept rooms. Good breakfast and a great location. However, the problem arises once you leave the hotel, not too bad during the day, but when you go out on an evening you are met by large groups of immigrants, which is quite intimidating. also there is a constant stream of beggars and people trying to sell things to you, even when you are eating in a restaurant. We had 7 rose sellers one after the other while we trying to eat a meal, the restaurant owners did not ask them to leave and allowed them to keep pestering the customers. the only place we found that they didn't come into was the Hard rock cafe situated near to the hotel. the food there is very good and it was nice to eat without being disturbed every few minuets. I loved the hotel, i liked what I saw of lisbon, but I do not like the gangs on street corners or the being pestered every minute. Until these things are sorted out I won't be coming back to lisbon, and I can't in good consience tell anyone else to go. I can recommend the hotel but not lisbon

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 253 in Lisbon
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $215 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing