We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
3
12
3
4
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
3
4
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2014

Don't be fooled by the photos on bookings.com or the good rating that this place has. It is absolutely filthy and covered in mould with a foul smell that hits you as soon as you open the front door. After travelling around Europe for 3 months and staying in all kinds of accommodation, this place was by far the worst. It is revolting and I really can't find one nice thing to say about it.
The location is not good and too far from any attraction, the area that it is located is horrible. The apartment has no natural light, the furnishing are old and stained with who knows what. The sheets were covered in hair, the towels stank, the floors were dirty, the walls cracked and badly marked. We couldn't even stay here, we had to book elsewhere at our own cost. The owners of this place should be ashamed of themselves!!

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teganandashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2014

On the plus-side:
- To open the doors you can use a keypad with lockercode. This is really convenient if you stay with multiple guests (everyone who knows the code can access the house and no key is needed).
- Overall, it has everything you might need (a kitchen with tools etc).
- Metrostation Baixa-Chiado is a 15 minute walk.
- From Lisboa Airport to the location by taxi costs about 9 euro's.

On the downside:
- We had one room (2 beds) and a sleeping couch. It was impossible to sleep on the couch due to noise from the surroundings (street). Appartment was not equipped for three persons.
- The WIFI only works in the main room, not in the kitchen/bathroome etc. It's an unstable connection and sometimes it doesn't work for hours.
- Really humid with mold in several places; not good for your health.
- Nice place, but not really woman-friendly. Because Taxidrivers can't reach R. do Vale you need to meet them some place else. One of use walked for 5 min (at 6:30 A.M.) and got harrassed by locals multiple times.
- Noise, noise, noise, noise.... this appartment is not suitable for the light sleeper.

Tips:
- Taxidrivers can't find the location. Ask them to meet you at the adjacent street (Calcada do Combro 82, in front of the Ygreja de Santa Catarina). Everyone knows this place.
- Even in the middle of the night, it is not necessary to book a taxi in advance. There are a lot of taxis during the day and night! If you do want to book in advance (like I did), I would advice doing so by yattaxi (English speaking taxi driver, who knows the place!).
- Metro Baixa-Chiado is a 15 minute (uphill!) walk.
- It is not uncommon for the Metro personel to have a one day strike, so be prepared in advance!
- Near the Metro station Baixa-Chiado is a little restaurant called To.Be. (nice and cheap).
- in the main street C. do Combro (Calhariz) is a supermarket that closes at 22 pm.
- In the same street is a trendy bar located on the highest level of the parking building. Just take the elevator or stairs to the top floor and simply be amazed.

Room Tip: If you book an appartment with one room (=2 beds), there is no place for a third person (even if the website states that you can upgrade for one extra person). We stayed on the first floor, really noisy!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Passerby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2014

We booked and paid through Expedia to stay here August 6 - 9, 2014. It was so awful that we couldn't stay there for even one night. We ended up staying in another hotel at our own expense, not knowing whether we could get our money back for this Bairro Alto place at all.
First of all, it isn't close to the airport as advertised: we drove for miles and miles to get there. It is farther away from the airport than nearly every other hotel in Lisbon. The cab driver had no idea where the address was, and had to phone to get lengthy directions.
Next, we thought there must be some horrible mistake in our booking. The place is at the top of a garbage-strewn street that is so narrow and steep that a car can't drive on it. The rusty front door to the apartments leaves an 8-inch gap between it and the top step that it should have contacted. When you get inside via a lock-box that is several inches overhead, there are two extremely long, steep, dark, and narrow staircases to climb up (not mentioned in their advertisement) before you get to the apartment. Once inside, the furniture looks like it came from a low-class flea market (some of it was obviously previously broken and nailed back together using unpainted bits of wood), there are gaps in the floorboards up to an inch or so wide, the rug in the living room is filthy, there is a layer of dirt on all the floor moldings, and so on and on and on. We saw absolutely nothing that would say that this is a 4-star place as advertised.
There is no wine, no friendly staff (there are no staff on site at all), no on-site store, no massages, etc., etc., like I saw people mention in reviews of this place. It looks nothing like the pictures at all.
It took me over a month to get all my money back from Expedia, but I finally got it.

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GuelphValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We are two couples who booked (through booking.com) a two bedroom/two bathroom (with terrace) apartment with Check In Lisbon apartments for the new year period. We made our booking as early as September 2013. We printed out our confimation email and everything seemed fine and we were really looking forward to our little holiday. Six days before our holiday I sent an email to CheckIN apartments to inform them of our time of arrival so that someone would meet us to give us the keys once we arrive at the apartment in 17 Rua do Vale.

Much to our dismay this is the reply I received:

"First of all thank you very much for your concern.
Unfortunatelly CheckinLisbon Apartments doesn't have very good news for you. Due to a mistake in our system we were only informed about your reservation, this morning through your email.Your reservation is in overbooking with another one m,ade previously to yours.As this is our mistake, we called booking.com to help us with this issue so the demage can be minimum to all: You, CheckinLisbon and booking.com......."

To cut a long story short - we lost our two bedroom/two bathroom apartment + terrace in the Bairro Alto area of Lisbon which we had booked more than 3 months before and which was confirmed to us. We were offered many alternatives but they always fell short of our requirements. So as not to end up without a roof over our heads we had to go for 3 star hotel in a completely different area (Baixa) and this really left us sore about the whole thing.

Book an apartment here at your own risk.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Afrodeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2013

we stayed in the apartment for 4 days. we enjoyed every minute of it!!
The rooms were very big, comfortable and clean. good location, very close to the center but in a quiet area, and the staff were very friendly.
we highly recomend this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maytalmizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews