We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Still fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Cliff Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My mother and I have just returned from a week at Cliff Bay, this is my third visit and everything was still fantastic. I love it here, the staff are so friendly, the hotel rooms are lovely,the food and service is second to none. We had a couple of spa treatments this time and they were brilliant. I will be back, I feel so comfortable here.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are good, you get the sun first thing and its nice to watch the liners coming in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy returning to our hotel and I hope to be able to welcome you back many more times.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,170
    268
    59
    9
    6
See reviews for
290
1,863
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southahpton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

We have just returned, after a week stay so glad chose the cliff bay, room was perfect, staff friendly, first time my husband and I have been away, without our son, I treated myself to spa treatments, and we just spent week relaxing by the pool, hotel takes alot of pride in its appearance flowers in lobby areas were great. Lunch the lagoon restaurant, and staff were very good, and service good. Only slight negative I felt the hotel lacked atmosphere, which is no fault from the hotel, and some guests were rude, hotel bar evening was empty and lifeless, maybe we went at wrong time of year. Maderia is a beautiful place, hole in one bar, opposite cliff bay hotel is a nice place to have a couple of drinks in, great restaurant s imaderian our favourite was the fort in funchal, I promise if you book at the cliff bay, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borissouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The flowers are special in Madeira and during the flower festival Funchal is a delight.
Sorry to hear that you felt some guests being rude but this is not very common. Our guests as well as our staff is normally mentioned as being very pleasant.
Hope to see you soon again in Madeira.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week's stay at the wonderful cliff bay hotel.
We agree with all the top reviews and booked the hotel based on the trip adviser reviews.
We had a harbour view room (621) which has stunning views and gets the morning sun.
Buffet breakfast taken outside is a joy and the upper rooms (superior) have the option of breakfast in the Michelin starred restaurant included in the price.
We loved all the different levels of the hotel grounds and you could (Just about) have your own private bathing platform.
On the lawns at the side of the hotel there is a couple of lovely seated pergola areas that were little used and very sweet with great views of the harbour.
Dinner taken outside in the gardens (Buffet with wine service) was magical.
There is a panoramic area called the navigators lounge which has great views on a windy day.
The staff were great and had a really good attitude to help everyone.
I can't imagine anyone cannot be blown away by this hotel, it is truly stunning.
And the island is amazing too.
I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Push the boat out and get a superior room on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dewickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Great to hear that you found paradise and that you enjoyed the beauty of Madeira. Our hotel has a privileged location with beautiful views and we try to offer friendly service. I am very pleased that we corresponded to your expectations and like yourselves we look very much forward to see you in The Cliff Bay.
With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The three of us (me, my husband and our teenage daughter) travelled to Madeira April 2012. We choosed Cliff Bay because of excellent reviews here on TripAdviso. And it was nearly perfect.

I had booked a Sea View room with our travel agent but after reading room tips here decided to go for harbour view. I e-mailed the hotel asking for room on 4th floor or higher and harbour view and was told it was an upgrade (I had not realized it myself) and they could not guarantee it free of charge. When we arrived late in the evening we did get a Funchal-view room (free upgrade) but on the 2nd floor. The helpful girl at the reception told us this room (224) was kind of family room and had two king-size beds instead of one in rooms on higher floors. The room was very nice, clean and spacious so we stayed there. The view from the balcony was nice enough.
The only complaint about the room was a little too hard bed and "plastic" bedsheet.

Service was very good except one day we had not got three towels but only two. But after a call to the reception it was fixed in few minutes.
Excellent service at the pools, very helpful guys.

We tried all the restaurants.
Breakfast at Rose Garden was very good, nice to begin the day with sparkling wine every day.
Madeira-evening buffet and entertainment at Rose garden - good but not fantastic, OK to try once but not worth the money.
Il Gallo d'Oro - not so exciting enviroment but delicious food. Foie gras - ten points of ten.
Blue Lagoon - OK (too expensive food as it maybe should be at 5* hotel).
Le Cliff - OK drinks and snacks but too slow service, especially outside. We went there for afternoon tea one day and after 25 min no waiter had noticed us sitting at the table (outside) so we got angry (and hungry) and went away. And another day when we were finished we had to wait an eternity for our bill.

Room Tip: Funchal-view rooms have morning sun only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zincis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback at Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Sea View rooms are located on the first to the fifth floor. The room you had allocated is one of our most spacious and requested rooms. I have taken careful note of your suggested service improvements and we will do our very best to further enhance our product.
Hoping to welcome you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leamington spa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Cliff Bay. A room (426) with a view of Funchal and the sea and islands beyond. It was spacious and spotlessly clean. Being Prestige club members we had fresh fruit and mineral water every day. The staff at the Cliff Bay are so helpful and happy to answer any questions, give advice on visiting the island, booking trips and tables in restaurants.The swimming pools are great and the gardens beautifully maintained with scented flowers and interesting trees and plants to enjoy.
We had a Portuguese lesson during the week and picked up a few useful phrases.
The breakfast is excellent as there is everything you could ever want. Coffee or tea offered as soon as you are shown to a table. We loved the lady who cooked your eggs to perfection. Portuguese night in the Rose Garden was entertaining. A glass or two of Madeira wine and dancing and singing from a local folk group dressed in their traditional costumes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginaerquy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback at Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the prestige benefits.
Hoping to see you soon again at The Cliff Bay.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Cliff Bay Hotel was a perfect choice for our honeymoon.

From checking in we realised we had made the right choice, the staff are all very friendly and attentive, and the interior design and style of the hotel is nothing short of awe inspiring.

The room we had was almost the one the brochure shots were taken from in terms of sea and garden view. The room was well equipped, clean and well maintained.

Breakfast in the Rose Garden restaurant was great, a wide selection of everything imaginable for breakfast - and then some more besides, a perfect way to begin each day.

There is live music in the bar each night, two restaurants - one with a Michelin Star, great staff, clean (very!!!), and just perfect.

Thank you to all at the Cliff Bay for our time there.

Room Tip: Sea view was great, but if you spend much of your time out and about it's not necessary. It may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
First of all congratulations and all the best for the future. I am pleased that we managed to make your honeymoon a memorable one. Madeira is a beautiful spot for a special occasion.
Hoping to see you celebrate many wedding anniversaries at The Cliff Bay.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our family of three spent 6 nights during february at the Cliff Bay. It was very pleasent, as expected for the price and the reviews. We enjoyed especially,the following:
- beautiful view from the room (even at low floor)
- spacious, comfortable, quiet room
- wonderful breakfast buffet, with lovely outside area
- good location, walkable to downtown (20 min) although home is up, and we ended taking buses and taxis more
- helpful personnel, for example to book a nice lavada walk

The hotel is very comfortable, and also welcoming of families with children, although design, decor and everything else caters a bit more to mature/elderly couples.

The pool area was fine although some rules were policied a bit too eagerly for our taste (our 10 year old boy not allowed with us in jacuzzi; we ewre not allowed to use door to swin between insde and outside to preserve heatng, etc - hey where did all the fun go?), There are reasons for this of course, and our boy was still happy and wants to return, and we with him.

My wife and I dined one evening at the Michelin 1 Star Gallo d'Oro restaurant. I would say it was an average experience, very good, food, wine and service, of course, but not as brilliant as several 1 stars I've been to; the atmosphere and style being quite old fashioned; one thinks the star could be more for the imitation of some Franch old school style than for superior cooking. We certainly enjoyed our evening but would actuelly recommend more the nearby Casa da Quinta for food and atmosphere.

All in all a lovely vacation in Madeira and a nice stay at Cliff Bay, no regrets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MobileDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Holidays are supposed to be fun and despite that we need close parental supervision to avoid accidents and comfort for fellow travelers we should be able to find a solution for you to enjoy your Jacuzzi. Food and music have many different preferences.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back to Madeira in a near future.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.1 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.8 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
1.8 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.7 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing