We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BackPacker561062

Gem of a hotel

Review of Rio Art Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 24, 2024
Rio Art Hotel is a little gem in Setubal. Ana, the manager, was exceptionally helpful, from restaurant suggestions to other sites to see outside of the castles and fort. It is a beautifully restored building with delightful little hangout areas and lovely rooms. We had a room overlooking the park on Luisa Todi. Great location and the staff were very friendly.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$204
C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$198
  • Hotels.com
    C$204
  • Trip.com
0.1 km from Rio Art Hotel
Bar/Lounge
C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$180
  • Melia.com
    C$162
  • Hotels.com
    C$180
0.7 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
C$224
C$207
  • Booking.com
    C$206
  • Expedia.com
    C$207
  • Hotels.com
    C$207
2.1 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge Area
C$153
  • Expedia.com
    C$154
  • Agoda.com
    C$146
  • Hotels.com
    C$154
1.2 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$151
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$149
  • Tripadvisor
    C$149
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$156
  • Hotels.com
    C$155
  • Tripadvisor
    C$156
0.9 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$141
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$141
0.4 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
C$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$187
  • Hotels.com
    C$187
  • Tripadvisor
    C$187
3.5 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$129
C$126
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    C$129
  • Trip.com
2.4 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    C$151
  • eDreams
    C$163
  • Vio.com
5.0 km from Rio Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Setubal
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
222
44
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
44
7
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town coffee machine great location no lift thought of everything staff were incredibly helpful free overnight parking superb breakfast fish market lovely hotel places to visit centre of town two floors welcome drink rooms are nice reception vino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 278 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2024

The bed and pillows are great, very comfortable. The hotel is quiet, secure and has a friendly staff. Recommend highly. The hotel is located across the street from a well maintenanced park. Easy walking distance to everything. Uber's available fast.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SheriMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 9, 2023

Very charming, modern hotel. Each of the wings have their own artistic style, with additional seating/ welcome areas to enjoy. The rooms are spacious, clean and have all of the modern amenities one needs. The staff were tremendously attentive. The personal touch was more like a B&B than a hotel. I only wish we were staying a little longer.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 1, 2023

Wow! From the moment we entered Rio Art Hotel’s door, it was a positive, warm and welcoming experience. The employee provided info and advice on what to see and where to go, based on our preferences, beautiful decoration, cleanliness, and little gifts (first place to offer coffee and water bottles for free in our room). Comfortable bed and pillows, nice little balcony to enjoy the Setúbal vibe and great breakfast with again, an attentive and warm service. Located in the perfect spot to visit the old city within walking distance.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoseeL864
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 29, 2023

Rio Art Hotel is an absolute gem: beautifully decorated in an old renovated home with amazing rooms, each one different in decor, modern art Portuguese style. Taste and skill by the owners and operated by wonderful staff members who all get along, have fun and mainly provide excellent service to us, their clients, spoil us, serve a fabulous breakfast, look after us with help for sights, restaurants, outings etc. Nothing is ever difficult for them. You get the feeling that they become your best friends.
The rooms have good space, the bed is comfortable, the bathroom generous.
The outstanding staff dedication to clients and their sense of humour are just so delightful that the only thing you want to do is coming back!
Well done team! I will be back.
Mariana Amar

Room tip: Talk to staff for any info you need/want
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank edelweiss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 29, 2023

A beautiful independent hotel in the centre of Setubal.
Here you will get an exceptional, personalised, experience, where nothing is too much bother for the staff.

We were welcomed with a delicious, complimentary, glass of Moscatel upon arrival to the hotel.
I personally received detailed guidance regarding the best local places to visit, where to eat and information regarding gastronomic specialties of the area- which I loved.

One member of staff knew that our family enjoyed lots of coffee and made sure that our rooms were always topped up, without even having to ask.

Bedrooms are clean, stylish, and comfortable. There are lots of beautiful communal rooms furnished with armchairs and reading materials.

Don’t hesitate to book this place if you’re coming to Setubal. You won’t regret it.

Room tip: This is just by the sea. A wonderful market is just a few minutes walk down the road .lots of shops and supermarkets nearby.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cookingkate500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews