We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The Hotel Avenida Palace is ideally located for exploring Lisbon and beyond. It is right next to the main train station, and there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. The bus lines are close enough to walk to also.
We had the only room on the 3rd floor. It was an 'in between' floor, where the windows were very low. A little odd, but since we didn't spend much time in the room, it was ok. The bed was comfortable, and everything was clean.
A buffet breakfast was available every morning, with a variety of fresh fruits, cheeses and meats, breads, sweets, and typical Portuguese dishes.
Overall, I would recommend this for the location, comfort, and breakfast.

Room Tip: stay away from the 3rd floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spizza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the excellent rating on TripAdvisor and for writing such a kind review.

It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and to read your kind words about our location and also our buffet breakfast.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history, is a symbol of the city.

I look forward to welcoming you again, very soon, to your new Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 2,873 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

Everything about this hotel is excellent, including the level of service from wonderful staff, the large rooms with high ceilings and fabulous balconies (we had our own flag pole!) and the evening piano recitals in a terrific lounge.

Room Tip: Select street view with balcony. The sound proofing of the windows is excellent so no street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susinwestvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

I was very pleased with your feedback about your experience at the Avenida Palace and I thank you for that.

We do our best every day to offer an unforgettable stay to our guests and give them a feel of home away from home so, I felt so proud to know that we lived up to your expectations and that you spent a memorable stay with us.

It would be an immense pleasure to welcome you again, soon, at the Avenida Palace.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Warmest regards from Lisbon,
Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Loved everything about this hotel. It’s location is perfect for walks to most sites. Very close to railway and underground transportation. Wonderful breakfast with attentive staff. Rooms were more than adequate.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for your rewarding comments about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to know that you loved everything about our hotel.

Thank you also for your kind words about our location and about our breakfast, which you found to be wonderful.

It will be a pleasure to share your comments with all our team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

My best regards,
Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely old hotel perfectly located an easy walk from all central areas(bairro alto, castle district, chiado, alfama, rossio). Décor may be old fashioned for some but was ideally suited for an old palace. Bar and lounge very pleasant for a relaxing drink and reasonably priced for a hotel bar. Rooms good but bathrooms slightly small - certainly no room for 2 to be in at the same time. Breakfast room beautiful and buffet breakfast spot on. Staff excellent.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to leave your kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to know how pleased you were with our location and our décor.

We were also delighted to know that you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy our lounge and bar.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I would most certainly choose to stay in this fine hotel when we next visit Lisbon. Most pleasant and professional and helpful staff; beautiful surroundings and decor; extremely comfortable beds; spotlessly clean everywhere; great concierge and reception service.....and fabulous breakfasts into the bargain - lovely to see the pasteis de nata for breakfast, together with a great choice of other breakfast items. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Street-view is fine
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that one of the highlights of your experience was our breakfast buffet and our "pastéis de nata".

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and I am thrilled that our service was up to your expectations.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so, I hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace, in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely
Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

The Hotel was immaculate, the staff well informed and helpful, the meals splendid. Our room was one of the largest we have stayed in and included touches like two chairs instead of the usual one, and two suitcase stands. The room decor was consistent with the 1892 date of the hotel without being contrived. It also had the best lighting I have ever found in a hotel room. We asked the Concierge several times for information on attractions and the best way to reach them by public transport: every time the information was concise and accurate.

This will be our Lisbon hotel from now on, and we have recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: For a city view, ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your stay at the Avenida Palace. It was a pleasure to read these lovely words about our hotel and its décor.

We try our utmost every day to satisfy and even exceed our guests’ expectations and so, we are very pleased to know how pleased you were with our service.

Your enthusiasm is a great source of motivation and I will certainly not miss passing your comments to the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you again, very soon, to your new Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

At check in we got as a nice surprise an upgrade to a junior suite. Amazing! A spacious room, very nicely decorated.sone grapes as a heartily welcome.
Breakfast is delicious. Lots of choices and a very friendly staff, all very good in their job.
The “office” at the first floor us ideal for printing out your boarding pass or for whatever office need you might have, internet in the hotel (free wifi) is fast by the way.
Because of Halloween we got a nice surprise in our room (chocolate pumpkin); we loved this attention!
The hotel us ideally located. The Rossio square is just around rhe cirner. Lots of nice restaurants, and in about 10 minutes you walk to the Praca do Comercio
I really recommend this hotel!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank SufiWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Guest,

It was an honor to have you as our guest. I am thrilled to read your feedback on the Avenida Palace.

I really loved reading your review and am delighted with your kind words about our services and staff. It was a pleasure to read that you found our breakfast delicious and that you appreciated our Halloween surprise.

I look forward to welcoming you again, very soon, to your new Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,
Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $215 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing