We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Miradouro(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pestana Sintra Golf(Sintra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sintra Bliss House(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Lisboa Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Nice Way Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
897
245
65
24
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
245
65
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal palacebeautiful hoteltennis courtsold palaceluxury hotelpublic roomsold worldthe atlantic oceanport winepastriesfairy talewonderful staymoorish castlepalaciotivolipianoportugal
Filter
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Palacio and the grounds are impressive and the pool area looked nice from the terrace. Had a bottle of sparkling wine on the terrace which was very peaceful, the bar service was excellent.

Location - Excellent, an easy 10 min walk to the village
Food - Only had the breakfast which was a buffet and average
Service - other than an issue with another device going on to the wifi at no cost, the service was excellent all round.
Room - had room 5 which they sold as biggest balcony (but unusable for anything and is over the service area) but the room itself was pretty small and the bathroom was tiny.

The only real bug bear for me was they provided a Nespresso machine as do many other hotels, the difference is this one charges for the capsuals...

I would probably stay there again if in Sintra.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Circumnavigator222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from this beautiful palace. We had a great stay in Sintra after a lovely time in Lisbon. We had some mixed feelings about this hotel, but I wouldn't have changed my choice.

Our welcome was wonderful - Diago, on reception was very welcoming and helpful and made us feel like honored guests. It had seemed like it might be a palacial hotel but lacking in personal contact, but that was not the case at all. We were shown to our room and asked if we were satisfied with it. It was a beautiful room with lovely views and pretty decor, in keeping with the surroundings. I commented on the size of the bed and asked if it was possible to move to a room with something bigger than a standard double bed. We were told that this was not possible as all rooms had the same sized bed unless they were twin rooms. This was disappointing and led to us not getting much sleep during our stay. The impact of a small bed will depend on what you are used to of course.

It was lovely to have port and pastries to nibble on arrival courtesy of the hotel, but as other reviewers have commented, it is strange to then have to pay 2 euros per nespresso cartridge. I have never come across that in a hotel before - and coupled with a charge for wi-fi unless we joined up for the hotel's loyalty scheme (which we both did in order to use 2 devices), it made the place feel a bit less welcoming.

We stayed in the hotel for dinner on the first night and it was a lovely opportunity to get dressed up and enjoy the wonderful surroundings of the hotel. I was a little nervous of the food after reading so many bad reviews, but it was so nice to have a relaxing evening in that we weren't too worried. The food was average. It was not bad, but not great. The service was good and all for us, as we were the only ones there.

Overall, we enjoyed our experience and felt very lucky to spend time in such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenbarnesOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had our symbolic wedding celebration here. Our families and friends stayed with us for a long weekend. It was a magnificent 3 nights for all of us! We arrived via taxi from Lisbon and check-in was a breeze. (We took multiple taxis and every taxi driver from Lisbon took us to the wrong Tivoli hotel even though we had told them to go to Palacio de Seteais. It ended up costing about 5+ euro more than necessary.)
We felt the service throughout our stay was the highest 5-star standard. The hotel gave us rooms together in the Old Wing. Each room has a slight variation in layout with beautiful historic furniture and painted walls. (We really wished we could have purchased some of the ornate furniture pieces.) All the bathrooms are quite large by European standards. There are big windows that let in very good light. The ceiling is pretty high so all the rooms feel grand. The views were very pleasant to spectacular depending on which side of Sintra you looked out upon. Most of us felt that the beds were comfortable, although the rooms with a queen bed for 2 can be a little bit tight for two adults. (One of the mums did not sleep well in her bedroom #11.) For larger persons, it might be better to get the rooms with 2 double beds side-by-side. (The duvets/comforters are fairly thick so we really didn't use them on warmer nights.) There's air conditioning which kept the rooms cool.
We loved the breakfasts which had a brilliant selection. It's an amazing deal to get room & a wonderful breakfast included in the daily rate.
Our wedding cocktails and dinner were catered from the hotel restaurant. We enjoyed the quality of the food and cooking. We had read previous reviews that tended to be negative about the restaurant but we didn't feel that it was subpar. Granted the prices are not very cheap. But then again, you shouldn't come to Palacio de Seteais to pinch pennies. We thought the food was good traditional cooking and it was delicious.
The public areas inside and outside the hotel are gorgeous. We regret that we couldn't explore every nook and cranny throughout the hotel. There was just so much to soak in. It was still a bit too cold to try the swimming pool.
On our last night, the hotel gave us a complimentary night in the suite which is on the ground floor. It was really too big for us. We were enveloped by its vastness. Though surprisingly the bathroom was small and had only a single sink.
None of us really wanted to leave the hotel when our weekend was up. It felt like a fairy tale for us.

Room Tip: Room #16 has a spectacular view. Room #7 has a very large bathroom with walk-in shower and separate bath tub. No other room in the Old Wing had a bathroom like it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
The Tivoli Palácio de Seteais has full facilities for holding fairy tale weddings. A dedicated team along with XVIII century frescos and furnishings, the gardens and views of the Sintra Mountains are just some of the features to make any event simply unforgettable.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Palacios seem to dot the hillsides all over Sintra so why not stay in one? It also has the best buffet breakfast you will ever eat. The terrace overlooking the quaint pool with views of the hillside is the perfect place to share some Vinho Verde before heading into Sintra for dinner. It's not cheap but for 5 star accommodation in a palace I thought it to be a good deal. With rooms going for under 200 euro a night it allows you to spend a little extra for a lot in return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlJammer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
All your comments about the Hotel Tivoli Palácio de Seteais were already shared with the staff, and some may be considered in the near future, to improve our quality standards.
I hope we have the chance to receive you again during your next stay in Sintra.
Best Regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Tivoli Palace in Sintra is excellant. The rooms are done in period furniture and accents, staff is great and the restaurant serves up very good food with top notch old school service.

The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016


Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews