We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most magical, memorable wedding”
Marreco House - Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marreco House - Aerial View
Bathroom Marreco House -  entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Marreco House - Aerial View
Bathroom
Marreco House -  entrance
Marreco House - living room
Marreco House - bedroom
Marreco House - kitchen
Marreco House - bedroom
Marreco House - private pool overlooking the valey.
Marreco House - bedroom
Marreco House - bedroom
Entrance to the BBQ area
Quinta de Sant'Ana main property
The Tower and the Chapel
St Anne's XVII century chapel
The Wine Cellar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Mafra, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pamela R
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most magical, memorable wedding”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I was one of many guests who flew from around the world to attend friends' wedding at Quinta de Sant Ana in end May. It was more than special. The setting, the staff, food, wine (of course) and attention to detail, made this occasion memorable for the bride and groom, their families and all guests.

Liked best: The setting was perfect. I felt that the bride and groom could not have enjoyed themselves more, knowing that everything had been so beautifully organised for them.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Dear Pamela,
It was lovely to host your group, thank you for having played a part in the Quinta de Sant'Ana story.
See you some day soon!
Happy Christmas,
QSA team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstie a
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything about this house is just wonderful, from the tasteful and simple decoration, to the stunning location. There are so many lovely details, gorgeous tiles, freestanding baths and everything you need to feel at home. Lots of great sociable areas for families including a beautiful terrace with incredible views over the vineyard and a separate bbq area under the shade for hot days. The infinity pool is incredible, a bit chilly for the first minute, but perfect for warm weather. (We were lucky to get 6 days of incredible sunshine!)

It's impossible not to relax in a place like this, even when holidaying with toddlers. The house was very safe, with a fenced off pool so we didn't need to worry about our toddler all the time plsu everything we needed for a wee one was provided.

The location is just stunning, it feels very rural and remote although it's less than an hour from Lisbon airport - in no time at all you're in a different world. The village of Gradil is pretty but basic - there isn't a huge amount within walking distance in terms of eating out, shopping, however with such a lovely house you don't really need to leave. I'd recommend a hire car definitely if you'd like to explore - there is lots within a short drive, including the Ericeira coast which has lots of great places to eat, shop, and surf.

The quinta itself is lovely, and the wine tasting was great - the wine is delicious.

Catarina was our main point of contact and couldn't have been more helpful all the way through the process - Ann and James were also great, and we definitely felt looked after.

One of the most relaxing and blissful holidays ever and definitely the nicest accommodation I've ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janninek
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memories that will last a lifetime”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed here with my family including parents, newborn baby, sister and her husband and an additional friend and there was plenty of room for everyone. We came for my sisters wedding and the experience was magnificent. From the gorgeous infinity pool encompassed by Palm trees, cabanas and cacti to the majestic rustic dwelling surrounded by nature and epic landscapes. This was one of the best stays I've had in my life and I have travelled to over 30 countries.

My sisters wedding was the most beautiful I have ever seen. An incredible location coupled with divine food...everyone loved it. The wine was spectacular and the service exceptional (particularly Caterina who went out of her way to ensure a pleasant stay).

I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone for an experience etched in your memory that you will never forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB101_12
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Different, relaxing, and fun”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely and relaxing setting, very easy to find, all accommodation was well set up and thought out. There is a reasonable amount to do within a short drive. The wine is excellent and it was interesting to learn about it, especially if, like us, you know little about the wine from that part of the world. Ordering some to be sent home was very easy. and reliable. It's a very child friendly place, though it is a centuries-old estate so creaking doors and floors are a given, which is important if you're trying to get a baby to sleep! The Quinta hosts events like wedding receptions, and the occasional wedding party adds to the fun rather than being a nuisance and we were always told in advance if something was happening. We had a lovely time and it was a great alternative to a typical family holiday beach holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacintha1...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quinta de Sant'Anna hosted a magical wedding and vacation!”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were here in late June celebrating my daughter Chantelle and Tilman's wedding with 75 guests. I can truly say it was a magical event in every possible way. Our gracious host Ana, amazing coordinator Catarina and her team helped make this happen in this absolutely charming piece of heaven in Mafra, Portugal.
I was apprehensive since all the planning was done long distance from Canada. My fears were unfounded as from the moment we arrived Catarina took over all details with her charming efficiency. Our family of 8 and a baby stayed at the beautiful Marecco house with our own private pool. Several other guests stayed in the other villas. All our wedding guests were just delighted with the everything they experienced during the multiple wedding events. The amazing food and exemplary service In the casual yet elegantly charming location of Quinta de Sant'Ana was some of the best we ever experienced during our month long vacation in Portugal. A special note of thanks to Ana for the stunning wedding florals - with particular attention to every detail requested!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and services
Liked least: No air conditioning or fans
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenkohl
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A heavenly retreat with style, joy and beauty”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

...Quinta de Sant'Ana is a firm favourite and I have to admit that I go every year without fail. This year the October harvest festival was incredible again, with gorgeous sunshine and all the trimmings - bands, dancing, wine, games and so much happiness it is hard to capture in words. Just book it.-

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of hospitality and belonging
Liked least: That I had to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael v
Wilmington, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A unique and incredible property that made for a very memorable family vacation.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

“Exceeded our expectations” is a much overused phrase in todays' vernacular, but it does come closest to describing our family vacation at this unique and quite incredible property. Every couple of years we search the web to find a rental home in a foreign country that will immerse us in the local culture, and comfortably accomodate our two sons, daughter-in-law and young grandson. Last year we found the Marreco House at Quinta de Sant’ Ana and began communicating with the owner, Ann Frost, to be sure the house and property would make for a fun and educational experience. The house was spacious and perfect for our daily living needs, and provided convenient access to the important historical sites and tourist attractions in the area. It was exceptionally well appointed and had every appliance, utensil, etc. one would need on a self catered vacation. It’s location on the Quinta de Santa’ Ana estate provided spectacular vineyard views, complete privacy, farmyard entertainment for the grandson, and a fabulous pool that was a well used and much appreciated. The accomodations and all the amenities, including watching wine making the old fashion way, made this our best family vacation ever, and the thread that wove it all together was the incredible warmth and hospitality of the staff.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing