We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
795
26
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
795
26
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a small swimming pool perfect location bed and breakfast top floor perfect stay bairro alto every morning restaurants and bars exploring lisbon breakfast is served sara hosts rui porto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 824 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2019

This is a family-run boutique bed & breakfast hotel conveniently located in Chiado. Arriving from the Baixa-Chiado metro station is easy, even if you've never done it before, and the charming staff take every care to greet and advise you on arrival. Although it caters mainly to older couples, there is no elevator here. The rooms are clean, light and airy, and the hotels guest area is a sophisticated setting for very good breakfasts and / or some evening reading in the library with a complementary glass of port. Located between the Praça Luís de Camões and the Elevador de Bica, it's convenient for going out on foot to explore the city or getting along the coast from the nearby Cais do Sodré rail station. We really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Dear Ben A,

we would like to thank you for your beautiful words.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your days at Casa do Barão and that you have especially appreciated the location of the house, in the heart of Lisbon city center, the comfort of your room and the common areas of the house.
As you mentioned our building doesn't have an elevator but we are always available and happy to help our guests with their luggages.
We thank you one more time and we look forward to see you again at Casa do Barão.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

This is a lovely family run bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located in the centre of Lisbon. We were warmly greeted by one of the owners on our arrival and made to feel very welcome. The accommodation and breakfasts are excellent. We were given very useful information that helped us to enjoy the delights of the city, its sights and sounds, places to eat and the best local Pastel Nata. Obrigado!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear Jonathan L,

it is a pleasure for us reading that you had a great experience at Casa do Barão and that you have especially appreciated our welcome, our accomodation, our homemade breakfast and our tips to discover and enjoy the city as a local.
We wish you all the best and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2019

I never written a review for somewhere I haven't stayed but the level of service dealing directly with this hotel compelled me to do so. We have had to change plans on a cancellable booking. I am sad not to be going as the speed of communication, the effort the hotel went to try to accommodate us was totally outstanding and definitely suggested to me that during our stay we would have witnessed first class hoteliers at work. I hope Lisbon crops up for us again and we can visit Casa do Barao.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank familyworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear familyworldtraveller,

thank you for writing this comment and sharing it on TripAdvisor.com.
We are very sorry that your plans had changed and that you hadn't been able to come here.
Thank you for your lovely words, which we truly appreciate.
We really hope that, in the future, you will be able to plan a trip to Lisbon and we would be extremely delighetd to have you with us.
All our staff send you their kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

First of all, I am ashamed that it has taken me soooo long to write this review. Lisbon was our last stop in a three week tour of Portugal and once we were home ‘normal life’ took over. Nevertheless, I remember clearly the lovely stay we had at Casa do Barão. We were upgraded to the third floor suite which was wonderful: plenty of space, clean, lovely bed linens and towels, etc. One evening our ‘dinner’ on the balcony overlooking the city and the ocean was simply bread and cheese and sausage from the market with some tomatoes, olives and wine. Delightful!!
The common areas were attractive and welcoming. Breakfast was ample and delicious - with beautiful linen napkins! - and could be enjoyed al fresco or inside overlooking the garden and its lovely lemon trees.
Casa do Barao was well located for everything we wanted to do. Our hosts were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations, etc.
We would highly recommend it. The only caveat being that there is no elevator. That didn’t bother us but if climbing several flights of stairs is not to your liking you might not enjoy it here.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank F7760BKlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Dear F7760BKlees,

first of all, we would like to thank you for taking time in writing this lovely review.
It is a pleasure reading that you had such a beautiful time here and that you have enjoyed the comfort of your bedroom, the charm of the social areas of the house and the service of our staff.
If, in the future, you'd like to come back to Lisbon, we would be delighetd to have you again with us.
All our Team send you their kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We felt welcomed even before we arrived with their willingness to provide recommendations and insights. We spent four nights here and returned for a fifth final night in Portugal when we were flying home. We had a nice room facing the street for the first part and were upgraded to a beautiful suite for the last visit. We wish we had splurged from the start as the room overlooking the courtyard with sun room and balcony was really lovely. It also had more storage for clothes.

The location is excellent for exploring all corners of Lisbon (we mostly walked everywhere) and provided easy access to metro and trains for day trips. Breakfast was simple but complete and was served in a lovely section of the inn. A fresh egg tart was always delicious as were the pastries available through the day for guests.

Returning after a late dinner we really appreciated a glass of the port they leave for guests. The common area is lovely and welcoming. We will most definitely return!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FoodFinders2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Dear FoodFinders2011,

we would like to thank you very much for sharing this lovely review with the TripAdvisor community.
We are really happy to read that you had a great experience at Casa do Barão and that you have appreciated the comfort of our rooms, the central location of the house, in the heart of the old city center, and the charm of the house.
We've been delighted to have you with us and we send you our best Regards, hoping to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews