We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like Alto Lido a lot. Some things could be better”
Review of Alto Lido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alto Lido Hotel
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Alto Lido is a nice, clean. large and comfortable hotel in a very nice area just 15-20 minutes walk from Funchal centre. You can also take the courtesy bus from the hotel or a taxi for aprox 5 Euro. I got a verny nice suite in the 13th floor with an incredible view over the sea and hotels under us. The room was really nice and cosy and with the separate bedrom with own doorr to the balcony this was very nice. But it is 4 star, not 5. There are little things that lack. Example. The butter and, tomato, ham and cheese for breakfast is in avery cold tray. So the butter is impossible to spread on the toast or bread. I issued this problem to on of the breacfast staff and suggested them to take som butter packs in a bowl and place it next to the bread. Expected that to happen, but it was obviously in one ear and out the next. Also I thought it was strange that you have to pay 5 Euro to use the computers in reception for !72 hour. Also strang that you have to pay 6 Euro pr.person to use the jacuzzi. Little details like this is not a big deal... but what separates the best from the second best.

I did not eat at the restaurant as I heard it was not so great. But why bother with eating there? Just outside the hotel doors there are many nive restaurants.

The staff was very helpfull and polite. The reception crew wonderfull so all in all a very nice stay :-)

Room Tip: 12th and 13th floor has incredible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravellerfromtheNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

My wife and I recently spent two week here at this hotel it was clean and well maintained.
As with a lot of other reviews the hotel was let down by it's Restaurant.The food was mediocre
and the staff attitude was abysmal. (no conversation, no communication except to sign the bill)
plenty of other good eating establishments close by (we would recommend PVP and the indian)
Perhaps the management should tell them that this is a people business and the customer comes as a priority.
The rest of the staff were very helpful.
Good for exploring the town. bus service excellent. plenty of information available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank salopoero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Just returned from this Hotel, whilst being very quiet service was excellent. First visit to Madeira, what a wonderful Island. The capital city Funchal is so cosmopolitan, plenty to do even for 2 weeks that my wife and I were there.
The Hotel is within walking distance of Funchal but plenty of Hills. There is a free bus shuttle several times a day. I hired a car but would not do so again, the driving is a real experience, hectic, fast and challenging.
I did not use the restaurant as there are lots of restaurants within a few minutes walk. The Bar is huge and due to lack of guests a little quiet. There is entertainment by 2 musicians/singer. Again lack of atmosphere due to quietness.
The accomodation is excellent, had a suite with 2 bedrooms as my brother and his wife joined us for 1 week. Each room had a TV, both bedrooms with ensuite. Maid service was every day, and very thorough. A small kitchenette with Microwave and 2 hob rings, full Fridge, plus pots,pans and cutlery.
There is an Indoor and Outdoor Pool, but a very poor Gym.
We would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter. Rooms at the front a little noisy from the busy road but excellent vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank t_walling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Let's start for the best stuff in this hotel: attentious and competent personnel, as long as clean, organised, quality and functional rooms.
Unfortunately that's all because breakfast was too expensive, the lobby bar was awful and the bar band even worse. And we coudn't forget the labyrinthic structure of the hotel with different elevators and lots of intricated corridors... There's also a parking garage with narrow parking lots, but as long as the hotel isn't full, it's sufficient.
The hotel bus that takes you to Funchal is good and always on time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterTML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel was really clean and well maintained. We had B&B and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. We used the hotel courtesy bus for trips into Funchal and this was useful, although the yellow taxi's were very cheap and efficient.
I would recommend a visit to the Botanical Gardens after taking the Cable Car right to the top. We then had the thrill of the Basket Sledges which was well worth the money.(15 euros each) It is true that the taxi drivers hassle you for a fare back into town- we were happy top walk- and this took about 20minutes.
We also booked a Western Island trip for the whole day which is to be recommended if you don't hire a car. There are numerous good value restuarants.

Room Tip: The studio apartments are very good value and well stocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had a fantastic apartment. Clean well kept . Indoor and outdoor pool. Excellent breakfast,
Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Good value for money. Will be booking for next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in main part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank znetyniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My friend and I were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel We stayed in a room with a kitchenette which was great.
The rooms are large and nicely decorated. Location is great, with regular buses into the city centre (around 10minutes) or 30minutes pleasant walk.
There is also Champagne at breakfast!! though lots of people didn't see it! :-)
I scoffed at the AnaPinho's review about the fruits before I went but i agree with her!! Madeira is a paradise of different exciting fruits (which we got from the markets) so to be served boring and tinned fruits was very disappointing!
The staff seemed overwhelmed sometimes at breakfast because tables remained uncleared but I wouldn't hold that against them.
All in all a very pleasant stay and i would go back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pearlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 km away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
270 reviews
0.2 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Girassol
Hotel Girassol
#41 of 88 in Funchal
580 reviews
0.7 km away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#26 of 88 in Funchal
587 reviews
1.0 km away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 88 in Funchal
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Lido Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $94 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Lido Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alto Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Lido Funchal
Alto Lido Hotel Madeira/Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing