We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Countryside Hiking

I ran a segment of a trail run through the Tapada Nacional de Mafra, 9K of beautiful hills and... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2017
JaninedeBric
,
Denver, Colorado
Great Hike and Opportunity to see wildlife

We enjoyed our parkland hike in Tapada Nacional de Marta...the former great bring grounds for a... read more

Reviewed October 1, 2016
538brenth
via mobile
Read all 185 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mafra
from US$92.50
More Info
from US$102.90
More Info
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
68
75
22
5
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
75
22
5
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deer wildlife forest nature preserve park picnic palace
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 185 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Raiada de Mafra is a very interesting place to spend a few hours. You can watch deer running free and wolves (in a closed space). Do visit !!!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank josea240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

A good place to visit if you have been to the palace also. Recommended to visit a very lovely place.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our parkland hike in Tapada Nacional de Marta...the former great bring grounds for a Portuguese king, the park provides a variety of activities and programming for a wide variety of audiences.

Unfortunately we visited during the low season, with almost no planned activities, so we hiked the shortest hike with our 2, 9, and 11 year old. We encounter wild boar who crossed the hiking path right in front of us! We also spied some deer from afar trying to get in the shade from the heat of the day.

They have a nice little gift shop but not all the employees speak fluent English which is totally ok, except we had a miscommunication in that the credit card machine was down and we had to run down to Mafra to get cash out of the bank and pop back in to pay for our time in the park...so recommend you bring cash along as well.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 538brenth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Several hikes possible depending on your level and the time you have. Did one during a bit more than 2 hours was nice, it gives you a really great view of the park. You can go with children, there are also several animations that are included in the price of the ticket. There is a little train if you have really small children that does a little tour of the park. There are also a lot of activities possible where you can book one or several classes like archery and horse riding.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Marianeturc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We visited this park not knowing what to expect. The tour really took a long time for our little children. The people guiding did it with passion and love. The guide on the train was only in Portugese and extremely loud so very annoying . But it is a beautiful park and really good maintained

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews