We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Layout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Layout
Patio
Patio
Entrance
Entrance
Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Peekatito
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Great week at Fado Flats!. Mario arranged our transportation to and from the airport which was done though Cross Lisbon.......wonderful service. What a gem this place is! All previous reviews are on point. Location could not be better. Would stay here again even for an extended stay. The apartment has a wonderful vibe that makes you immediately feel the Lisbon culture. Loved the bottle of Fado wine awaiting us after a long flight. Thanks again for everything Mario.
Until next time,
Tom and Kim

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No washer and dryer, but no big deal.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you Tom and Kim, a true pleasure hosting you! See you soon again, Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: none!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
Thanks Farshad, for the great review and very kind words. It was my pleasure hosting you and helping you to discover my home town. You know you are welcome back any time! Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rdlc
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“nicely furnished, cozy rental in the baixa-chaido district”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After 2 weeks of staying mostly in small bnbs/pension houses, Mario's apartment felt like we were staying in a palace ! It was roomy, nicely furnished with a fully functional kitchen. We love the fridge (cold drinks finally!), there is even a small sitting area outside by the kitchen but no street view. The apartment was accurately described and represented by the photos in the listing.

Location-wise, it is a short uphill walk from the baixa-chaido stop if you exit from the chiado square. It is close to the train station, funicular station, a big mall (I forgot the name) and atm / grocery stores. My husband and I walked everywhere, we particularly liked going down the steps on Calcada do Duque because of the amazing view.

It was easy to book the property, Mario was prompt in replying to emails. He was really accomodating, I told him that we were taking the overnight bus to Lisbon and would arrive very early. He said that he can meet with us as early as 830 am but I wasn't expecting that we could get into the apartment right away. He gave us short and clear directions about the area and the apartment. He also arranged for our taxi back to the airport.

But be aware - the apartment is on a hill, but that is pretty much Lisbon for you, it is a hilly (and very picturesque) area. Some of the utensils/dishes in the cupboard were dirty but nothing that can't be easily cleaned with soap. There are no windows facing the street and you can get some noise from the upstairs apartment.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the apartment, and Lisbon in general. I highly recommend Fado Flats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thanks Imelda for the great and detailed review. I try to meet our guests needs (like early check in) whenever possible and helping discovering my hometown.
Soon again?
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jul 2014
Thanks Greg! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the flat. Place is great indeed and better size then many 2 bedroom apartments!
Soon again?
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jc1000
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great experience: historic, central, comfortable”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I visit Lisbon two or three times a year because it’s a city I love. Of late, I’ve become rather disillusioned with the hotels I generally use. The cheaper ones have become rather shabby. The medium range ones are pricey compared with a few years ago and promise a lot but deliver little. So I decided to do what apparently many other regular visitors are doing – to rent a flat instead. Chose Fadoflats because it seemed to have the best website and a range of attractive-looking properties; I was also impressed by the high Tripadvisor ratings.

What a good move! Firstly, the flats on offer are all within close distance of the city centre – unlike some of the bigger hotels, which are in traffic-congested northern parts of the city. The flat I rented was in Chiado – a five minute walk from Rua Garrett and views of the Tagus in one direction and from the restaurants and nightlife of Bairro Alto in another. Yet it was in a quiet side street, in a typically Portuguese neighbourhood (hanging washing, family run restaurants, gossip on doorsteps). I thought I knew Lisbon well but this was a revelation!

The other very positive feature was the service provided by Fadoflats. The boss, Mario, showed me round the flat personally. He was unfailingly helpful, speaks four languages and was the kind of person you trust on sight. I’d been unsure what to expect but the flat was very well equipped – crockery and cutlery enough for a mammoth diner party, towels, even shower gel provided. There was up-to-date information about Lisbon; a typical touch was a handwritten map indicating where local shops were. The flat’s owner had left a few books and knick knacks around to ensure that the place felt like somebody’s home. It had masses of historic character (unlike those faceless hotel rooms). And there was even wi-fi included in the price.

I confess that my reports for Tripadvisor tend to be on the grumpy side – warning others of horrors I’ve met on work-related travels abroad. It makes a pleasant change to write an entirely positive one for once. I have no hesitation in agreeing with everybody else on here who has recommended Fadoflats so wholeheartedly. And I know exactly what I’ll be doing on my next visit to Lisbon – and the next…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, supportive agent
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2014
Thanks John! It was a real pleasure meeting you and pure delight reading your review. We try hard to make a difference in a competitive market (being flats location, equipment, decor, added services) and we do get a kick out of what we do so it is really rewarding reading a review like yours.
See you next time in Lisbon... and next!
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you Ted. I am glad you enjoyed the flat and my hometown. Thank you also for the great and accurate review. Concise, detailed and hitting all spots!
Soon again?
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aberdeen
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thank John and Pamela! I am glad you had a good time and enjoyed the flat. I am glad also you confirm location in unbeatable! Soon again?
Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing