We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for exploring funchal”
Review of Alto Lido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alto Lido Hotel
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good for exploring funchal”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My wife and I recently spent two week here at this hotel it was clean and well maintained.
As with a lot of other reviews the hotel was let down by it's Restaurant.The food was mediocre
and the staff attitude was abysmal. (no conversation, no communication except to sign the bill)
plenty of other good eating establishments close by (we would recommend PVP and the indian)
Perhaps the management should tell them that this is a people business and the customer comes as a priority.
The rest of the staff were very helpful.
Good for exploring the town. bus service excellent. plenty of information available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank salopoero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    267
    146
    29
    13
See reviews for
152
267
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Just returned from this Hotel, whilst being very quiet service was excellent. First visit to Madeira, what a wonderful Island. The capital city Funchal is so cosmopolitan, plenty to do even for 2 weeks that my wife and I were there.
The Hotel is within walking distance of Funchal but plenty of Hills. There is a free bus shuttle several times a day. I hired a car but would not do so again, the driving is a real experience, hectic, fast and challenging.
I did not use the restaurant as there are lots of restaurants within a few minutes walk. The Bar is huge and due to lack of guests a little quiet. There is entertainment by 2 musicians/singer. Again lack of atmosphere due to quietness.
The accomodation is excellent, had a suite with 2 bedrooms as my brother and his wife joined us for 1 week. Each room had a TV, both bedrooms with ensuite. Maid service was every day, and very thorough. A small kitchenette with Microwave and 2 hob rings, full Fridge, plus pots,pans and cutlery.
There is an Indoor and Outdoor Pool, but a very poor Gym.
We would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter. Rooms at the front a little noisy from the busy road but excellent vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank t_walling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Let's start for the best stuff in this hotel: attentious and competent personnel, as long as clean, organised, quality and functional rooms.
Unfortunately that's all because breakfast was too expensive, the lobby bar was awful and the bar band even worse. And we coudn't forget the labyrinthic structure of the hotel with different elevators and lots of intricated corridors... There's also a parking garage with narrow parking lots, but as long as the hotel isn't full, it's sufficient.
The hotel bus that takes you to Funchal is good and always on time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterTML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel was really clean and well maintained. We had B&B and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. We used the hotel courtesy bus for trips into Funchal and this was useful, although the yellow taxi's were very cheap and efficient.
I would recommend a visit to the Botanical Gardens after taking the Cable Car right to the top. We then had the thrill of the Basket Sledges which was well worth the money.(15 euros each) It is true that the taxi drivers hassle you for a fare back into town- we were happy top walk- and this took about 20minutes.
We also booked a Western Island trip for the whole day which is to be recommended if you don't hire a car. There are numerous good value restuarants.

Room Tip: The studio apartments are very good value and well stocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yateley
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had a fantastic apartment. Clean well kept . Indoor and outdoor pool. Excellent breakfast,
Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Good value for money. Will be booking for next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in main part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank znetyniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My friend and I were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel We stayed in a room with a kitchenette which was great.
The rooms are large and nicely decorated. Location is great, with regular buses into the city centre (around 10minutes) or 30minutes pleasant walk.
There is also Champagne at breakfast!! though lots of people didn't see it! :-)
I scoffed at the AnaPinho's review about the fruits before I went but i agree with her!! Madeira is a paradise of different exciting fruits (which we got from the markets) so to be served boring and tinned fruits was very disappointing!
The staff seemed overwhelmed sometimes at breakfast because tables remained uncleared but I wouldn't hold that against them.
All in all a very pleasant stay and i would go back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pearlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel has pretty much all you need; room was very spacey with kitchenette which proved really handy, sofa, flat screen TV with some English speaking channels. The balcony looked over the pool area and out to sea - lovely! It was immaculately clean. There are two pools which did not seem to get over crowded - the outdoor one wasn't massive but does it need to be? The staff were all friendly and helpful.
We did not eat in the hotel - no need the street is PACKED with every restaurant style you could wish for. The best for us were the Indian just up the side of the supermarket right by the hotel - delicious food and very attentive friendly staff and Chez Vincent a little further down the main street - get the scewers!!! You will see why!
Do not miss the chance to go down the steps to the level below which is a walkway along the seafront - very nice to stroll down here and packed with even more restaurants.
The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the centre which was great. When you get there you must go on the cable cars - if you can stand heights - I can't but braved it out! The restaurant at the bottom is very pleasant. In one of the squares in the centre was a really lovely specialist tea shop which sold snacks at a reasonable price.
My one tip is take really comfy shoes with you - the walkways seemed to all be made of sharp stones which tortured your feet if, like me, you wore flat thin soled shoes. This resort is great for couples but I would not really recommend it for kids or those who want a hectic nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 km away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#44 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.4 km away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.7 km away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#43 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
6.1 km away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.6 km away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Lido Hotel

Property: Alto Lido Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Lido Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alto Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Lido Funchal
Alto Lido Hotel Madeira/Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing