We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly Persuasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Persuasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel gave out such good vibes right from the start, friendly staff, everywhere clean and tidy and because of a visit during run up to Christmas lovely decorations inside and out.
The food was very good with lots of choice at what ever time of day. All rooms have sea views and mine had plenty of space. If energetic you could walk into Funchal, but there was a free
shuttle bus provided during the day. Also walks to other nearby places. Entertain most nights.
Funchal itself was a good place to shop sightsee or eat/drink. The local buses were plenty and not too expensive and gave one some heart stopping rides up and down this very hilly island.
Try out the Pestana I'm sure you will agree with me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    557
    192
    59
    17
See reviews for
250
798
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Friendly staff,good choice of food, and good entertainment,regular bus service to go Funchal,but only till late afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieFairhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Queing at the airport at 5am in the morning for an hour for old fashioned check in did not set this SAGA holiday off to a good start but Madeira proved to be a beautiful clean Island with flora in abundance. The hotel itself is a good way out from Funchal but daily courtesy buses (other than on Christmas Day and Boxing Day) made access to the town pretty easy. We had read the various mixed Tripadvisor reports before we went and echo others views that the hotel was clean, the rooms comfortable with good views and the staff friendly and helpful. For us though the huge disappointment was the quality of the food at lunch and dinner and particularly the hot main course buffet. Bland, colourless,unimaginative and tasteless would be my description of the fayre on offer. Chips, ice cream and cheese and biscuits were available on request.Luckily the Yacht Bar was a couple of hundred yards away and on a number of occasions we preferred to pay to eat out rather than face the unappetising spread in the hotel.

We elected to hire a car, which was organised efficiently by the front desk through AVIS and it was our salvation. Steep hills and curvy roads set quite a challenge but gave us the opportunity to spread our wings and enjoy the islands heritage.

The promenade in both directions from the hotel had gone and with 3 replacement knees between the two of us we found the large pebbles very difficult to walk on.

In sum we wanted to see Madeira and we have ticked the box.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and the noise of the waves moving pebbles up and down the beach is constant b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeP388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel was great,Spotless hotel staff were 1st Class, Esp Manuel the barman and the young girl with dark hair and glasses on the Reception. We asked the hotel for a top floor room and we got one room 711. There are only seven floors. I read the reviews and i was a bit unsure but when we arrived at the Hotel it was great nice pool bar you even had Martini and three diff Liquers in the all inclusive. Most people are over 50, and Saga use this hotel my wife and i are in our 60s, we met some nice people the curtacy bus is a +. Breakfast great, inc baked beans sausage bacon. The rest of the food is not bad, there something for everyone. If you walk through the tunnel on the beach its a nice prom walk. And if you walk along the prom to the right of the hotel is a 1 hour walk to a fishing village where Winston Churchill used to paint, and there is a plaque on the wall out side the Winston Churchill restuarant. I would go back to this hotel again. PLEASE EXCUSE THE SPELLING
,

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rongwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We arrived 12 September 2011, the noise of the surf was loud but there was no warning at hotel registration, no flags on the beach, no life guards. on the 13th I had a lovely swim in the lovely warm sea-not at all rough. Trying to get out, I was swept back down again over pebbles large and small and churned down under gallons of salt water. I was lucky to escape with a cracked rib and bruising so severe that after x-rays and scans I still have some swelling even on the 3 November. A young man to whom I will always be grateful called to me from the water's edge the local technique-count the waves in sevens and when you know the next largest wave is to come in swim like the devil and just as the wave hits the top of the beach, plunk your feet down and walk out. However it is probably safer to do what a lot of the locals do and pay the small amount for the local lido and go into the sea from their steps.

Room Tip: Insist on what you have been promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sthelens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Pestan Bay is a bit 'out of the way' but on the sea front with a pebbly beach.We booked four days before and had problems all the way. We should have had meals on the 'plane which we didn't get, weren't booked on the transfer coach ( but were allowed on) and weren't booked into the hotel. However, this was resolved (after waiting while everyone else was checked in) by very helpful reception staff. All this was the result of the holiday company we booked with. It is a lovely stroll - about an hour - along the sea front into Funchal or to a lovely fishing village in the other direction. There is also a courtesy bus into Funchal. Staff were lovely - the head waiter always seemed to look after us and as soon as he saw us he would find us a table outside. I think this was because he seemed to be the only person around when I asked for ice cream at every meal! The food was of a good-enough standard for all-inclusive. The Pestana Bay hotel is very relaxing and 'laid-back' and very friendly. We visited a couple of the other Pestana hotels, which seemed far superior to Pestana Bay in appearance but guests didn't seem to mix with each other. The only complaint we had was that the pool area wasn't cleaned all week! The pool was clean, but where we sat, the same bits of rubbish where there all week. Generaly speaking, a very good hotel that could be improved in some areas. We wouldn't be aginst staying there again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SthelensLasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

So dissappopinting. We had to pay wifi - breakfast stale - under cooked second/third grade bacon. Understaffed. Noisy room over looking gardens and casino. Staff not interested in complaints - we won't be back. Standard of hygiene not great.

Room Tip: don't go there - you won't get the room you request - we did'nt and were refused!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.0 km away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#24 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
1.2 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
3.3 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 4 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
2.9 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
22.4 km away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 8 in Calheta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Property: Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel Madeira/Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing