We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ranked #19 of 254 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Staff welcomes you with a smiling face and they are very nice people and helpful. Hotel is located really close to Tejo river, just 2 minutes by walking. General decoration and rooms are really nice and cute. We especially loved the cute balcony and the white big long window doors :). Breakfast is delicious especially If you have it with the window seat and amazing tejo river view. We loved this place and we are sure that we will be staying here longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Obakav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

We loved this place. They've done a great job renovating the building and its tastefully and sympathetically decorated. The room was beautiful (although slightly lacking in storage/hanging space for clothes), the hospitality was flawless, the breakfast delicious especially if you get the window seat with the view across the Tejo to the Cristo Rei statue.
The location is incredibly handy for transport and a short walk to Barrio Alto and Baixa / Chiado. Although not the smartest area we found it perfectly safe and it had a really nice atmosphere - the little bar next door obviously a popular hang out for young professionals and a couple of nice eateries across the square.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salieri_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The location is great and the area will certainly look great once they finish paving part of the street. Don't be turned off by the entrance and the homeless people outside. hey won't bother you and it is safe. Once you enter the guesthouse, everything is tastefully decorated and the rooms feature azulejos all around the room.

The hosts and the whole team are extremely helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is amazing!

If you are a light sleeper, it may not be the right guesthouse for you as it tends to be noisy, specially on weekends. That said, all the rooms have double pained.

Try it...you'll love it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurentCL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The rooms were cute. My husband and I had a very small room that looked out to a brick wall. We thought that our friends got the better deal as they had a street view and a much bigger room. As it turned out though, we were the lucky ones as our room was quiet and we were able to sleep. Our friends were awake all night because of the partying (and this was only a thursday night) in the street down below. They partied until 7:00am. The staff were good, the food was good. The place was clean. The bed was fine. I wouldn't go back, but it was okay.

Room Tip: Definitely insist on a room facing away from the street if you want to get any sleep at all.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shmookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at Ribeira for three nights and love it! Ribeira Tejo is a 15-room guesthouse in Cais do Sodre neighborhood, which gives you access to metro, bus, trams and train to Cascais. The streets may look dark and shady, but I had no issues when I was there. The room is nicely decorated with stylish furniture. You can tell the room is very new and well maintained. I had the room on the 3rd floor. The room is clean and spacious, and comes with free wifi.

I'm very impressed with the hospitality of the staff team. I arrived around 11.30 pm, but I was happy that someone was waiting for me on the fifth floor (you just need to ring the bell). For a small guesthouse, you'll never know what's going to happen. Make sure you tell the staff what time you plan to arrive. Upon arrival, I received a welcome package (maps with local recommendations, attractions and bus/tram lines). It's nothing fancy but it's full of very useful information. All the staff at breakfast were very nice. They'll serve you coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. Local crepes and pastries are just delicious. I really look forward to walking upstairs to eat my breakfast every morning.

Lastly, I would have given Ribeira Tejo five stars if they can deal with the noise issues. The guesthouse is located next to a local restaurant which opens quite late. At night you can hear some noises from people throwing trash with empty bottles in the garbage. The apartments have wooden floor. You may hear people outside of your room walking the stairs to get breakfast in the morning.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would come back if I were in Lisbon again. For the price I paid, I think it's a great value for money. Obrigado Ribeira Tejo!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here when it just opened and had a very enjoyable stay. We found the hospitality to be great for such a smaller type hotel / B&B with reception taking plenty of time to explain the area and provide additional information. We found the recommendations on restaurants great and thought the value for money was exceptional. I would recommend this for anyone coming to Lisbon.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
Thank clmmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

It is a beautiful, homely, and lovely place. Very cute, quiet, and clean rooms with vintage decoration, even on the corridors. The hosts are very very kind people, we really loved them, they know the city very well and give you good tips for tourism. The hotel is well located, everything is near. You can find the bus stop, Aerobus stop, the subway, the Bico elevator (please, try it), the tram, and the ferry (please, try it too) just crossing the street. Breakfasts are delicious. I totally recommend it to you. Near the hotel, two corners waking from the hotel, there is a traditional portuguese restaurant called Rio Grande: go there for dinner. And go to Sintra!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 253 in Lisbon
1,506 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#27 of 253 in Lisbon
489 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#10 of 254 in Lisbon
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu

Address: Travessa Sao Paulo Nr. 5, Lisbon 1200-431, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 254 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $130 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu was once by the river… Actually only the Mercado da Ribeira and the Cais do Sodre station separate the fully renovated building of the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu from the River Tagus. Most of the tiles from the 19th Century were renovated and can be seen from various points of the communal areas and also in some double and family suites. Take the lift to the 4th floor and simply use the stair to go up to the 5th floor, where you will find the best view at the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu. There is nothing better than friendly and dedicated staff to welcome you and serve you a delicious home-made breakfast where you will have the opportunity of watching the ships go by, crossing under the 25th of April Bridge along with looking out to the Cristo Rei always on the lookout for any movement. Then, filled with energy you may begin your visit of Lisbon through the neighbourhoods of Chiado, Baixa and Bairro Alto which are less than a 10 minute walk-away from the Guesthouse, or if you prefer, you may also get on the No. 15 tram or the No. 28 tram to Alfama and Belem. Follow your instinct... we are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing