We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fahitas!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Solar da Ajuda

Solar da Ajuda
Reserve with
Solar da Ajuda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: In Solar da Ajuda you will find the perfect harmony between our delicious food and a luxurious environment. Here everything was thought to please our guests. We are sure that you will feel very comfortable here with us. We pride ourselves to have an experienced and well trained team that will grant you the best of services. Visiting us is to take on the adventure of having new delicious flavours in your month, try our incomparable Steak on Stone or our delicious Mexican Fajitas. If that does not seduce you we have a incredible range of international and Regional Cousine.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fahitas!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I love the Mexican dishes, very well prepaired, with good pricing.
The only fault i would mension has to be the kareoke nights, loud dreadfull singing while you try to enjoy your meal.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    266
    66
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best ever Steak on the Stone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Best ever Steak on the Stone. We had this restaurant recommended by a local and she was absolutely right. The steak was the best ever. Get an extra plate for your steak and cut into pieces and then cook as required. That way your steak is always cooked to your liking. There is a buffet for your vegetables and salads, etc. which was very good.
We went to the one at Estrada Monumental (west of funchal) and could highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing steak on a stone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Brilliant! Don't overlook this restaurant (there are two). It may be 'cafe style' but the food is fresh and wonderful. we ate there almost every day as the food at our hotel was bland. It is also inexpensive and serves very good quality wine and beer. A glass of wine is always very large, and one glass of the excellent red will get you quite tipsy!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniBolloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“There are two of these restaurants...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The other one is at the bottom of Camino do Amparo, at the junction with Estrada Monumental. We were rather disappointed. The Garlic mushrooms were barely warm and floating in something like cold tea. The Steak on the hot stone was very good, However it was the atmosphere which let the restaurant down. The lighting was so bright, it was like eating in an operating theatre and the smoke from the smokers sitting outside the restaurant was blowing inside - really not very nice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crunchy_Fr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly and reasonably priced. They always give you a final drink on the house. The menu is good. I usually ate Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

a final liquer on the house. The menu caters for most tastes. I always ate Italian which was good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alastair Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solar da Ajuda also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Solar da Ajuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing