We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They could offer free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Ranked #87 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Helsinki
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“They could offer free wifi”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Clarion Suites hotel in Lisbon - if one books a few months in advance - can be a great value for money. It is not exactly a budget but it is certainly not an expensive hotel. With my partner we have been staying at Clarion Suites 4 out of our 6 visits to Lisbon in the last maybe 5 years. The suites are quite fine, the location is great, and the staff is ... ok. A few of the receptionists could be a bit more pleasant and not make guests sometimes feel like a burden but anyway the service is decent. During one of our stays the air condition in our suite leaked and we had to wait 2-3 days until they managed to sort the problem out ... but such accidents may occur from time to time. What we find irritating after our 4 stays in Clarion Suites in Lisbon is their ancient perception of IT. For the rates they charge they could easily have installed, for years already, free wifi internet access for all their guests. Instead they prefer (at least until two years ago) to have an old slow PC in the lounge and overcharging for a slow internet connection. A few times we have been trying to do online check-in for our flights and it was not possible because there was no printer connection or there were technical problems. After a few stays already at Clarion Suites I must say that my feeling is that the management doesn't care much to maintain high standards for their guests/customers' experience. The hotel needs updates but these are hard to see coming. Clarion Suites in Lisbon is ok but after a few times there it would be nice to see that the receptionists know that we are frequent customers and say a simple but warm "welcome back" and "see you again".
We recommend Clarion Suites but we would also recommend a few things as well to the management ... if they cared that is.

Room Tip: If you can, select rooms with terraces. They have placed only smoking suites on higher floors with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acuteobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    305
    75
    11
    9
See reviews for
264
170
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, England
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked this hotel on spec for a short break as it was close to the airport bus stop and a metro, the room had a fridge which we needed for storage of insulin and it was easy for a friend to meet with us. Having arrived early, they let us have the room straight away; great. The suite was large, well equipped and spotless, it overlooked the garden, was quiet and we slept well. Happy to go back, or recommend the hotel.
Staff only to happy to help and there's a super restaurant close by, Bocca.
Only downside is the charge to use the lobby PC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very well located, central yet quiet and close to public transportation, parking available if you have a car. Friendly staff. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the kitchenette is large enough that this hotel can qualify for self-catering accommodation. I loved the wooden floors instead of the usually unhygienic carpets found in hotel. I wish all hotels eliminated carpeting!!! There was a bad plumbing smell in the bathroom but it was taken care of promptly and efficiently. The dark tones of the decoration and the low wattage eco-bulbs made the rooms a bit dark yet perfectly bearable. There is a little outdoor pool area which must be very nice in season. As a family of four traveling to Lisbon several times per year, over the years, we have stayed in many charming self-catering apartments or at the Novotel which has good deals for families. Clarion Suites definitely beats the Novotel in terms of location and value for money. Clarion Suites also beats self-catering apartments because of the hotel infrastructure it offers, the size and price of the suite and the parking. If does not have the charm of an apartment but you can arrive and leave at your convenience without surcharges. There is a breakfast service which we did not use as there was a nice cafe 100m away. We also ate lots of yummy fruit bought at the traditional market place located 150m from the hotel. A small supermarket is also close by. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AlohaFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I really recommend this hotel. The price is right, excellent location. They upgraded our room and gave us a suite with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. It was actually too much space for two people, but made us feel as if we had our own apartament in Lisbon. A very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montse450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

excellent beds and conditions for sleep
big rooms with all the facilities for an excelent HOLYday on Christmas
friendly and helpfull staff at the hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HOLYdayIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I have stayed here whenever I am in Lisbon for family trips or business because the accomodation is very generously proportioned and extremely comfortable with an excellent price/quality ratio. It is not very well known so it is like a well kep secret! But it is in a fantastic location and the staff are very helpful. Don't look for extra amenities - like bar and restaurant etc. The value is all in the suites themselves...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zara48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The best part of staying at this aparthotel is that the rooms are unusually large for Europe. We were in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit. There was a full size fold out couch in the living room, which was opened and made up when we checked in. There is a dining table and service for 5. The kitchenette was "bare bones", with just a mini-fridge, microwave and 2 burners. The pool and surrounding area were clean and well-kept. There is a small restaurant, but we did not eat there.

It appears at first blush that the hotel is very far off the beaten path. But actually being on a side street means that it is pretty quiet at night. You can catch the train just about a block away--walk UP the hill to the station rather than down. It's much closer. You can catch the hop on-hop off bus Marquis de Pombal plaza which is a short walk away.

There's a small grocery store across the main road. It's perfect to stock the kitchen for breakfast and snacks. Make a left out of the hotel, and then a left and go half a block to a tiny restaurant (mid-block) which has terrific food at really reasonable prices.There is a McDonald's right across from the hotel.

The staff at the front desk was a "mixed bag." Some quite willing to make conversation and assist with plans and suggestions, others not so much. Overall, this was an excellent stay at a reasonable, spacious hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool in offseason. It was very quiet. I'm guessing it wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Justus5NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Altis Prime
#51 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Altis Suites
#99 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
VIP Executive Eden Aparthotel
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#133 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Lisbon

Property: Clarion Suites Lisbon
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca 44 50, Lisbon 1250-193, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#69 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#81 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Suites Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Lisbon
Lisbon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing