We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PALACE WITH BAD FOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I absolutely am in love with this hotel. It is a fairytale come true. The setting is magnificent and every detail in this property is pure luxury. This was our 3. visit and as always everything was perfect, BUT THE FOOD! The food never has been up to standards. For such a unique place, the cuisine should be divine.
It is amazing, as one can walk down the road and eat in any small place and find much better food than here.
I again complained and as every year, I always hope, that on our next visit, the hotel will have invested in a fine chef. There is so much talent out there in Portugal! (we discovered some incredible chefs)
To sum it up: THE SETAIS deserves guests, leaving the dinner table with nothing but a smile and those unmistakable sounds of pleasure! (ahhh, uhhhh, mhhhhh)
And not my sounds, which were similar to 'ihhhhh...aehhhhh,.... (the vinegar-sour dressing that killed the foie gras ) or my pulled up nose when the overly cooked duck breast arrived, again with a very sour berry sauce, that killed the taste-buds. (oh, and how a duck loves a sweet companion, not a sour one!)
Maybe the Chef was in a sour mood?

I will be back, as I love this place, but maybe I could bring my own Chef next time?!

Because food is part of a holiday as much as the ambiance and the people.

PS: While there, you must visit the stables and go for a ride. We went up in the mountain and the views were just breath-taking!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterfly-lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais with us.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations. I can, however, assure you that we give special attention to our dinner service, so as to provide a range of quality products which are fitting for a hotel of our status. For this reason, I will be sharing your comments with the team responsible so as ensure ongoing improvement.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
My best regards.
Pedro Frazão,
General Director of Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
There are newer reviews for Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

this is the best hotel i have stayed in . read the other reviews they are true
although luxurious this is an unpretentious hotel with a refreshing lack of bling . there are no gyms , spas , business centres or 5 star chefs but the service is exceptional , the building beautiful , and everything is discrete and low key . the staff are amazing and could not have been more helpful when i had a little local difficulty .
oh yes the beds are not bad either .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alistair g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

For us Sintra, and particularly this hotel, is somewhat special. Sintra is the set of some chapters from the classic Portuguese romance "Os Maias" by Eça de Queizoz. So I decided to surprise my girlfriend and take her to the famous Seteais.

The ambiance is not the one of a Hotel. You are really in a Palace filled with history.

The room was very comfortable. The bed was the best I slept in a hotel. Complimentary Port wine and regional pastry were a plus.

They attended all of our simple requests: room with view, bathrobe and slippers

The breakfast was according to the expected for a 5* Hotel. Not so much variety, but 5* quality, and for me that's enough.

Maybe it just lacks an indoor pool and/or a small spa. I don't know if they could built it outside but it would be nice

If you're looking for the commodities of a modern hotel forget this one. This Palace offers you the ambience and luxury no new hotel can offer. All this in the heart of the amazing SIntra.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stunning place from outside and from inside. We were welcomed by some "travesseiros da periquita" - a delicious portuguese sweet - and some Porto wine.

The room is spacious, beautifully decorated, the beds and pillows are so unbelievable comfortable! Best sleep quality ever!

The only con in the bedroom was the closet door, which was very hard to close, just beacuse it's antique, I think.

Shower and bathroom is great as well, but I think it would be better if it had glass instead of courtains in the shower area. It would be much more comfortable.

Internet wifi works properly. There was a promo so they didn't charged us.

This hotel is great, but don't you ever think of having dinner in its restaurant! It's really awful! It's such a pity that in a hotel like this there is such a poor restaurant. It's a shame. We thought it was impossible to have bad meals in Portugal... but we had.

I ordered a tartar salad for starter and it was so acid and sour, I only could taste the vinager in it. Awfully prepared.

Then I had a bacalao (bacalhau) for main course - one of my favorite dishes, and it was awful as well, I only could eat the potatoes.

My husband experience also was not good at all, the ingredients seemed to be unfresh.

After that we decided not to order dessert.

Fortunately the breakfast is fine!

Room Tip: I think any room location will be fine, we stayed at a room with a latera garden view, it was very q...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Melissa,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
we are very sorry for the Restaurant situation. This is not normal in our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra to serve you better.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed two days in this hotel, totally by chance, basically because of its proximity to a business engagement that I had in Sintra. The whole town is magical. The hotel spotless, room spacious and with great natural illumination. Service outstanding, breakfast awesome, and an unforgettable sunset from the gardens which is included in the price.
If you really want to have an out of the world experience you should not miss this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Jose,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Beautiful Palace with elegant rooms and great service and breakfast included for €270. Justa 10 min walk from the main Palace and 5 min from Quinta Regaleira. They have three horses so you can ride through Sintra.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlballesteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We recently returned from a two-night stay at Seteais in Sintra and it could not have been a more perfect experience. The hotel is impeccable. To start off with, they checked us in early at 8 am after our overnight flight from New York. Granted, we stayed in January so it was low season. We were given room 19, which is one of only four with a terrace with phenomenal views that stretch to the coast. (The rooms on the other side have wonderful views of Pena Palace, which is especially beautiful lit up at night.) Our room was furnished with gorgeous 18th century antiques, but instead of being fussy, it was still very cozy. Like everything else, the bed and the bed linens were high quality. The towels were thick and even smelled nice and there were bathrobes and slippers. The bathroom was large and modern with a double sink, but decorated in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Of course everything was spotlessly clean.

Outside our room there were numerous common areas to relax in, all perfectly appointed with unusual flower arrangements, wall frescoes, marble-topped tables, antique grandfather clocks, baroque-era pianos, etc. Everything was elegant, but not overly elaborate. The grounds were also amazing - hedge mazes, lemon groves, lots of open green space plus tennis courts and a pool.

On top of all of this, service was fantastic. Everyone from the concierge to housekeeping was kind and helpful. Our only regret is that we missed the buffet breakfast both mornings. But they were so kind as to send us a continental breakfast that we enjoyed on the terrace one morning (weather was so mild!) and the next morning they packed up breakfast boxes for us to take to the airport (and we were not charged extra for either). Very attentive service.

The location is slightly outside the historic center of Sintra, but still a convenient 10 minute walk away (granted it is uphill one way!) and just far enough away that it feels like you are really on vacation. We marveled at how quiet and relaxing everything was, but still very accessible to all the amazing sights of Sintra.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.6 km away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,600 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
294 reviews
4.4 km away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
676 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Address: Rua Barbosa Du Bocage 10, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range: $364 - $1,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing