We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
20
48
31
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
48
31
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange squash excellent location suited our needs yogurt old town star hotel rooms are clean small balcony good size roof terrace reception staff dorita wake madeira luggage supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 110 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Sirius for 5 days as some family stayed here last year and recommended it. As the other reviewers have said, the hotel is simple and fairly basic, but our room featured two good sized single beds (pushed together to make a double) plus ample room for a cot.

Room was all ready when we arrived including the cot which had been made up with sheets and blanket.

Good sized bathroom which featured a bath and shower hose.. excellent temperature and water pressure.

There was also a small TV with a good selection of channels.

Breakfast was basic as others have said... bread rolls with bread and cheese, cornflakes, coffee & orange squash. There were also yoghurts and occasionally a couple of croissants turned up! There is a little cafe adjoining the restaurant and on a couple of days we purchased a nicer coffee and a few extra food items. Food and drink were very cheap in there.. so for a few extra euros you could add a few items to your breakfast.

There is also a small garage attached to the hotel with 3 parking spaces. They sometimes allow a couple of cars to park in the entrance too. You have to leave your keys with reception and if someone needs to get out, they will move the car for you. It has a very tight entrance with a bend in the middle, but we had a large estate car and still managed to get in and out. It's not too bad once you've done it once! Alternatively you have to pay for on street parking nearby which is about €2 every two hours (2 hours maximum at a time)

The hotel is nice and close to the town... about a 10 minute walk down to the old town and there is a supermark 200 yard from the hotel which is convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 325 which was on the end of a corridor. Nice sized room and very quiet. Some family members had rooms on the same floor which were equally nice although not quite as large as ours.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tdlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Sirius hotel was clean and staff very friendly the breakfast was very poor as the choice was very limited to bread rolls processed cheese coffee and orange squash we did both have the three course meal the first night however once was enough very large chicken bones in the soup around 2 inch long so if you have children beware also the main course the salad came covered in insects and the sweet came from the window display which is used to show the menu to passing trade , thanks but no thanks , if eating out in Funchal it is wise to carry a full wallet and we did notice eating at the same restaurant on three separate nights and ordering the same meal always resulted in three different prices you have been warned it got to the stage I showed the manager the my previous nights bill to shame him , or do what we did walk away , the local coral beer is very nice and ranges in price from 2.10 euros a pint to a whopping 6.10 euros be warned .also do not panic and hire a car from the airport the buses are really cheap and once at hotel they can help with the car hire for you watch taxis always haggle I did and it works walk away if not there are huge numbers of taxis , also when arriving in Madeira as you leave the airport on your right you will see the coach pick up point all the hotels will be listed on the shelter just wait in line with everybody pay you 5 euros each the coach driver shouts a number out when he stops and soon as your number is called you get of no stress and no need to join the masses of people being ripped of hiring cars at the airport. The hotel will arrange tours for you this is a must they pick you up from the hotel at 9 am and you return at 5 pm worth every cent of the 29 euros per adult

Room Tip: We stayed in room 430 you awoke to glorious sunshine and the room terrace was wonderful. the hotel did provide me with help as the mattress was a little tired they placed a board under it ,interesting.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The location, the staff, the terrace, the cleanliness are all top marks! Breakfast could be a bit better hence 4 stars! Just a boiled egg would make a huge difference! All in all a great budget accommodation!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aygiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent location. Airport shuttle bus, city centre, market, restaurants and shops are in 5-8mins walking distance. Breakfast buffet is decent,filling for starting the day with. Roof lounge is comfy and accommodating but enterieur may need refreshing. Roof terrace is great and furnished with chairs and sunbeds. Room is clean and with good size of balcony(at least those at the entrance front, with view to the street and hills behind)
I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel and would go back again

Room Tip: Rooms at the street front has balcony
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aryana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Cheap and cheerful and doesn't try to be anything else.
In need of some refurbishment
Balconies in most rooms, no air-con wouldn't want to stay here in summer.
Nice roof terraces, excellent view of fireworks at NYE. Roof lounge OK (WIFI) but furniture past its best.
Bathroom with bath, bidet and shaver socket.
Room compact and old fashioned, TV. Beds OK.
Lift
Breakfast rudimentary. Cereal (cornflakes), coffee, bread, cheese, ham. No hot stuff.
Bathroom towels are approaching threadbare.
Snack bar attached with WIFI.
Lighting (all over) was terrible, what probably were adequate lights have been 'updated' to florescent and the effect is terrible.
Cleaning excellent, cleaners were omnipresent and did a splendid job considering what they had to work with.
Staff helpful
Excellent value for money with central location for Funchal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J0hn_0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews