We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, although with some problems”
Review of Nice Way Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nice Way Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place, although with some problems”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at this hostel just for one night, we decided to sleep there after giving a look at few other places and we decided that we liked it the most. The location is very close to the city center and the decoration is young and nice. We had a double room with private bathroom at the last floor of the building, stairs were small and high but we were just travelling with a backpack so it wasn't a problem at all. Next to our room there was also a small common room with two computers with internet connection. They have a common kitchen where they arrange the breakfast in the morning, a common room with sofas and a big table, and a nice garden ouside. Our room was nice and the bathroom was big, but the shower curtain was very very dirty with mould, so I just didn't use it and flood the floor with water. The biggest problem was that we couldn't use the heating because if we plugged our electric heater we produced a blackout in the whole building! The guy that was at the recption at night was very friendly, he told us that it was too late to call for a technician so he offered us an extra quilt, but despite this we had quite a cold night, being in January. What sounded strange to me, was that the other guests told us that there had been the same problem through all the week, so I wonder why they didn't try to fix it before. The day after our cold night we complained with the guy at the reception (now there was a new one) and after insisting a lot he made us an acceptable discount, so at least I can say that we paid for what we had. Maybe beacuse we were late at the breakfast, we found it a bit poor (little bread with marmalade, milk, coffee). Anyway, if it wasn't for the heating not working, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StelliTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    47
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
77
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Imagine you're in back to the 17th century when Sintra was only for kings and queens, wake up and hear the birds singing, open the window and palaces, castle and forests enter your room followed revitalizing breakfast. In Nice Way Sintra Palace you're right in the middle of magnificent historic city that surprises you at every corner accompanied by a welcoming staff, an extraordinary garden to relax and good traditional portuguese food. After visiting I just want to say ... "I wanna go back"!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

It's a very cozy place! The staff are great, very friendly and always available to give information. Sintra is very very very beautiful!!!! Next time i go there, i will stay in this place, for sure!

Room Tip: Sleeping in Sintra is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Such a relaxing hostel in a beautiful building. Has a lovely garden to chill out in. Location is close to everything. Staff were friendly and bathrooms were really clean. Beds very comfy. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Sintra Palace is an incredible place and the nicest hostel I have been to. It has modern decore in an renovated Palace, extremely friendly and helpful staff who are from the area and provide excellent advice, top standard of cleanliness, and is in a great location! I would recommend this hostel to anyone from a young person hoping to have fun to an older couple to stay in one of thier private rooms. Sintra Palace is the BEST place to stay in Sintra!! Thank you!

Room Tip: for cheap - shared room, more $ - private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonnaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in Nice Way Hostel for one night - we were a little bit hesitant as we knew it catered for a younger clientele as they have a number of dorms, but were pleasantly surprised. The staff are very friendly, and extremely helpful - providing extensive advice and recommendations for Sintra. The room itself was a decent size - basic (no TV or ensuites) but all you need for one nights stay. The location is in the newer section of Sintra, so its a 10 minute walk down to the main tourist area. It wasn't that noisy at night - it was a Sunday - except for a couple of visitors to the hostel at 3.30am - possibly checking in - but despite that a good nights sleep. My only negatives would be that the shared toilet lock was broken, and that it is quite a small hostel so is quite cosy. I imagine it would be a great place to stay if travelling alone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadieredmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I was expecting a lot more out of this place, as the reviews were excellent. The staff was accommodating and helpful but our room was teeny tiny. And there was a minor insect problem. I also felt like they cater to younger travelers (20s). Not a great value but decent location.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BLG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
4.0 km away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.5 km away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Almaa Sintra Hostel
#2 of 31 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 km away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.8 km away
Portuguese Hostel
Portuguese Hostel
#9 of 31 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Way Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Way Sintra

Property: Nice Way Sintra
Address: Rua Soto Maior 22, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice Way Sintra is set in a picturesque ancient palace, completely renovated in the heart of Sintra. The hostel is a 5 minute walk from the Palacio da villa and within a short walking distance of the best restaurants, bars and village museums Sintra has to offer. Nice Way Sintra is intended to make you feel at home. All our rooms are personalized with spectacular sights over Sintra Mountains. We have private and shared accommodations at great prices. You will find comfortable beds, lockers, power outlets and hot showers on every floor. We have a fully equipped kitchen, fast and free Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms. Breakfast is included! We also have a cozy living room that opens onto a beautiful garden, full of corners, so you can relax after a walk through the mysterious and romantic villa of Sintra. We guarantee cleanliness, professionalism and a unique experience! Our staff are local, young and knowledgeable and can offer recommendations on the best places to visit, events, organized tours, sports activities, restaurants and other activities. We have an excellent network of public transport that can take you easily to the beaches of Sintra (25 min), Cascais (30 min), Lisbon (40 min), Mafra (45 min)and Ericeira (60 min). Our location, comfort and atmosphere will fulfill you with magical moments in Sintra. We are at your disposal to provide you an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nice Way Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing