We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming Botique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
161 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Charming Botique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this lovely botique hotel right on Avenida Liberdade (4/12-4/17). We arrived at the hotel a little after noon (approx 10 euro cab ride from the airport) and they cheerfully checked us into a room even though we were early. We just paid for the basic room since we tend to be out all day but for a European hotel I found it to be quite large. We faced the side street so we did not get all the noise from the Avenida Liberade (was especially good as for some reason one of the snack stands had a DJ set up every night although I never noticed a crowd there).

Bed was a little hard but not too bad. The bathroom was very clean and updated. Toilettries included shampoo, body wash and lotion. There was a mini bar although we never used it. Breakfast was the same every morning but a good assortment of pastries with hot scrammbled eggs and bacon. We enjoyed the port wine offered each evening.

The staff was always very friendly and helpful when we asked for directions or restuarant recommendations.

Overall fantastic stay in a great location. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: For a quiter room ask for the rooms facing the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    266
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
157
915
39
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Fab one night stay. We were upgraded on arrival to a Heritage Room. These are on the top floor, and ours had a fantastic view across to the castle. Bathroom had his and hers sinks (so no tooth brush fighting), bathrobes, slippers and Molton Brown goodies. We had stayed on the Avenue before at another hotel, so knew how central this hotel was. Didn't use the public areas, so can't comment on the service, as we headed out for the evening to a nearby restaurant on Rua das Portas de S. Antao. Had some Ginjinha from the bar at the bottom of the street, which got the evening off to a great start. Finished the evening off at a bar/cafe on the Avenida where a DJ was playing some cracking tunes. In the morning, we strolled out for coffee and breakfast natas. Great location, made all the more memorable by the complimentary upgrade.

Room Tip: Top floor Heritage room - terrific view and great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Somersetfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great location within walking distance of the downtown attractions, friendly staff, well appointed rooms, free wifi, excellent breakfast that was available to 12, extras like free tea and coffee bar, complimentary port and madeira to drink, pool and comfortable lounge area, library and computer area with printers: useful to check in on line and print your boarding pass. Plenty of nearby restaurants. Staff were very helpfull in suggesting evening events and booking taxis. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room had a double aspect to the main avenue and a side road, could have the windows open for ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our second choice but we were so happy we ended up here. The hotel is in a great location just a couple of minutes walk from the Rossia squre which is Lisbon's hub. It is on a main road but the double glazing is wholly effective and the air conditioning silent and effective.

We were impressed when we arrived to be told our room had been upgraded AND that breakast was included - which is not what our details from Expedia said. But they obviously included breakfast always - everyone else seemed to be there in the morning.

The room was generous in size, had good towels and robes and, almost best of all, actually had good enough lighting so that you could read in any one of about three places - quite rare we find.

Breakfast was good with a nespresso machine, wide choice of breads, cheeses and meats - some hot food I didn't try, plenty of fruit and even sparkling wine - didnt try that either nor did anyone else. A wide selection of teas was available in the lobby and late afternoon a tray appeared with port and madeira on it for guests to help themselves.

So we felt cosseted. But best of all the staff were so helpful; they recommended five different resataurants, all of which were good in a range of ways; they advised on routes and provided sewing equipment - and all spoke excellent English (better than you would find in many London hotels!)

We very much enjoyed our stay and would return like a shot.

Room Tip: Big rooms at front noisier but we think side rooms smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We loved staying at this hotel. The location is perfect. Easily walk to main attractions, soak up the vibe and enjoy lisbon's loveliness.
The rooms are not huge but perfectly fine. Very tasteful and clean.
The staff are very helpful, friendly and knowledgable.
In the lobby there is a little tea shop, where you can make your own tea by mixing different types of herbs and flowers. It's super-charming.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kalepooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

A wonderful, small hotel where your comfort and care is utmost. Non-intrusive but extremely friendly and helpful staff. Most comfortable rooms, breakfast and lounge areas. Situated in an excellent position on main avenue within easy walk to all scenic attractions. Just made our stay in Lisbon truly memorable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We've not been to the Heritage Av LIberdade (yet) but I had to write this review in advance. Since settling on this hotel for a long weekend, I have been nothing but impressed by the level of service, attention to detail, and follow-up by the hotel. The booking process was easy and helpful. Every eMail, we've sent has been promptly answered with information that is appropriate and relevant. I feel like we will be in incredibly safe hands once we get to Lisbon (middle of April). Our first impressions of the hotel and of Lisbon are fantastic. We cannot wait to get on the plane to enjoy the hotel and our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eawnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Property: Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. Subject to careful rehabilitation the hotel has come back to life by dint of a project of a unique nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing