We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
152
98
30
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
98
30
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house the main house fellow guests twin beds family style fresh rolls bed and breakfast nice swimming pool period furniture walled city loved our stay big table communal table minutes walk away every morning family home step back in time
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 297 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

We wanted a quaint spot a close distance to explore Obidos and this fit the bill perfectly. The house is charming if a bit over decorated. Lots of flouncy window treatments and bed curtains. We were there in September and it was particularly hot outside but the house stays cool with thick masonry walls. No AC needed! The drains in our room did make some odd noises from time to time but all we had to do was close the bathroom door and we weren't bothered. The twin beds in our room were a bit small and not terribly comfortable. All the antiques everywhere were lovely and the breakfast was very nice indeed. We didn't swim but the pool looked very inviting. We loved the views from the extensive gardens. A pretty property.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Small rural hotel, with old/classic furniture in the rooms. Very quiet if you are looking for a relaxing stay. The room was nice and simple, no amenities in the room, such as shampoo, hair-dryer, no coffee or kettle to make tea, just towels and soap. For the price asked this is unacceptable. The decoration was very rural, and everything was somehow made of iron, which was a bit rusty, specially in the bathroom. The bathroom was actually quite big, and it had a window with a view to the pool. The room was clean, however there were a lot of flies in the room (they should definitely improve on this issue). There was even a swatter in one of the drawers, so I would say this is a common issue. The bed was big enough, but not huge, and comfy.

The breakfast room felt very small because it only had one big table, where everyone sits together like a family. Honestly, we didn't enjoy it that much, it felt strange and we believe that we were not the only ones feeling that way. There were again a lot of flies around, the hotel is aware of this because some of the food was covered, but all, disgusting. It is difficult to enjoy your meal like this. It has some variety of food available, nice and tasty Portuguese cheeses, a typical continental breakfast.

The pool area was quite nice, although the pool is not huge, it has nice surroundings. Not crowded at all, even though our stay there was in August, so extra points for that!
Also the views from the room and from the garden are very beautiful, to the castle of Obidos, specially at night.

To quickly resume:
Positive - quiet, view to the castle, free parking, nice pool area, good location
Negative - flies, no amenities at all, more FLIES

All in all, disappointed because it is not worth the price asked, but it has lots of potential.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2EUtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

A beautiful farmhouse with a beautiful garden and a beautiful view of the walls of Óbidos. A great breakfast, good rooms and beautiful artwork. The house has a tasteful decor and the staff are very attentive and polite. To summarize: a great place to spend nice days in Óbidos.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pmarin628528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Quaint, calm and very friendly. Lovely rural setting close to town. Spacious bedroom gently old-fashioned, spacious bathroom, equally old fashioned. Very good breakfast around a large table; home-made products

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpezie299846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

The hotel and rooms bring you in another century - everything is very old-fashioned and especially during breakfast (which is served in kind of a living room) you feel like a rich laird
because a housekeeper serves the coffee and all guests sit around one big table.

The room itself was clean but not our prefered style and very small also.

The location of the hotel was quite good though.
15min walk into the walls of Obidos.

5min walk to the church, where 2 good restaurants are located for a nice dinner.

We couldn‘t use the pool due to bad weather but the pool area and the property surroundings were nice.

For a night or two it is a good place to stay if you are up for a special experience ;)

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews