We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
100
107
45
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
107
45
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews former convent charming small hotel real lisbon no elevator restaurant staff hotel lobby city centre lovely room three nights quiet street superior room yogurt santos monestary neighborhood euros taxi
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 282 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately the area around York House is being renovated and there is rubbish and graffiti and building going on all around. There is steep uneven steps up to the hotel and a "strong man" comes to carry your bags. Up top is a lovely terrace where you can relax and have snacks or drinks and beautiful meals. The staff are always helpful and deserve much praise. I found the room a small for a 4 star hotel but there is a nice lounge and free port and delicious custard tarts. The cleaning service is very good.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

For sure a great past and it could still be a fantastic place , but it would require the intervention of some smart interior decorator in order to give a new and fancier look .
The location is quite interesting . It is an area of Lisbon not very central but which is rapidly coming back up .
Several new things around like LX factory , Ribeiro market , new fancy buildings and a great museum next door
The York House deserves to restore its old glory .
Management is , at the end , quite friendly , but they need to be understood . First impression it is not necessarily very warm.
Rooms have everything you need . They have been recently half redecorated but something is missing . Nothing to give you the feeling of an interesting place as you nowadays like to experience .

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank cesare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2016

Within easy walking distance to downtown, River Ferry and Train to Cascais and Estoril. Good Choice to have a Calm and beautiful Place to relax. Very friendly staff and very well done restauration of the old monestary.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainer645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2016

Old style hotel with lots of charm. Facilities are basic but very adequate. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are small but comfortable with all basic facilities.There are quite a few stairs to be climbed from the street and then to the room.WiFi is free which is great. Overall I would recmmend this hotel

Room Tip: 405 overlooks the courtyard
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beahive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2016

This hotel is full of charm in every corner. From the entrance at street level you have to walk a number of stairs surrounded by flowers and trees before you reach the courtyard terrace and the entrance to the reception. Once their you get a friendly welcome. Check-in was fast and efficient, and without asking, my bag was brought to my room while guiding my way up the stairs and through the corridors. That was very helpful, as the layout may seem confusing at first. The room I got was rather dark with only one small window, but a charming, old interior. The room was very quiet and sleeping quality good. The bathroom was old style, with bathtub and bidet, everything functioning well, but with the minus that it was smelling sewer, probably because the room had not been used for a long time. After staying there for two nights and using the bathroom, the smell was reduced, indicating the smell was caused by dry drains. The room had a small TV set and a free wifi that functioned well. Small bottles of water were provided free of charge, but no minibar. In the lobby area you could relax in a nice atmosphere, browsing magazines or using the computer. The breakfast buffet was excellent with scrambled eggs and bacon or susages, plus a selection of bread, cheese, pastry, etc. I can imagine the summertime is good for having breakfast in the outdoor courtyard. As my flight was early Saturday morning, the receptionist helped my book a taxi, and as breakfast was included, she insisted serving it although it would be one hour before regular breakfast time! And indeed, in the morning, everything was ready for me. I had checked out the night before, so I could just leave this hotel that to me was like a home with very friendly staff. To be recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Torger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews