We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A most enjoyable experience”
other travellers have booked this property
By the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
By the pool
Relax by the pool Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
By the pool
Relax by the pool
Swimming pool
Ajuda Sunset
Lounge
Swimming pool
swimming pool shallow end
Dining area
View of lounge from balcony
View from balcony
Bedroom
Kitchen
Sunny balcony
Glass of wine?
Study area
Bathroom
Madeira Forum shopping centre at Christmas
Ajuda sunset
local sand beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
MRS CATH...
2 reviews
“A most enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just had a very enjoyable week in Maderia. The apartment was lovely; well equipped (the kitchen was colourful and had everything you could need) The lounge/diner was spacious and bedroom was comfortable with plenty of wardrobe space. A lovely well equipped balcony was the icing on the cake. iT was within easy reach of the bus and very good restaurants but yet quiet allowing a relaxaing experience. We would definetly recommend this apartment.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thanks very much for your kind review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at our apartment and on Madeira! Thanks, Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee T
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great alternative to booking hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have always stayed in hotels when holidaying in the past but decided to give apartment renal a go this time round.

I have to say we were delighted with the apartment and will be doing more of this in the future. The location is a five minute bus/taxi ride to the centre of funchal but there are still plenty of nice restaraunts if you don't want to walk far. Also close by is a large shopping mall with a very cheap super market if you fancy getting food to eat in one night.

The pool is lovely and quiet throughout the day which was what we wanted.

Rob, the owner was great in the run up to our stay, being contactable by email to answer any questions and make recommendations.

Thouroughly enjoyed. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thanks very much for the review and we're glad you had a good time in Madeira and at our apartment. Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philnterr...
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation in a quiet location with easy access to Funchal”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

With a marked increase in overseas travel over the past 18 months we decided to only submit reviews on accommodation/restaurants/attractions that were either exceptionally good, exceptionally bad or offered excellent value for money. On our recent trip to Spain & Portugal we stayed in two holiday rental apartments that truly were outstanding, one of these was the Monumental Green Park apartment in Funchal which provided excellent accommodation at less than AUD120 per night.

From our initial email contact with the owner, Robert, in October last year and subsequent emails to his agents (Cecilia, Tina & Joana at AYS-Madeira) the whole booking, payment & confirmation process was very straight forward. All our emails were answered promptly and AYS-Madeira also arranged our airport transfers to and from the apartment.

The apartment itself is exactly as described on TripAdvisor and as shown in the photographs. Located on the 5th floor (with lifts) of a modern secure apartment complex on the coast just west of the main part of Funchal the apartment was clean & quiet and had everything we required for our 8 day stay. The apartment consists of a large open plan living/dining area, a separate fully equipped kitchen, a large separate bedroom with plenty of cupboard room (& a safe), and a good sized bathroom with bath/shower, toilet & bidet. There is also a utility room off the kitchen with a washing machine, clothes drying rack etc. The apartment has a large veranda overlooking the pool and gardens accessible via sliding glass doors from the living area and bedroom – a great spot for a glass of wine or two in the evening. There is cable TV and good secure wifi available, as well as a secure underground parking space should you choose to rent a car. The apartment does get a fair bit of sun during the middle of the day and while the apartment is not air-conditioned (not really needed) there are pedestal fans in the living area and a ceiling fan in the bedroom to cool the place down when you return from a hard day exploring the island. The complex also has a swimming pool with crystal clear water, plenty of deck chairs and umbrellas, a children’s play area, a shower and nearby toilets (despite the hot weather when we were there the pool certainly was not crowded & we had no trouble getting a chair).

With regards to location - there are a number of small cafes, bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes’ walk and the Madeira Forum shopping centre (heaps of shops + large supermarket) is only 5 minutes away. In addition to local bus stops at the corner of the apartment complex, there are a number of bus stops (including the hop on/hop off bus) and a taxi rank at the front of the Madeira Forum. There are regular inexpensive bus services to the centre of Funchal and a taxi back from town is less than 10€ if you have a late night out. A short walk further down past the Forum onto Rua da Ponta da Cruz takes you to a walkway that runs along the coast, past some ocean swimming facilities and a number of good bars & restaurants, particularly at the eastern end of the promenade.

We would recommend this apartment to other travellers, particularly couples (or couples with 1 or 2 small children) looking for a comfortable, quiet location with easy access to Funchal. We intend to visit Madeira again in 2 or 3 years’ time and would definitely stay at this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean comfortable apartment and excellent value for money
Liked least: We could only stay 8 days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UkNorther...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable apartment in good location”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We enjoyed a wonderful stay on our first trip to Madeira, largely thanks to the very helpful advice provided by the owner Robert, particularly in regard to local restaurants and tours etc

Although this apartment is located approx 2 miies from centre of Funchal the local bus link is very good and a car is not necessary, especially if only going for one week. The apartment itself was very clean and comfortable, living up to the comments made by previous reviewers. It contains all the facilities you could possibly want and felt like home away from home.

There's a really good supermarket, situated in a modern complex of shops (Madeira Forum) only 5 minutes walk away plus a wide range of restaurants in the same area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable quiet location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob186525
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Although this apartment may be a bit to far away from funchal, it was fine by us. The apartment was very clean and comfortable, with a very large balcony which looks onto a lovely park. You can walk to funchal in about 30mins, which we did. Although there are buses a plenty to choose from. We also walked the choice of roads along the same area, to get to the choice of bars and restaurants. We used virtu's bar in the main street for a nice seating area and a pint. We also found a bar called the local bar? which is along the road and uphill from the spar supermarket. Robert has a nice place here and we would go back there again if and when we returned. Another thing, what a nice surprise to have our bed and towels changed halfway through our 10days

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a nice place to chill out
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwichik
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Apartment with lovely setting”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment was lovely and clean with everything you needed for a week long holiday. Shops, supermarket and restaurants were all within walking distance. The pool and area were lovely and clean. And the sun shines on the balcony all morning. A lovely relaxing place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexN900
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Lovely apartment and absolutely no complaints”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very modern and comfortable apartment. The apartment is set slightly outside the main area of Funchal where you get the best of both worlds.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$67
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing