We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the kind of hotel you want to return to....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Melia Madeira Mare is a quite new hotel on the Funchal scene, located in the Lido area. The location is actually the only thing I see as a little minus, since it is around three km to the city centre of Funchal. But I guess, if you book at Lido you're well aware of that fact...

Great generously spaced rooms, luxury bathrooms, amazing view from the balcony, great breakfast, facilities in general and competent staff.

Perhaps a bit anonymous in it's scaled down style, at least if you like plenty, but in my case this is exactly what I like and want.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiklasJorgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Many thanks for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're always striving to achieve complete guest satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. We're glad that we were able to meet with your expectations and look forward to hosting you again sometime in the very near future !.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
There are newer reviews for Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed 12-16 March as part of our 30th wedding anniv.. They were aware of our anniversary and all the staff went out of their way to make our stay very memorable. The upgraded suite we were given with a balcony overlooking the sea was delightful. The hotel was beautifully appointed, exceptionally clean, modern and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We enjoyed the large outside pool and sun loungers enormously. In the evening and the one cooler afternoon we used the hotels inside pool complex, this was large, comfortable to relax in with a great jacuzzi. The staff were always attentive, friendly and very helpful. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Melia Maderia Mare and would definitely go back. Our thanks to Tina and all the staff for making us very welcome.

Room Tip: Front facing for more sun and veiw. West side for morning sun. East side for evening sun. If you...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSMUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you so very much for your positive feedback on TA - we are happy that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your special anniversary and delighted that we delivered on our Brand experience. Lovely to have met you both personally and hope that when you next visit Madeira Island, you will choose us once again. Warm regards and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we have just returned from a lovely relaxing week at the Melia Madeira. The hotel was everything that we had read here before our visit - every single member of staff was friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble - directions and bus routes, extra towels etc! The breakfast buffet was fantastic and our room, with seaview, extremely clean and comfortable. We would not hesitate in recommending the hotel and give the Madeiran night a go too!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a full sea view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you kindly for your positive feedback. We're delighted you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations. Hope to welcome you back to Melia Madeira Mare in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early Sept 2011. Great deal promoted on travelzoo uk, through hotelsbooked.com. Good price, pick ups all ran smoothly. The room was a side sea view room, all very nicely furnished in a somewhat dull boutique hotel colourways. Nice linen and lovely bathroom. The thing we most liked was the heated pool, and we had excellent pool service with towels and cushions from the guy there called Hugo.

The food was ok, not great but lots of eateries around and about if you felt like a change from the hotel food. We enjoyed the breakfasts and ate all meals outside. The only thing I was not keen on, was that there were quite a few people smoking at the meal tables, fair enough outside, but I would have preferred a non smoking area of tables outside for those of us who prefer to enjoy a smoke free meal.

Room Tip: We had a side sea view room, on the side away from the Enotel which is the adjacent hotel. We asked...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmapeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TA. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and that the staff looked after you. We have taken note of your suggestion and hope you will visit us again in the near future! With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel is superbly situated in the lido area of Funchal.We had half board but from previous experience there is an array of restaurants, bars etc within very easy walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel were very good. Self Service but good quality and variety each day. The bars in the hotel were very quiet but it was in the low season. Live music was available each night of a reasonable quality.
We would recommend Happy Tours if you are thinking of going on a guided walk or tour of the island. Very competitive and friendly. We prefer mini buses rather than coaches and so Lucky Tours were great for us. They are situated in the small shopping mall opposite the hotel.
If you like cool beer, great food and great situation then try the Beer Engine opposite the cruise line terminal. It ticked all our boxes. Weather from Feb 27th to March 4th was fabulous, 65-74 'C. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UK50scouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your positive feedback and comments. We strive for excellence of service and your positive experience is our most important reward.
We hope to welcome you back to our lovely island and to Melia Madeira Mare sometime in the near future.
Kind regards and Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed 4 days in early March, blessed with blue skies and warm spring sunshine despite gloomy forecasts from the BBC and the Weather Channel! A really lovely, modern hotel overlooking the sea in the Lido hotel area. The public areas are bright, very spacious and airy with marble-clad walls and top-quality luxurious furnishings and exquisite sculptures in niches around the walls. We booked a Superior Sea View room, well worth a bit extra as these rooms (and suites) are perched on layered terraces above the main block of rooms, with a really large private terrace (rather than the usual balcony) with sun beds, parasol and table and chairs, directly above the seafront, just super. The room was very big -- if it's booked as a twin there are two king sized beds, but as a double they combine them to make a seven-foot square bed!! Furnishings are of a high standard with a dressing table, writing table plus coffee table and settee, and an entrance hall with wardrobes. The bathroom is ultra-modern with two washbasins, bath/shower with both a hand-held shower and an overhead douche shower, and a large separate room with loo and bidet. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. Hotel features include a nice outside pool with sunny terrace, and a heated indoor pool which is large and very pretty -- see the hotel photos, with jacuzzi. Also a gym, and spa treatments for those with fat wallets! The breakfast buffet was superb, with all the usual hot and cold stuff, you can even avoid the fresh orange juice and make your own buck's fizz as you can help yourself to sparkling wine from open bottles in an ice bucket (and there are also open red and white wine bottles if you're daft enough to start the day like that)! The evening buffet didn't look anything special for a 5 star hotel, so the first night we ate in the Italian à la carte Italian restaurant. It was O.K., but not that exciting for the price, so we ate out the rest of the time. There are a few local restaurants along the newish promenade, and more up on the main road, but you should visit the delightful Old Town (other side of Funchal -- a car or taxi ride) which is awash with restaurants (especially fish) with a very attractive ambiance. The staff were all very friendly, always a nice smile, and extremely helpful with directions, recommendations, etc. We had a rental car from the airport, to be recommended, as there are many sights scattered around the island that can be reached quickly by car. The hotel has a large, secure, free underground car park. Some things are pretty expensive, such as the cable cars to reach the Botanical Gardens, Orchid House and Toboggan ride, and also half or full day island tours by numerous minibus companies: we found that even for two of us, the price of the car rental (by internet in the UK) was less than buying individual tickets/tours/buses/taxis, even with a larger 2-litre automatic, and much more convenient, and we got to some spectacular scenery that would have been impossible otherwise. For four friends or a family the savings would be substantial. Overall view of the hotel: superb. We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the Superior Sea view rooms with large sunny private terrace right above the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Many thanks for your lengthy review and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're always striving to achieve complete guest satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. We're glad that we were able to meet with your expectations and look forward to hosting you again sometime in the very near future !.
Kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in late February. We booked this as a fairly cheap internet package and expected a whole lot less than what we received.

The room was fine and had the late afternoon sun and a side sea view. It was good to have a room safe without paying extra and the shower was great. The room was well cleaned each day.

The food was very impressive and I was stunned to read an earlier review slating it. Buffets can be very iffy but here the choice was great and trays were being replenished all the way through the meals. Rather than just topping up trays, more than once we saw trays being removed which still had a fair amount of food and replaced with fresh trays of the same food. Breakfast even had wine freely available and I saw several people partake of the free sparkling wine. Breakfast had several trays of lovely fresh fruit and we did tend to pig ourselves here before having the egg/mushroom/tomatoes/rosti potatoes or made on request omelette (me) or selection of cheeses (my wife). We then finished with fresh pastries which were too nice. Though it was buffet service, waiters brought fresh coffee or a pot of teas as requested. Didnt need much of a lunch!!

Evening buffet was themed and this avoided repetition. The hors d'oeuvre had a huge choice of salads which were also useful as a substitute for vegetables for main course if you wanted lighter. Salmon and cold meats were delicious. There was a choice of at least 5 or 6 main courses with a couple of different fish dishes each evening and fantastic beef wellington one night and some amazing Brazilian beef another. Again, heaps of fresh fruit salad and the deadly pastries. Food was delicious and varied, fantastic quality considering the price of this hotel.

After rolling out of the restaurant we would go to the bar where there was different entertainment each evening. Some of it was typical background hotel music but the evening when the saxophonist played was fantastic and the local group who played on Friday were really good too and gave those evenings a real atmosphere. Good tip. Evening meal is from 7 until 9 and amble down to the bar just before 7 and order your glass(es) of wine during Happy Hour ( 6 till 7) when it is really cheap then you can take it into the restaurant when you eat.

There is a bus stop very near the hotel which takes you into the centre of Funchal. It is not a terribly long journey and we walked it on a few occasions. Get your head round the local bus tickets early. When you buy a ticket it is 1.90 Euros for one journey but it costs only 1.25 to have that ticket recharged. Being unaware we finished the week with lots of tickets which wasnt the clever way to do it. As mentioned in an earlier review it is worthwhile booking the open top red buses which take you round the south of the island, allowing hop on hop off for 12 Euros for a 2 day ticket. Do this the first couple of days and you get your bearings for the island quickly. A trip up to the Nun's gorge by local bus is a thrill not to miss and the cable car(s) are good.

The reception staff in this hotel are excellent. Katarina was on the desk when we made several queries and she couldnt have been more helpful. You ask about buses and she taps her little computer and prints you a timetable. You ask about weather and again a little print out, all accompanied by a smile. The staff all seemed friendly and helpful but she was excellent.

I was impressed by this hotel and this island. I'd be more than happy to stay here again but we feel that we need a diet on our return after the wonderful food. We were lucky enough to visit during Festival week and it seemed all the locals were in holiday mood all week and Funchal was full of bands, jugglers, magicians, uni-cyclist and clowns. It was a great atmosphere and a really good break. For what we paid this hotel really delivered.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank chichesterdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you kindly for taking the time to comment so in depth about your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience at Meliã Madeira Mare on Tripadvisor.

We’re delighted that we have met with your expectations and it is indeed always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We strive for complete guest satisfaction with a view to creating a memorable experience for our guests and am happy we have delivered on our services and facilities.

Thank you once more for your very kind words which I will share with our entire team including Catarina - who I am certain will undoubtedly be encouraged by your comments.

We thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome you back sometime soon!
With kind regards and Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.6 km away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.3 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,399 reviews
1.1 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $139 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing