We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Nearby Hotels
US$142
US$133
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
US$139
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$157
US$145
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
US$261
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$392/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$242
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$143
US$110
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
US$133
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
US$179
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
391
97
30
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
97
30
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalheiro gardensthe main housecountry house hotelgolf wingdaily menuabove sea leveloutdoor poolexcellent spaset highminute drivecharming hoteloverlooking funchalperfect stayluxury hotelexcellent weekroom upgradepeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 529 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I got myself a golfing package - the golf course is all around the hotel. The setting is beautiful, all green, well kept gardens. The house breathes history and old style, meals are great and casual smart dress in the evenings. The personnel is kind and tries to meet all your needs.

Room Tip: I am most susceptible to cold rooms, so I asked to change room because it was too cold for my taste, but they were very helpful and gave me a warmer room at no extra charge.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Director at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future. We will make sure your room is super warm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Anyone who doesn't think this hotel is anything but excellent should not go on holiday as they are going to be disappointed wherever they go.
From the moment we were greeted at the airport to the moment we left, everything was just wonderful. The hotel staff were very professional yet warm and friendly. The restaurant was wonderful as you would expect from a Relais and Chateaux hotel. We had a complementary meal on the first night, and having visited Madiera several times in the past decided that their was no point in eating anywhere else when probably the best restaurant on the island was on our doorstep. The menu changed every night, and their were complimentary pre starter and pre dessert courses. The presentation of the food was stunning, and the food was delicious and generous. The Maitre de, Luis and his staff we attentive informative and great fun. The dress code seems to have been relaxed since earlier reviews, and I think the reviewer with the 'stylish white canvass shoes' might have got away with it now.
The golf course is fabulous, with five different tees on every hole to suit all standards of golfer, some very challenging holes, which become more playable once you know your way around. Billy Casper, the twice US Open and US Masters champion was playing the course on one of the days we were playing.The hotel will take you to the clubhouse if you wish, but it is a pleasant stroll from the hotel and you can store your clubs in the clubhouse where they are cleaned for you after every round. The hotel will clean your shoes whenever you wish. The starters and the clubhouse staff recognised us after the first day, and had our clubs and buggy waiting for us when we arrived.
The catering at the clubhouse is managed by the hotel, and shares the hotel waiting staff, and the food is of a very high standard and reasonably priced.
Between playing golf, eating lunch at the clubhouse, relaxing in the spa and dining at Casa Velha in the evening, we had no need to leave the grounds of the estate.
A fabulous holiday we will definately be back.
I have just read through the review and think it looks a bit like an advert for the hotel, if anybody reading the review want's to contact me I would be more than happy to confirm the validity of the review.
John Porter

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Quality in a relaxed homely atmosphere. Excellent and friendly personnel. Quiet, close to golf course, fine dining, and outstanding wellness and spa ficilities.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansBrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2011

An excellent hotel if you like a relaxing and comfortable stay. Staff is not imposing at all, but are very helpful if required; good eye for detail and small additional items like fresh fruit every day and tasty espressos in your room definitely add to the feeling of comfort.
The restaurant is excellent, although if you like meat the focus on fish is a bit too strong and if senior staff is not around it seems to us that the level of service if dropping slightly( still very good though).
The very nice gardens and extensive compound are very inviting to some strolls.
The complimentary bus to Funchal is a nice add-on and defintely advisable.
The drawback for me is that the hotel (but this probably applies to most hotels) is not very smoker friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cdw064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanfletch, Director at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thanks for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Regarding the smoking - we are at the mercy of the law regarding smoking areas but are pleased to say we have a smoking area in one of the public areas.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had never been to Madeira and so had no idea what to expect save a recommendation for this hotel. It is near perfect, on its hill above Funchal, with a lovely garden beside it. And they say (I don't play) the golf is excellent.
The main building is a charming 200 year old holiday lodge with two added bedroom blocks. We had a superior garden room; masses of space and a huge comfortable bed.. The staff are kind, courteous and efficient, and I say this as someone who is partialy disabled. They were expecting my wheelchair and had built two ramps to cover a few steps, and the hedge by the steps had been pulled back to make access easiuer. That's the standard of service. And the food justified its Michelin star. Our travel agents here were Classic Collections, who dealt with our unusual requirements as if they were normal. In Madeira Blandy Travel coped with our needs and problems very well indeed. And introduced us to an excellent taxi driver called Teresa. If you want a really quiet holiday in beautiful surroundings on a fascinating island this is where to go.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews