We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I chose the Lapa Palace base on other TA reviews. I was looking for a hotel with class and character and we were not disappointed. All the hotel staff we came across were exceptionally professional and friendly. The entrance to the hotel is beautiful and the bedrooms are a bit chintzy, but in a classy and pretty way, the bathroom was amazing! All areas of the hotel were spotless. The leisure facilities were good, the outside pool a bonus as the weather was un-expectantly warm and sunny.
We ate at the restaurant one evening, it was very quiet however the food was delicious, a bit expensive but worth it for a memorable treat.
We really loved the Lapa Palace and would definitely return if in Lisbon again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    141
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
205
488
28
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Truly wonderful rooms, surroundings, views and service. I would also recommend it with children, families, couples and for business. Very competent personnel and very friendly and helpful. Got all the recommendations and instructions I needed. Personnel helped sort out problems. Everything was perfect.

I was also there earlier than expected and left later - this was not a problem. When arrived room was ready and when left later than expected - everything was friendly, organised perfectly.

I will surely be back. And recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VVVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We Stayed at the Lapa Palace for a long weekend in March.

The room and bathroom was spotless.. the best power shower ever.. We have stayed in Mandarin Oriental Hotels around the world.. Although the style of the Lapa is a bit chintzy..The Room and bathroom and service is of comparable quality.

Breakfast was excellent, Staff excellent, It is a proper 5 star Hotel.
The centre of Lisbon is a short 6 euro taxi ride away..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markburrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Lapa Palace is a lovely luxury hotel that for me evoked the 80's. While the hotel is old and grand, most of it feels about as old as the mansion at turtle creek in Dallas—not a bad thing. My suite was in one of the more recently built wings and had a nice view of the pool and river.

When booking my hotel in Lisbon I had been torn between the Lapa Palace and the Four Seasons Ritz. I went to the Four Seasons for lunch and looked at their spa and a gust room. While the Lapa Palace felt soft and pink and 80's, the Four Seasons is wonderfully 50's/60's—thrilling if you enjoy Man Men. Both hotels have excellent service and food, although I'd say the Four Seasons has the edge. Are you looking for central 60's glamour or residential 80's lux? Both are wonderful--I can't wait to return to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
641 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

After not having stayed here for a number of years, it was good to be back at the Lapa. The hotel was very quiet (a mixture of economic times and it being January), but we were given 2 upgraded river view rooms, which were fabulous. After some AC problems were sorted out, the stay was really good, helped by unseasonally wonderful weather. i found the staff extremely helpful (although my daughter found them chauvanistic, but that is cultural to the region), and the food, room service etc was excellent. The indoor pool (too cold for the lovely outdoor one) and the small gym are excellent.
As said, good to be back.

Room Tip: river view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limeira, SP
Level Contributor
255 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is a incredible hotel with a very good room service and excellent concierges! The room view is amazing, I could see the Tejo river very clear. The food is very good to and the most particular thing was the pianist, playing brazilian musics! That was perfect to have some drink's at the lounge bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FCBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Spent a long weeend here and had a great time. Staff were top notch , so attentive and helpful. Were actually up graded which was a lovely touch.
Yes it was a little out of the way but a few euros by taxi had you downtwn in no time.
Had a brilliant meal at 100 Manieras, also had great al fresco lunch down at the marina, stop 18 on the yellow tourist bus. The prawns were to die for. Have been to a lot of good hotels and this one is up there with the best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArgyllLynn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing