We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Autumn in Madeira” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Velha do Palheiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Autumn in Madeira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We had never been to Madeira and so had no idea what to expect save a recommendation for this hotel. It is near perfect, on its hill above Funchal, with a lovely garden beside it. And they say (I don't play) the golf is excellent.
The main building is a charming 200 year old holiday lodge with two added bedroom blocks. We had a superior garden room; masses of space and a huge comfortable bed.. The staff are kind, courteous and efficient, and I say this as someone who is partialy disabled. They were expecting my wheelchair and had built two ramps to cover a few steps, and the hedge by the steps had been pulled back to make access easiuer. That's the standard of service. And the food justified its Michelin star. Our travel agents here were Classic Collections, who dealt with our unusual requirements as if they were normal. In Madeira Blandy Travel coped with our needs and problems very well indeed. And introduced us to an excellent taxi driver called Teresa. If you want a really quiet holiday in beautiful surroundings on a fascinating island this is where to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    75
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
267
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband booked a suite in the hotel for a surprise birthday treat. We stayed for 7 days in August and had the most wonderful time. We swam every day, and the swimming pool was surprisingly under-used so was never crowded, and we also used the spa and massage facilities. The grounds are splendid, as is the golf course - neither of us play golf but we walked through the pathways to the club house for dinner on a couple of occasions. The food in both the hotel and the golf club was spectacular and we will certainly return. We ate outside in the hotel gardens on a couple of evenings, and on the patio overlooking Funchal in the golf club. We had a hire car for the week, but only went out on two days as it was lovely just walking around the gardens and grounds and relaxing by the pool.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the first floor with two small balconies overlooking the lawn at the back, with wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolkadotSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moers
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is our 4th visit, and once again the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and the service 1st class. The Spa and pool area are great, the dining fabulous and the golf being at your front door is a great challenge but fun. We'll definatley be returning, as Madeira is one of our favoutite places, as is Casa Velha. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

If 'bling' is your thing and you are looking for glitz and entertainment this hotel is not for you. However, if you recognise that understated elegance is the mark of real sophistication, head for this lovely hotel in the hills above Funchal. We stayed for 7 nights and used it as a base for exploring the island by hire car. The hotel is set in a beautiful estate and has a real country house feel. The only sound you'll hear on the terrace, whilst sipping your pre-dinner drink, is bird song. The charming staff are attentive without being overbearing. We had a 'superior' room, which was entirely adequate. The food in the restaurant is excellent with a 'specials' menu that changes daily. The pool area is large and secluded and we never felt crowded. It is a short walk through the scenic golf course to the clubhouse, which has stunning views from the terrace over Funchal and where a good lunch is served. The gardens adjacent to the hotel are lovely and it is possible to do a 'levada' walk from the village above the hotel. The hotel runs a complimentary shuttle bus to Funchal during the day. We ate in town on 3 evenings, and taxis cost about 15 euros each way, however the quality of the food in the hotel restaurant was hard to beat. The boat trip organised by the hotel was great fun and incorporated a lunch stop at a taverna-type restaurant that is inaccessible by road. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting relaxation, in peaceful surroundings, but with the option of Funchal close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the (newer) garden annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grogsblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have just returned from a 1 week stay at the Casa Velha do Palheiro. It is situated on a hill to the NE of Funchal overlooking the city. It is set within the magnificent Palheiro (Blandy) Gardens and alongside the stunning golf course. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the meals were magnificent. It helped that the weather was superb throughout our stay.
The only downside was the horrendous 7 hour delay BOTH WAYS on our Jet2 flights to and from Manchester. First and last time we will be using them.
We shall surely be using this hotel again but with a different airline.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wirralrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Wow, we were blown away the minute we arrived.

Amr and all the staff were wonderful hosts, the Villas are all so beautiful. I wish we spent more that 5 days. It was our honeymoon and Palheiro Village made it unforgettable. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Our third holiday at this wonderful hotel and everything about it was superb from start to finish. It is a real treat to stay in such a beautiful location and to be looked after so well.....we particularly like the dining experience here and booked on a half board basis. All of the food was so delicious and each meal was beautifully served by a very welcoming team.
We did not take our golf clubs with us this time but still found plenty to keep ourselves occupied....trips to Funchal on the courtesy minibus, lovely walks round the beautiful gardens and sessions in the spa. The golf club house has stunning views over Funchal and is a great place for lunch...... the course itself looked to be in very good condition.
By the end of our week we felt so wonderfully content and relaxed.........we will definitly return!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunseekerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
5.9 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
4.8 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
5.9 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
6.6 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
7.7 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Property: Casa Velha do Palheiro
Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing