We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming and typical cozy house inside the castle”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Obidos, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dario M
Torino
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and typical cozy house inside the castle”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location inside the Obidos' Castle walls. Beautiful and typical furniture with cozy and romantic atmosphere. Maria is a great host. She is kind, friendly and immediately puts her hosts in ease. Great stay! I will visit Maria's house again soon and I would recommend it to everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Dear Dario,
You are super nice !! Thanks!
Please come back soon. :)
All the best for you!!
Maria do Carmo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadaMonte...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutly magnificent and perfect experience”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My stay at Casa Maria d'Obidos was like a dream come true.
Carmo is a 5 star host and the house was flawless in cleaning and confort.
The location couldn't be better (it's inside the walls of the castle !)
I stayed at Casa Maria d'Obidos for 5 nights and absolutly recomend to everyone who is searching for an outstanding accomodation.
Maria was super nice, she received us in a really warm way. She even left some fruit and wine in the house for us. Definitly recomend it to everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Dear Mad, Thanks for your kind words. You are really nice! And come back anytime. It was a pleasure hosting you!
All the best for you!!
Maria do Carmo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picky_Pam...
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Staying within the Castle Walls is the best way to visit Obidos”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Visiting Obidos was one of the highlights of my 3 week trip to Portugal. Most visitors do a day trip but I really wanted to experience the feel of living within the medieval walls of this town. Cass Maria d'Obidos was perfect for this. The house is on a quiet lane just a short walk to the main square and the shopping area. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from and Maria was gracious in letting us know the best ones to try. Access into the house can be confusing so before we arrived, Maria made sure we could easily find her son who allowed us to follow him through the winding streets right to the front door of the house. He explained the parking rules and we never had any problems finding close parking for our rental car. The house was very comfortable and it felt like staying at the home of a friend. Coffee was provided with the coffee maker. The kitchen could have accommodated a full meal prep but we ended eating out at the many restaurants nearby. As a splurge, get reservations for the restaurant at the castle. The food is first class and we felt like royalty.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Pamela,
You are a 5 star guest! Come back always!
Thank you for your warm and lovely words - all the best!!

Greetings from Obidos,
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst N
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Obidos”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a few days in Lisbon we wanted to visit some historic places in Portugal, and Obidos seemed to be the ideal location. The apartment of Maria was a wonderful place, very warm and cosy, we immediately felt like home. Cold November evenings invited us to run the fire place for additional warmth. As noted by others, Maria was very nice and helpful, gave us a warm welcome, helped with all questions we had, and provided us with a start-up package of food, wine and fire wood. This apartment is highly recommended and we will book it again in future trips to Portugal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
Ernest , Thanks, for your nice words :)
You are vry nice, polite and friendly. And they left the apartment spotless. It was a pleasure hosting them. Highly recommend and looking forward to hosting them again someday :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
873 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Great place to stay inside the walls”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I, our daughter, her husband and their 2 ½ year old stayed at Maria’s home for 8 nights last week. Finding the house would be very difficult for a first time visitor to Obidos so Maria met us just outside of town at a designated time and led us through the narrow winding streets to her home where we unloaded our car. Our typical parking place was just outside the walls of this lovely medieval town. This required an uphill climb for about 5 minutes each time we came home, but the hike was well worth it. The house was 3 bedrooms, two baths (one with a stall shower, one shower over tub) and comfortably slept 5 in two double beds and a single. The kitchen was fully equipped, there was free Wi-Fi and a living/dining area. Everything was very clean and the entire experience was extremely comfortable. We truly enjoyed living within the walls of this historic and picturesque medieval town. A couple of restaurants within walking distance were very enjoyable. We spent the last two days enjoying ourselves within the walls and experiencing this friendly and beautiful town. As comfy as the home was, Maria was an even better host. She provided us with a bottle of wine, coffee and a few other staples to get us started. When we asked how to get to the supermarket, she took our daughter in her car and went shopping with her as well as giving great suggestions on some local products.How many hosts would do that for you? Maria’s mother and sister live next door and Maria was also there most of the time we were in Obidos. This made asking questions (which we inevitably had) extremely easy. We never felt like we were imposing on her and she always proved to be both very friendly as well as helpful. This was a great stay!! If we are ever in Obidos again, we will surely try to rent Maria’s home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: living within the walls and friendliiness of hosts
Liked least: uphill hike from car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
Michael and family they are the perfect guests, nice, friendly and lovely. It was pleasure it was great to have the guests like that. Really. And thanks again for leaving the house so perfectly clean. I highly recommend you to all trip advisor community. They will always be welcome in my house.

Michael, thank you for your nice words, and welcome !! Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing