We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - always come when in Madeira ”
Review of Casal Da Penha

Casal Da Penha
Reserve with
Casal Da Penha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 721 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$29
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

We have been coming here for many years as a family & the food is always excellent. No children’s menu but they will do 1/2 portions & we usually order a few things & get an extra plate for the small ones. They don’t mind at all. Beef & fish dishes great.
Lovely staff.

Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaikelF, Gestor at Casal Da Penha, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Heather.

Many thanks for your kind review.

It was a pleasure to see you again.
And of course the small ones are always welcome in our Home!

Best Regards.
Maikel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 117 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2018

An old and simple restaurant favoured by locals. The food is excellent. Good choice of wines. Friendly service.

Thank mgk272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaikelF, Gestor at Casal Da Penha, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind review.
It was a pleasure to meet you.
We are committed to keep up our standards high.

Hope to see you again when in Madeira again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

A lovely location with good service. That is essentially it. When it comes to the food, there is a nice variety and fish and meat options are Plentiful. This is great informal venue and the staff could not be nicer. The food is good and bordering on so much better.

Thank manydistantshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaikelF, Gestor at Casal Da Penha, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind review.
It was a pleasure to meet you.
We are committed to keep up our standards high.

Hope to see you again when in Madeira again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

We were in Funchal for a week and this was the stand-out dinner of the week. Service was excellent and the food outstanding, we were pleased that we had selected from Tripadvisor's recommendations and booked in advance.
Greeted by the maitre de, he explained the various dishes and managed the evening. My wife (who does not eat meat) and I both had decided to try dishes with which we were not familiar. For her starter my wife had artichoke hearts served with a sort of hollandaise sauce whilst I had the grilled limpets with chopped garlic. It was outstanding; there must have been 20 or so limpets which were delicious.
For main course my wife had another starter, this time clams. I chose zarzuela for my main course and it was absolutely outstanding with prawns, mussels, clams, limpets and calamari in a delicious soup.
For dessert we shared a Bolo de Madeira cake with a miel de cana sauce. Brilliant (and filling). Washed down with a half bottle of red wine this was an outstanding experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mgsnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaikelF, Gestor at Casal Da Penha, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind review.
It was a pleasure to meet you.
We are committed to keep up our standards high and we are delighted we met your expectations.
Hope to see you again when in Sunny Madeira Island again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic again this year, steak on a stone is thee best I’ve ever had, marvellous mixed fish platter also! Ice cream creme brûlée was delicious.. superb service delightful evening, thank you! Must visit!!

Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casal Da Penha also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Casal Da Penha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing